D50

litefoot said:
"Nikon Singapore has requested for the removal of all threads relating to the D70s and D50 "rumors".

Please refrain from posting similiar threads. Thanks for your understanding."

From another thread. Is this forum at the mercy of a camera maker? Is this forum an affiliate or sponsored by any maker?

What evidence do you have that we are at the mercy of anyone? And do you see a Nikon sponsorship logo here?

Threads are removed based on the request of Nikon Singapore. We respect that request and we removed the thread as per request. This is a photography community and we have camera makers visiting us from time to time to share information with us. ClubSNAP always tries to work on the basis of a Win-Win situation. We work and co-organise events wth cameras makers and I see nothing wrong to respect that simple request.

There have been so much information been shared and I also dont see the need for such tactless comments just because Nikon asked to remove those threads.

We give respect to the posting freedom everyone has in this forum but we also strongly urge posters to be more tactful. Appreciate everyone cooperation in that.

MCS said:
Thanks for your reminding, I mind bad listed or kick out from this forum soon, ....

Thanks,
MCS

No one is going to get blacklisted or kicked from forum. I understand the urge to know about upcoming new products and I do share the enthusiasm of getting to know early and more. But since Nikon has approached ClubSNAP for the removal of those threads, I do really hope everyone here can respect that request like us.

Rather than relying on rumour information and speculation, I will suggest everyone to give Nikon a bit more time and wait for official announcement instead.

I think it's okay to respect camera makers, Nikon in this case.
We've got the "info" oredy anyway.... :lovegrin:

I respect also mod's decision to remove such thread. :thumbsup:

If Clubsnap is keep delete interesting information that members want to know, maybe the best way is for us to move to another forum that we not "remove" threads base on the camera maker's request. In dcview, they still have "Today's Headline".

ya lor,

Is there a point in deleting the threads?

A pity that I did not download the files. But half the world knows it already. Wonder which half of the world canon employees belong to :)

But I also respect the decision to accede to Nikon's request. Although nikon does not sponsor this forum, it is nice to have a good relationship with them.

Wonder when the official announcement will be.

jjch_sg said:
If Clubsnap is keep delete interesting information that members want to know, maybe the best way is for us to move to another forum that we not "remove" threads base on the camera maker's request. In dcview, they still have "Today's Headline".

go check out the other forums if you wish but don't blame clubsnap for removing the threads...there are probably copyright and IP issues involved and if CS do not do as requested, they may be liable to legal action. even if this is not the case, there's no harm in being co-operative and keeping in the good books of nikon, or any other manufacturer for that matter.

timlim said:
go check out the other forums if you wish but don't blame clubsnap for removing the threads...there are probably copyright and IP issues involved and if CS do not do as requested, they may be liable to legal action. even if this is not the case, there's no harm in being co-operative and keeping in the good books of nikon, or any other manufacturer for that matter.

I would say, Clubsnap need to balance the interest of the member vs Nikon. My thread in Photoi, dcfever are still there. People are still talking about D50, D70s in dpreview. Okay, remove the jpg file on Nikon manual, I fully agree. But stopping people to describe what is the spec of D70s and D50 is not right. Moreover, the manuals are published by Nikon themselves on their own server. They cannot blame other people.

<information deleted by admin>

Please be reminded that Nikon has requested the removal of all these rumour. Appreciate everyone understanding on that.

interesting thread.

Other than the "thing" we are not supposed to mentioned (this is quite ridiculous as everyone knows about it), the other info which I did not know is that D70 has stopped sale in Japan???

Can anyone confirm this? like that the new models must really be coming very soon.

<information deleted by admin>

Please be reminded that Nikon has requested the removal of all these rumour. Appreciate everyone understanding on that.

chisiang said:
Actually I don't care if Nikon is coming out with D1~D1000. Or some 50 MP dslr.

I just want a Full Frame CCD that's all! 1.5 crop is taking its toll man. Paid so much for my 17-35 then can only kena 24mm angle... a bit bo hua. Then if I getting my 28-70, then again losing on the wide ends. :sticktong

And verticle grip please. ;(

My wish list:

Call it D(whatever) I don't care
but must have:

4-6 MP enough liao
FF CCD :lovegrin:
Verticle grip w shutter release butt
ISO 50-100 please

It looks like APS size DSLR will be here for a while, Kodak Pro SLR/n is full frame at 14mp. My company uses Kodak DCS760 and DCS14n, nothing fantastic about full frame except the DCS 760 18mp pix gives great details however, lacks details in shadows and noise when underlit.

