Cybershot H1

mastermind said:
Auto Focusing will take at least 0.5 sec unless you use spot or manual focus. Just practice and it makes perfect. Haha.. there could be a good use for slow focus afterall.
i c... gotta try that what sometime... :)

mastermind said:
As for the 2nd method, maybe you can try with your aperture wide open and at higher ISO. Or perhaps you could find a use for this method in another event and let us know.
will definitely share if i managed to take some using this method... :)

mastermind said:
Great photos btw. Really got to try fireworks in the future
Thanks! Now is a great time to try out cos everyday oso have fireworks till the 15th day of the lunar new year. Go during weekdays and there is little ppl to fight for space... ;)

Where will the fireworks be? At the merlion area? So will the area around esplanade be good for capturing view or is it better to wait at the bridge area. And what time does the fireworks start? Can't seem to find the information online. Thanks in advance.

Nvm. Think I found the info from other websites other than the uniquely singapore tourism page. Goes to show how poorly designed our local tourism webpage are. All the key information are missing.

Its every night 9:30pm at Esplanade for others who want to know too.

i took my fireworks shot from the bridge... only about 6 ppl on the bridge... you can set up anywhere u wan... :) ... and take your time and space to get the best angle...

dunno abt the esplanade side... thinking of going 1 of these few evenings... :)

btw, dun be late... the weekdays show last only like 2-3 mins... very short... must remember to go there early to setup... :)

Yup, short display. About 3 mins or so. Went about 3 of the weekdays shoot all at diff locations. Just below sheares bridge area (din see anyone around me), in front of esplanade (only a couple of fellas) and esplanade bridge near merlion (that area is packed, last count on last fri easily close to 20 fellow photographers).

Best spot ~ esplanade bridge near merlion. You can actually get the merlion as backdrop. Got some pretty good catch there myself. You guys can look in the forum, some of the seniors like Hosea posted really excellent shots :thumbsup: taken from this area.

Hope it helps! :D

esplanade bridge near merlion... hmmm... will try that location... thanks! :)

Hi guys, just to share what the view will roughly be like at the various locations :)

area in the middle of the bridge

dsc03637a.jpg

area beneath the sheares bridge area

dsc03684a.jpg

area of the bridge near the merlion

dsc03769a.jpg

You can view the rest of the shots CNY fireworks It's not really as beautiful as the rest of CS members (still very new to fireworks fotography) but i hope you enjoy it!

DaGimCi C0d3 said:
Rui, cannot see your pics leh?? :dunno:

Hi DaGimCi C0d3, i can see it on my screen, so i'm not really sure why. Does any of the rest have the same pro? Maybe it's your firewall?? :sweatsm: Think you can still at least access the weblink CNY fireworks :)

OT: Went to the bridge between fullerton1 and fullerton bridge for fireworks shot last evening... quite a crowd but still able to find space to setup my tripod... Reach there about 9.15pm...

mastermind said:
Auto Focusing will take at least 0.5 sec unless you use spot or manual focus. Just practice and it makes perfect. Haha.. there could be a good use for slow focus afterall.
Yup the slow focus does work... What i did was i try to picture the merlion into the pic. then i used the flexiFocus and shift the focus point onto the merlion. Then i have to try and anticipate the fireworks and just full-pressed on the shutter button. Ta Da! The cam took abt 0.5 - 1secs to acquire focus and *SNAP*... Cool!! :cool:

Managed to take more pics this time round with this method... :)

mastermind said:
As for the 2nd method, maybe you can try with your aperture wide open and at higher ISO. Or perhaps you could find a use for this method in another event and let us know.
Wide aperture doesnt seems to work on the fireworks... Set to min instead and pics are nicer... I find that setting it to F8 (the min on H1) is best... then play ard with the shutter speed.. I usually try 3, 4 (my most preferred) or 5 secs... :)

all in all... with 2 fireworks outings using the H1, IMHnewbieO, the best settings for the H1 is F8, 4s, ISO 64, slow focus method, flexifocus, multi metering... :) ... 5 more nites left for experimenting... ;p

Anyone has any idea how to get good narrow DOF on the H1?
I tried standing far and zoom in real close to the subject and i get very narrow DOF and a nice bokeh... but problem is sometimes cannot stand so far to take pics becos got ppl walk here walk there in between me and the subject... :sweat:

How?? :dunno:

DaGimCi C0d3 said:
Anyone has any idea how to get good narrow DOF on the H1?
I tried standing far and zoom in real close to the subject and i get very narrow DOF and a nice bokeh... but problem is sometimes cannot stand so far to take pics becos got ppl walk here walk there in between me and the subject... :sweat:

How?? :dunno:

get a close-up filter. :)

close-up filter? wat does it do? and how much it cost?

