very competative as compare to more than 10 years ago when started off with linear editing, u-matic, svhs camera... :dunno:
struggling to keep afloat :sweat:
very competative as compare to more than 10 years ago when started off with linear editing, u-matic, svhs camera... :dunno:
struggling to keep afloat :sweat:
anyway what are the current rates for vidoegrapher nowadays?
sometimes i'm puzzled... it seemed that AD photographer are paid better than videographer even though the cost(camera) and time(editing) in video is often more than photo... one thing i like abt videography is that...many say a picture tells a thousand words... but a video tells a thousand pictures... heee...coupled with audio (sound and tracks).. wow... brings you into wonderland...
All these recording formats evoke nostalgic memories for me too. I remembered handling those gigantic 2" tapes machines and have done some film splicings tooI think I'm beginning to miss the touch of a Betacam's jog dial... :bsmilie:
Technologies change fast!
Not to start any war among our neighbours in Photography, some couple really think Video is much easier as compare to Photo, yes I agree Photo needs a degree of skills but Video is no joke.
Just to share a story with you... A client approached us to cover their wedding, after finding our prices too expensive, infact we are reasonable and thats why her friend A strongly recommend her to ask and tell her no need to bargain, but she still decides to ask her friend B to cover for her... Her friend B only have a miniDV tape on hand... and really records very poorly for her, she brings the tape to me and ask us to do a DVD for her, out of the 60mins he recorded, I only managed to used less than 15 mins to create a summary for the couple, as I edit I feel really sorry for her wedding, all those jerky and jumping scenes is like "Saving Private Ryan Chapter 1, Boat Assualt on Normandy Beach. She can still complain saying we did not put in effort... anyway, I sat down with her and watch the entire 60mins, she actually cried, saying her wedding videos is in ruins. But there is really nothing my team and I could do... do a 3D animation film for them??? Not possible with my skills!!!
Sometimes, videographer is just like a photographer, its quite stressful working in the AD.
badly shoot camera works = difficult editing.
many tot editing can do miricles to sarvage thier shot which is totally wrong!!
some people don understand the concept of how video work.. can even tell u just edit to 5 min final clip from few hours footages... they will say "5mins oni wat, very ez very fast one!" they don understand the more footages u have to edit to shorter clips need so much more work and time.
"sian man... which is now i thinking if i should do business with video not... dunno if business will kill my passion...
Thats something that you need to consider! Dilema rite? Hobby is do what you like, business is do what HE (customer) likes.
To all the experts here, I am interested to learn videography. Am thinking of taking up a beginners course for a head start.
Any advice on the trainings that I will need for both videography and editing.
Can recommend reasonably good courses in the local market?![]()
its like dat bah... like we eat hokkien mee... you think so easy to cook meh... but we never consider how it is cooked ahhaha... crapping... anyway be it video or photo as long as the person doing it is passionate can liao... if go find those do just to earn $$ you can probably tell a diff...observe a standard pattern... sian man... which is now i thinking if i should do business with video not... dunno if business will kill my passion...
I recommend you do the online BBC course for a start http://www.bbctraining.com/television.asp in doing video, it requires alot of patience and discipline, website, library are the best places for you to start. Trial and Error to get your headstart before you start paying the fee for courses, it will give you better understanding and more efficient in the class...
Thanks for the advice. As for equipment, what do you recommend for a start. Do I start with a semi-pro if I intend to excel my skills? Or a general.
As for photography, I started with a semi-pro for better features for more potential play rather than to spend another amount to upgrade.
Thanks for the advice. As for equipment, what do you recommend for a start. Do I start with a semi-pro if I intend to excel my skills? Or a general.
As for photography, I started with a semi-pro for better features for more potential play rather than to spend another amount to upgrade.
yes, i missed tat to.. those AB roll linear editing suite.. mark in, mark out, insert, assemble editing, the Jog dial, etc.
but we still owns a few Beta SP VT machine, AV mixer and controler.. but not set up for any linear suite.. more for export and importing footages to the non linear suite.
well, still remember tat i use BetaSP cam to shoot wedding! very sheong! imagine the batteries. tapes and lites tat i have to carry alone! tat was the younger day lar.. now no such energy.. old man liao!!:sweat:
Bro Sundazz, I hereby standing and saluting you. Using BETA CAM for wedding events is like carrying 20KG of load or more doing SOC. I think I am lucky, I start with MiniDV and its enough to set me crying with the lights, batteries and hanging on my body.
I agree to that... Betas are heavy weights...