Consolidated NKF Thread

After reading this, will you still donate to NKF?

Yeowww said:
this whole episode is going to hurt the needy most, not just kidney patients..

donors will be less willing to donate to other charitable organisation as well.

No I don't think so. It sends a clear message that donations are to be used properly, and those making donations will be more discerning as to where they donate to. It will hurt NKF definitely, but lets face it, it will hardly cripple them.

I can understand the salary but the bonus??? When you are a charitable organisation you should refrain from making huge profit/claims. Make sure that the money donated by the public is well documented and well spend. Not hide it then suddenly something like this happens and the whole community is in for a rude shock. Dialysis treatment is not cheap I know but there are still some people I know who has to fork out cash despite having difficulty paying.

eric69 said:
I don't mind paying $1million annually to a guy who can generate a $100 million for me in return. I don't understand what's the "hypes" about. The money from donations are re-invested. Pirority is to save more patients who can't afford their treatments.

Society always support the underdogs. This is no exceptional.

Like what i've mentioned in my previous post , if that's the case , shouldn't the minister be paid a 5 years bonus , given the fact that the government is doing a good job in helping the keep singapore 'multi-billion' economy right on track. Correct me if I'm wrong, the NKF serve a patient base of < 5000 , having a few 10million in reserve , or in fact a few billion is already over kill.

poohbear said:
Like what i've mentioned in my previous post , if that's the case , shouldn't the minister be paid a 5 years bonus , given the fact that the government is doing a good job in helping the keep singapore 'multi-billion' economy right on track. Correct me if I'm wrong, the NKF serve a patient base of < 5000 , having a few 10million in reserve , or in fact a few billion is already over kill.

Personally i felt that our ministers are well compensate for whatever services they have given to our country and people.

if people are not going to donate base on this report.... i think a few billions should be just enough to buy them time to find another place where they can turn their patients to.

jsbn said:
1 million out of 10 million doesn't seem like a huge amount in comparison.

Unfortunately, if we do a breakdown on cost savings analysis, this 1m can be used to cover OTHER administrative overheads including maintainence and purchase of dialysis machines (that costs something like a few hundred K?) which can be used to better serve the public.

This is probably one of the biggest scandal to hit town. Unfortunately, by sueing SPH in order to 'protect its reputation' (a familiar tag we hear once every 5yrs?), we effectively see Durai shooting himself in the foot by opening a can of worms. Which might be a good thing for all of us.

dude , my statement was meant to be a sarcastic one lah , haha :)

Oh Singapore :cheergal:

the issue before us is not whether the ceo is capable or not to lead the orgn. the issue is transparency for the business or type of orgn the ceo is leading.

Nisa said:
I feel that I should not be too hard on the CEO. Yes i am shocked at the fund's usage. But then i have to say that we cannot pay peanuts for a good CEO. It's like we do not wish people to exploit our (not referring to myself though) skills as photographers, it's the same with him.

He is employed to lead the organization, he is not a person who had chose to give up all his physical wants and needs. If NKF is not able to pay him for what he's worth, maybe they should not have employ him in the frist place. Then he could have earn his 12 mths yearly bonus and benefits else where.

But then again we can't just put any Tom dick or Harry in his position, it might cause even greater chaos than now.

Nisa said:
Personally i felt that our ministers are well compensate for whatever services they have given to our country and people.

if people are not going to donate base on this report.... i think a few billions should be just enough to buy them time to find another place where they can turn their patients to.

Pls note that my statement was a reply wrt
eric69 said:
I don't mind paying $1million annually to a guy who can generate a $100 million for me in return

SO if someone who can generate 100 million for a 'charity organisation' with a patient base of <5k , be given 12 month bonus ,

why can't the (for example) chairman of EDB who help Singapore generate billions be given a 5 year bonus ?? The effect of his outstanding work ripple through the whole of Singapore including those needy , heart disease , kidney failure , old folks, MINDS, Special Schools etc etc etc.

It is sad and disappointing that such a meaningful organization that started with noble ideals and goals has grown so evasive and corporate.

No matter who wins/loses in court, the only real losers are the Charities (or more accurately, the needy) all around. People will become more cynical generally and less charitable. And that trend does not bode well for Singapore in the long run.

Perhaps it is time for all Charities, not just nkf, to take a really hard look at their operations, to check if they have evolved into a huge money sucking machine whose only concern is how to squeeze more sympathy money from the public.

reachme2003 said:
the issue before us is not whether the ceo is capable or not to lead the orgn. the issue is transparency for the business or type of orgn the ceo is leading.