DaGimCi C0d3 said:
Yup the slow focus does work... What i did was i try to picture the merlion into the pic. then i used the flexiFocus and shift the focus point onto the merlion. Then i have to try and anticipate the fireworks and just full-pressed on the shutter button. Ta Da! The cam took abt 0.5 - 1secs to acquire focus and *SNAP*... Cool!! :cool:

Glad that it worked for you. Too bad I'm really busy with my work lately and couldn't make the trip down to try it myself.

DaGimCi C0d3 said:
close-up filter? wat does it do? and how much it cost?

yap, close-up filter- looks looks a magnifying glass; 1 side convex, 1 side flat.

comes in +1, +2 or +4 magnification. if i not wrong H1 uses 58mm thread (w/ thread adaptor) rite? brands like Tokina / Hoya is should b under $25 for low budget filter. :) Sony, Nikon, Canon, B+W, etc, costs more.

it brings d min focusing distance closer than w/o it. a +4 on my Canon SLR halfs d min focus of my lense. d down side of tis filter is lense flare. :devil:

Rui said:
Hi DaGimCi C0d3, i can see it on my screen, so i'm not really sure why. Does any of the rest have the same pro? Maybe it's your firewall?? :sweatsm: Think you can still at least access the weblink CNY fireworks :)

yup think it is due to firewall... managed to see it now... thanks! :D
Think the merlion offers the best framing...

sORe-EyEz said:
yap, close-up filter- looks looks a magnifying glass; 1 side convex, 1 side flat.

comes in +1, +2 or +4 magnification. if i not wrong H1 uses 58mm thread (w/ thread adaptor) rite? brands like Tokina / Hoya is should b under $25 for low budget filter. :) Sony, Nikon, Canon, B+W, etc, costs more.

it brings d min focusing distance closer than w/o it. a +4 on my Canon SLR halfs d min focus of my lense. d down side of tis filter is lense flare. :devil:

wow... :bigeyes: ... sounds very complicated to a newbie like me... think need some time to assorb it. Really appreciate your information!!

so basically this close-up filter magnifies the object and brings nearer to the cam. rite?? So then how it helps the DOF and bokeh?? :dunno: Sry but my knowledge limits me to "bigger aperture = narrow DOF" and experiences tells me "stand far and zoom in = narrow DOF"... Cant relate them to focusing distance...

so does this magnifying effect = zooming in?? :think:

DaGimCi C0d3 said:
wow... :bigeyes: ... sounds very complicated to a newbie like me... think need some time to assorb it. Really appreciate your information!!

so basically this close-up filter magnifies the object and brings nearer to the cam. rite?? So then how it helps the DOF and bokeh?? :dunno: Sry but my knowledge limits me to "bigger aperture = narrow DOF" and experiences tells me "stand far and zoom in = narrow DOF"... Cant relate them to focusing distance...

so does this magnifying effect = zooming in?? :think:

can b abit complicated ah,...:sweat:

yah, something liddat. how it helps the DOF & bokeh? all i kno is tt its as gd as "stand far and zoom in...", if not betta. the DOF is so shallow i hav 2 manual focus, ttz d critical part, if not d focus may b on another part of d object liao.

i was able 2 get a slightly larger mag on an item ttz abt 7cm in length on a 4R print. tis filter on works on close-up pics oni, does not work if u 1 2 take landscape pics, etc... shooting tis w/o tripod is not adviseable! :)

if u can get ur hands on a magnifying glass, u can betta understand how tis filter works.

Thanks sore-eyez! :)

I see if i can get my hands on some second hand filter to test it out... will update if managed to get some shots using the Close-up filter on the H1. ;)

hi guyz , mostly i will get myself a H1 but before tht i wish to know any wide kits for H1 or it can be set ? hmm.......

DaGimCi C0d3 said:
Thanks sore-eyez! :)

I see if i can get my hands on some second hand filter to test it out... will update if managed to get some shots using the Close-up filter on the H1. ;)

u may like 2 kno tt w/ tis filter, u may ancounter 2 things...

1) focusing is critical, jus 3mm diff & d focus is on another thing

2) ur pop-up flash may b partially blocked- vignetting occurs.

4 prob (2), avoid direct flash, use a table lamp, mirrors, aluminium foil, flashlight, etc, 2 help u illuminate ur subject. :)