Get a F6 is you still like full frame, great camera just wait till Nikon makes a Digital Back for it, ha ha ha :bsmilie:

I am facing the same dilema as I still have my FM2 & F4e with all the lenses. Now I have to go DSLR for my work so how? May have to make do. :cry:

jjch_sg said:

I have no control over how other websites work and I dont know if Nikon visits or contacts them. I have a official request to remove thread and I respect that decision.

jjch_sg said:
I would say, Clubsnap need to balance the interest of the member vs Nikon. My thread in Photoi, dcfever are still there. People are still talking about D50, D70s in dpreview. Okay, remove the jpg file on Nikon manual, I fully agree. But stopping people to describe what is the spec of D70s and D50 is not right. Moreover, the manuals are published by Nikon themselves on their own server. They cannot blame other people.

i too feel that people should be free to discuss the D70s and the D50. but there may be other greater issues to consider, for example:

1) first of all we do not know how the manuals got onto the nikon server. it may be employee error, it may be deliberate employee sabotage, or there may have been hacking involved. deliberate divulging of trade secrets and hacking are both punishable by imprisonment in many countries. employee error may result in civil action and millions of dollars in damages (how much is knowledge of the D50 specs worth to Canon, for example). in any assessment of damages/punishment, what the owner did to limit damage after the incident is an important consideration - even token measures like trying to stop discussions can be crucial in the eyes of the courts. not a matter of "right" or "wrong" to stop discussions, but of legal considerations. even if nikon did make a mistake, they are entitled to do damage control, however futile or pointless it may seem.

2) from the perspective of CS, what would you do if you were the administrator? simply remove the thread or risk litigation? this is a business decision - what's there to lose/gain? on the one hand you risk irking your members, on the other hand you shield yourself from litigation and perhaps gain corporate goodwill / sponsorship. other forums may be governed by different laws and may make their decision accordingly. members are, of course, free to switch to other forums according to their preferences.

anyway, the above scenarios are pure speculation on my part but certainly not impossible. i understand the frustration of some members but there may be reasons behind how things are. anyway, at the end of the day, you are free to choose, which is what matters!

tommon said:
It looks like APS size DSLR will be here for a while, Kodak Pro SLR/n is full frame at 14mp. My company uses Kodak DCS760 and DCS14n, nothing fantastic about full frame except the DCS 760 18mp pix gives great details however, lacks details in shadows and noise when underlit.

Get a F6 is you still like full frame, great camera just wait till Nikon makes a Digital Back for it, ha ha ha :bsmilie:

I am facing the same dilema as I still have my FM2 & F4e with all the lenses. Now I have to go DSLR for my work so how? May have to make do. :cry:

psssst... tommy!

read THIS first!

think this is possibly the best part of the leak..

The new 18-55 DX ED with AF-S be going for US$100.

This is ridiculous. :angry: :angry: :angry: I only post a link to another site and admin remove the content. I suggest we all start our discussion in Hardwarezone Photo-i site on the topic related to Nikon. Only then, Clubsnap will realize they are hurting themselves only. By the way, the dcfever site has information related to this topic. Goodbye Clubsnap.

jjch_sg said:
This is ridiculous. :angry: :angry: :angry: I only post a link to another site and admin remove the content. I suggest we all start our discussion in Hardwarezone Photo-i site on the topic related to Nikon. Only then, Clubsnap will realize they are hurting themselves only. By the way, the dcfever site has information related to this topic. Goodbye Clubsnap.

well ... i can't say i know everything ... but imho ... its quite immature to think and behave that way =/ ... no offence ment there

jjch_sg said:
This is ridiculous. :angry: :angry: :angry: I only post a link to another site and admin remove the content. I suggest we all start our discussion in Hardwarezone Photo-i site on the topic related to Nikon. Only then, Clubsnap will realize they are hurting themselves only...............Goodbye Clubsnap.

Yes I am more cautious in dealing this matter as one of the members have explained the potential implications behind all these issues. I delete external links that may lead to the leaked manuals. I dont run and manage HWZ but I personally believe that they will get the same request from Nikon if such similar information (leaked manuals) appears on their forum. How they will then deal with the request is up to them.

I dont see how we going to hurt ourselves or anyone with this decision to respect the request.

Jason Ho said:
Yes I am more cautious in dealing this matter as one of the members have explained the potential implications behind all these issues. I delete external links that may lead to the leaked manuals. I dont run and manage HWZ but I personally believe that they will get the same request from Nikon if such similar information (leaked manuals) appears on their forum. How they will then deal with the request is up to them.

I dont see how we going to hurt ourselves or anyone with this decision to respect the request.

The link I posted before is not linked to any manual. It only linked to an article from another site!!! That site has no link at all to Nikon D50/D70s manual. The Admin just delete any link at all without looking at what it is linked to.

By the way, I am a very mature person. It is the admin that is immature (or should I say, Kaisu).

Reflection said:
If PILECO is not using it, and Nikon wants it badly...they'll just

BUY BUY BUY! :bsmilie:

will they pass the cost on to us (consumers)? i rather another name then. LOL.