D80 At HN Funan

The extended warranty deal between Nikon and HN is the & my main draw. ;p

pardon my ignorance, what is HN stands for and for the extended warranty, how much is the cost of it? :sweatsm:

Sometimes HN (Yes, HN = Harvey Norman :bsmilie: ) bundles the extemded warranty during promotional periods.

Just checked again, need to pay additional 200+ for additional 4 years warranty... Guys, the extended warranty is issued by AIG, any idea if we can buy the entended warranty direct fm AIG if we purchase the cam elsewhere or is AIG having this exclusively to HN?

I'll be getting the D80 after CNY so looking around for best deal...

Just checked again, need to pay additional 200+ for additional 4 years warranty... Guys, the extended warranty is issued by AIG, any idea if we can buy the entended warranty direct fm AIG if we purchase the cam elsewhere or is AIG having this exclusively to HN?

I'll be getting the D80 after CNY so looking around for best deal...

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I highly think the deal is exclusive to HN.

As for the best deal for a D80, let your fingers do the walking and you may just save yourself some $$ after doing some homework! ;) :

AP - Alan Photo, #01-38 Sim Lim Square, Tel: 6336 0922, e-mail: alanfoto@singnet.com.sg
AP-F - Alan Photo, #05-20 Funan Digitalife Mall, Tel: 6883 0922, e-mail: alanfoto@singnet.com.sg
CP - Cathay Photo, #01-11/14 Peninsula Plaza, Tel: 6337 4274, e-mail: email@cathayphoto.com.sg
CP-M - Cathay Photo, #02-215/216 Marina Square, 6 Raffles Boulevard, Tel: 6339 6188, e-mail: email@cathayphoto.com.sg
John - John 3:16, #05-46 Funan Digitalife Mall, Tel: 6337 2877 / 6337 1897, e-mail: richardgan@pacific.net.sg
Lord's - Lord's Camera, 304 Orchard Road #01-79 Lucky Plaza, Tel: 6235 4605, e-mail: lordscom@singnet.com.sg
MS - MS Colour, Block 711 Ang Mo Kio Avenue 8, #01-3501C, Tel: 6457 6380, e-mail: sales@mscolor.com.sg, web e-quote
TCW - The Camera Workshop, 3 Coleman Street, #01-31, Tel: 6336 1956 / 6336 7808, e-mail: tcwkshop@singnet.com.sg
TK - T K Foto Technic, 100 Beach Rd, #02-45 Shaw Towers, Tel: 6292 4533, e-mail: sales@tkfoto.com.sg

Taken from Nikon Price Guide (Singapore) 2005~2006

Yeah thanks, willl do the finger walking thing once I have cash in hand... btw, the equote stuffs that I see being mentioned in this forum.. it means emailing them for a quotation is it? Wud u get better price dat way vs phone call vs walk in price quotation?

Some claim that an equote is lower than a phone enquiry. If you have a regular shop that you go to, their prices should be, if not even lower then some equotes. ;)

Yeah I think u're right... it pays to be "loayal" to one shop.. I feel that most ppl here are getting really gd prices fm their regular shops and do not publish those prices in this forum due to ethical reasons... Not complaining though, I fully support such practices

it pay to be loyal customer sometime......esp can "cut queue" for long demand>supply item
opps.......dun flamed me hor ***wink***

just FYI there is no FOC ccd cleaning during the extended warranty period
only for the 1st year

All of a sudden the extended warranty doesn't seem that attractive liao! :bsmilie:

my D70 is still under warranty you know

don't need to worry about costs when you suspect that something is wrong
just send it in :)

the costs to fix the problem might cost more than the cost of the extended warranty

my D70 is still under warranty you know

don't need to worry about costs when you suspect that something is wrong
just send it in :)

the costs to fix the problem might cost more than the cost of the extended warranty

It is a gamble IMO. If something does go wrong, then this insurance (First the higher selling price from HN + the cost of the EW) is worth it. My Nikon cameras haven't had any major breakdowns throughout the years. But really if something does go wrong, *FINGERS CROSSED* then the EW would come in handy.

Where EW = Extended Warranty. ;)

The HN guys told me the EW covers everything dat was covered on the 1st yr warranty & dat includes CCD cleaning.. so those getting the EW better ask them to show the EW T&Cs if they mention dat...

Checked the Nikon price guide, latest updated price is $1520, HN Funan is $1538 incl GST, not too much diff. The EW is $285 for items abover 1.5K. But maybe can negotiate to pay for the lower bracket cos technically speaking, the D80 only cost $1465.

Wonder if there would be a CNY offer where they might throw in the EW for free? ;p
:bsmilie: :bsmilie:

actuali they do throw in EW if u ask ..mayb by sales pesonnel...and also payment has to be one off and can be by CC.