D40 users come in!

You use a D40 with 17-55mm? Glad your strap didn't break!;) You can add a hand grip anytime, CP is selling the grip by Camera Armor for $70. There're other brands too.

CP? ok, will go check it out.

It was challenging as the D40 isn't v big, so the grip isn't fantastic. Then the sheer weight of the 17-55 shifted the balance fwd, and the zoom ring is closer to the cam than the focus ring, so the left hand wasn't v useful in supporting much of the weight either. 2 days later, my fingers are still hurting :(

Aiyah... Try using 80-200 with D40. Anyway I'm not a real believer in battery packs, unles they are built in eg D2x-My current D80 batery pack seems like it wants to drop off any min ;(

Alamak guru, he's referring to hand strap leh...

That's why I find it hard to believe you match a 17-55mm on a D40! It's so front-heavy! Anyway, this is the strap I used, solid piece of thingy! You can dangle your camera on your palm!
SafeGrip02sm.jpg

That's why I find it hard to believe you match a 17-55mm on a D40! It's so front-heavy! Anyway, this is the strap I used, solid piece of thingy! You can dangle your camera on your palm!
SafeGrip02sm.jpg

i use a modified nikon ah-4 strap.. happy with it on heavy lenses

Tolong lah.. you call me guru helmiz call me master... I sibei paiseh leh... :rolleyes:

SafeGrip02sm.jpg

may i know how much/where you got the strap? does it improve on the grip on d40? my d40 is kind of pain to grip in prolong usage on my big palm.

I airflown it in together with the Camera Armor body for my camera quite some months ago. Can't remember how much it cost individually and the airfare, but I saw it in CP for $70. Exactly the same thingy. Personally, it does help, at least freeing my grip once in a while.

you still using your camera amour? I vaguely remember you had one post that said you were trying to get rid of it.. if you still are, I'm looking for that cute piece of rubber-I think I need it considering the way I photograph ;p

No, I sold it off liao. The fit and finish is good, but personally I find it aesthetically challenged. Anyway, you're looking for the D80 model right? Mine was a D40, so it can't possibly fit in. But Camera Armor does have one cut for D80, maybe you can consider it.

But the way you use your camera, I think no rubbers would help. Some combo of ceramics, spider-silk and kevlar maybe! :bsmilie:

No, I sold it off liao. The fit and finish is good, but personally I find it aesthetically challenged. Anyway, you're looking for the D80 model right? Mine was a D40, so it can't possibly fit in. But Camera Armor does have one cut for D80, maybe you can consider it.

But the way you use your camera, I think no rubbers would help. Some combo of ceramics, spider-silk and kevlar maybe! :bsmilie:

How I love it when people suan me... :angel:

But so far none of my camera's/lenses have died on me :bsmilie:

Hey Amaury and dreamzcape, care to share ur experience using the 50mm f/1.4 and f/1.8 respectively?
Is it hard to mf on the D40/x?
Thinking of getting one too but not too sure how hard is it.

I got myself a 50mm f/1.8; and i absolutely love it - particularly playing with the DOF. My initial fears of manual-focusing was waylaid when i started to snap a couple of shots (without moving and/or looking at the LCD for review), playing with the MF until i got the focus right Disciplines me too, to get the composition right.

I'd love to share some of my shots, esp for C&C, but I know here is not the right place. PM me, and I'll send you the link ;p

I have the 55-200 VR as well, but that's also sitting around after falling in love with the nifty fifty.

On a separate note, what are people's views on the 18-55 II? Worth keeping or should i let it go?

1. Zaren
2. Hlyf
3. Psychobiologist (D200, D40/D80 sold)
4. BlueBull
5. IfourDesign
6. Helmiz
7. Six-GHz (D40 sold)
8. Matthew1381
9. Samtcy (with one tripod totting hubby!)
10. Benson S A Chua
11. GriGri
12. Wing Oscar
13. geraldKhoo (with D200, sold D40x to friend... but still available for my use )
14. chanjyj (With D2x, D80, D40 sold)
15. Mousedeer213
16. Clubgrit
17. monokydni
18. mysterio506
19. IceMocha
20. PhotoGiant (D40x with AF-S 18-200mm VRII. I lyke~!)
21. Mickie
22. Graphicz
23. Eidja
24. TennoRZ(since Dec'06)
25. anwask (D40 with 18-55,55-200) (Updated by chanjyj 1130H, 7 Sept 07)
26. neverneverever (D40x with SB-600)
27. damkuff
28. JillValentine
29. JeeT77 (since X'mas '06)
30. huoyun (d40 kit since jan 07)
31. czeno
32. vroom
33. kamiru
34. fusetrips
35. Jimny (Bought in Japan kit + 55-200 )
36. lloyds (since july 07)
37. shirak
38. Popeye gal (D40x - 18-200mm)
39. XiaoXian (re-entered by chanjyj)
40. csiwei
41. fungoer (with 55-200mm VR)
42. jeffng28 (D40X with 55-200VR)
43. Stray Sheep (D40 & 55- 200VR) --> from COMEX 07
44. deathwiz (D40 + 18-200VR)
45. KeefeSNAP (due to 1/500 flash sync speed)
46. popiah123
47. konahead (D40 kit + 55-200mm VR + SB400)
48. steadyshot
49. guiii (D40 + 18-135mm)
50. jayzzz
51. danielwu0808
52. tigereye19
53. Starspurz (D40 & 55- 200VR) --> also just from COMEX 07
54. lsisaxon --> Not mine.. Company bought a D40kit and it just arrived this morning.
55. yxannes (entered by chanjyj upon user request 1729H, 11 Sept 2007)
56. dscans (entered by chanjyj 1729H, 11 Sept 2007)
57. augustai (just sold my D40) (updated on 16 Sept 2007 by augustai)
58. redpills (Sigma 30mm f/1.4) (entered by chanjyj 2212H, 11 Sept 2007)
59. kudos
60. Daneal79 (entered by chanjyj 1314H, 14 Sept 2007)
61. Astroman (entered by chanjyj 2057H, 19 Sept 2007)
62. Amaury
63. Lukesky
64. snapperz
65. Maxe (D40 + 55-200mm VR) from Comex too....
66. lingaowei (fixed by chanjyj 2125H, 27 Sept 2007)
67. tungsol (D40 + 18-70mm, and also D80 )(fixed by chanjyj 2125H, 27 Sept 2007)
68. fanyong (D40x & 18-135mm)
69. Maletoth2000 (added by chanjyj 1949H, 28 Sept 2007)
70. evopilot (D40 + 55-200mm VR)
71. mechattax
72. coolride (D40x + Sigma 18-200mm OS HSM)
73. justinlau92
74. acky86
75: rich1 (D40x Kit lens)
76. dreamzcape (D40x w/ kit lens)
77. simon_84 (D40 w kit lens)
78. Zacepl (D40X + 55-200mm VR)
80. DiGdUb (D40x kit + 18-200mm VR)
81. nabilmust (D40 + kit lens + 55-200mm VR + 50mm f/1.8)
82. titanio (D40 + kit lens)
83. zinY (D40 + 18-70mm)