From the posts i seen, and things i heard.... i have no doubts that the CEO is paid as much he would in a MNC and the money are used for the way it would be used in a normal organizaton. :)

if he can generate a larger sum...from donors, mind you.

Nisa said:
I agree with you. If he can generate a larger sum in return for the money he is being paid, he is well worth the money. :thumbsup:

poohbear said:
I just said what I felt. There is no "right" or "wrong" on this matter, and nobody is wiser in this forum to influence others of their thoughts.

but nkf is not a normal business orgn. it is a charitable body.

Nisa said:
From the posts i seen, and things i heard.... i have no doubts that the CEO is paid as much he would in a MNC and the money are used for the way it would be used in a normal organizaton. :)

poohbear said:
dude , my statement was meant to be a sarcastic one lah , haha :)
Nah... Was getting too heated over the entire issue.

Even my old man's getting heated. To think that we used to call up every year. It was only AFTER the 1998 case where the revelations came on email on how callous some staff was, as well as all those rumours start coming, my doubts start to creep in.

I stopped donation to them since 5yrs ago.

poohbear said:
Pls note that my statement was a reply wrt

SO if someone who can generate 100 million for a 'charity organisation' with a patient base of <5k , be given 12 month bonus ,

why can't the (for example) chairman of EDB who help Singapore generate billions be given a 5 year bonus ?? The effect of his outstanding work ripple through the whole of Singapore including those needy , heart disease , kidney failure , old folks, MINDS, Special Schools etc etc etc.

BTW what is WRT? anyway mine is an comment on your statement. I never took it as a question.

Sure, Chairman of EDB can be given a 5 years bonus, but i think it would be up to the Board of directors to decide on that. I am sure no one of any position can just decide whatever size of bonus he want to get a year, base on his own.

anybody wanna hear my 2 cents? ;p

from the general public perspective... as an charitable organisation, if your core objectives is to maximise donation to help more patients, i think giving a huge amt of salary to its staff & super fat bonus is sure to trigger some unhappy thoughts... as ppl is donating money, they obviously wanna see that the money is not mismanaged.

from another point of view, have you noticed that doctors or specialised health care workers earn alot? so if from this point of view, if the private sectors does earn alot, to attract them to work for NKF, they will definitely need to pay them alot as well... that certainly explains from his point of view the high pay & bonus... cos he doesn't go thru all the training for nothing... if others can earn, y can't he?

den based on my humble point of view... anybody also wanna earn lots of money, but if my background is strong, (got huge inheritance), den i dun mind a low paying job, and all out to help others... but if not, i still need to live lor, i can help, but i need to enjoy also wat, its like if i go study medicine, my classmates earn 30-50k, den i earn a measely 25k only... thats nothing wat, and i am still at the lower rates of my same batch... but if i earn 25k and my same year in pte sector earn only 8k, of course lah... something must be wrong, esp when i am working for a charitable organisation...

for the fittings, i not sure wats wrong.. but is it for his use or for others? besides that... i dun really see a need for gardeners and so many misc staff doing 'unnecessary' jobs around NKF... oh ya lastly... y the 12mths bonus... i'll definitely disagree about that... its an overkill... a 13mth bonus is ok, maybe another 2 mths is good enough... 12 mths... work 1 year & get another year free?

reachme2003 said:
if he can generate a larger sum...from donors, mind you.

Yeah from Donors. Personally, i think he has done quite a good job by bringing more awareness to the society about this need ppl have. And people have donate based on this awareness.

reachme2003 said:
but nkf is not a normal business orgn. it is a charitable body.

NKF is a charitable body, but like i said he did not give up his wants and needs as a person. He is employed by NKF to do a job, which he would be paid for.

eric69 said:
I don't mind paying $1million annually to a guy who can generate a $100 million for me in return. I don't understand what's the "hypes" about. The money from donations are re-invested. Pirority is to save more patients who can't afford their treatments.

Society always support the underdogs. This is no exceptional.
Dude, he's not running a bank. We donate out, we get nothing in return. :sticktong

Where's the $100m 'in return'? ;)

Nisa said:

That's why, NKF is not an MNC and it's not a normal organization but a 'Charity' organization , maybe should go to those run down old folks home, orphanage and we'll see why the big hoo-ha of the CEO 12 x $25,000 bonus !

Support the "buy espn a D2X fund" better.