Hi All, i have just bought a new D40 kit 3days ago and not really familar to use it cause i am a new user to slr camera. How to adjust the shutter speed. how can i get a good pic while my baby is moving? Thanks for the help.

I got myself a 50mm f/1.8; and i absolutely love it - particularly playing with the DOF. My initial fears of manual-focusing was waylaid when i started to snap a couple of shots (without moving and/or looking at the LCD for review), playing with the MF until i got the focus right Disciplines me too, to get the composition right.

I'd love to share some of my shots, esp for C&C, but I know here is not the right place. PM me, and I'll send you the link ;p

I have the 55-200 VR as well, but that's also sitting around after falling in love with the nifty fifty.

On a separate note, what are people's views on the 18-55 II? Worth keeping or should i let it go?

keep the kit lens unless u gona get another lens that duplicates that range. i love that range cos i like shooting events and weddings so the wide angle is quite useful. even if u sell it off, its only worth a low $100+.

Hi All, i have just bought a new D40 kit 3days ago and not really familar to use it cause i am a new user to slr camera. How to adjust the shutter speed. how can i get a good pic while my baby is moving? Thanks for the help.

AFIAK the d40 shd have one of those preset modes that depicts a pic of a man running on the mode dial. u can use that for action shots. Read yr manual for more info, off the top of my head i cant really remember the preset modes cos i never use them.

Read your manual bro, burn it, drink it! That's what I almost did!

1. Zaren
2. Hlyf
4. BlueBull
5. IfourDesign
6. Helmiz
7. Six-GHz (D40 sold)
8. Matthew1381
10. Benson S A Chua
11. GriGri
12. Wing Oscar
13. geraldKhoo (with D200, sold D40x to friend... but still available for my use )
15. Mousedeer213
16. Clubgrit
17. monokydni
18. mysterio506
19. IceMocha
21. Mickie
22. Graphicz
23. Eidja
27. damkuff
28. JillValentine
31. czeno
32. vroom
33. kamiru
34. fusetrips
37. shirak
40. csiwei
46. popiah123
48. steadyshot
50. jayzzz
51. danielwu0808
52. tigereye19
54. lsisaxon --> Not mine.. Company bought a D40kit and it just arrived this morning.
59. kudos
62. Amaury
63. Lukesky
64. snapperz
67. tungsol (D40 + 18-70mm, and also D80 )(fixed by chanjyj 2125H, 27 Sept 2007)
71. mechattax
73. justinlau92
74. acky86
83. zinY (D40 + 18-70mm)
84. whamburger (D40 + 18-200mm VR + 60mm Micro + 50mm 1.8 + SB800)

1. Zaren
2. Hlyf
4. BlueBull
5. IfourDesign
6. Helmiz
7. Six-GHz (D40 sold)
8. Matthew1381
10. Benson S A Chua
11. GriGri
12. Wing Oscar
15. Mousedeer213
16. Clubgrit
17. monokydni
18. mysterio506
19. IceMocha
21. Mickie
22. Graphicz
23. Eidja
27. damkuff
28. JillValentine
31. czeno
32. vroom
33. kamiru
34. fusetrips
37. shirak
40. csiwei
46. popiah123
48. steadyshot
50. jayzzz
51. danielwu0808
52. tigereye19
59. kudos
62. Amaury
63. Lukesky
64. snapperz
71. mechattax
73. justinlau92
74. acky86
83. zinY (D40 + 18-70mm)
84. whamburger (D40 + 18-200mm VR + 60mm Micro + 50mm 1.8 + SB800)
85. togusa (D40 kit)

Hi everyone, hoping to share and learn from all D40/x bros and sisters here!

visit me at http://whamburger.multiply.com/
you should get a site there too if u havent, its free and easy. :)