Canon Rebel Xsi Club - 450D Only

bro gman, thanks for the massive writeup. Sorry to take up so much of your time. And bro Hammie, I have read the article link you gave me. Fantastic writeup about the history of CAMERAS in general.

Quote (gman):
So what does the f-stop number refer to. It refers to the aperture inside a lens. Lets say if i have a 18-55mm kit lens with a spec of f3.5-5.6....it refers to the aperture ring inside the lens. How big or small it can open. Aperture ring affects the amount of light that can travel through the lens and into the camera. If you have a smaller aperture number like f2.8, your aperture is opened to the widest and it can allow alot of light to pass through.

Hmmm, after reading it, seems logical, but I read it as:

small aperture number like f.28 -> aperture widest ->alot of light pass through.

But if the camera's maximum aperture is f4.5, can I say the "alot of light passing through" the lens cannot go into the camera??? :lovegrin:Hahaha, sounds abit dumb, sorry if I sound stupid or a pain in the ass. Just trying to get my concepts clear here.

Thanks again
glay123
No to say that because the aperture has a maximum of f/4.5 so that is the widest it can open up to...so it only allows that much light...the smaller the aperture, more light can enter...larger the aperture, less light can enter...I'll write up another explaination on aperture and shutter, just give me some time..haha..

gman

Off main topic abit .. Gman how ur 55-250. I need a cheapo tele lens >_>
Its good man...why? Haha...only bad point the aperture is not as low as like f/2.8 or less. So you need to use a slightly longer shutter speed. And I.S is really great...its a good lens..

gman

yup...try then u will know..but rem of the 1.6x crop factor hor..

oh yah..btw, I think the 17-55 F2.8 might be out of ur range cos it cost more than 1k lor..

*side track* I'm thinkin of getting dat or the tammy 17-50 F2.8 ....man i'm slowly getting the BBB virus liao...hmm..think I sunk in abit liao..

Bro, I think you are already getting the BBB virus already.
But if for me, I would buy the Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 lens rather than the canon one.
This is because it is having quite good review except for the slightly slower focus and noisy motor noise. Besides, it only costs about half price of the canon 17-55 F2.8 only.

Read the link I posted http://photonotes.org/articles/beginner-faq/lenses.html#aperture Understand what is a f-stop aka aperture. Aperture is not the size of the hole but a ratio of the size of the hole regards to focal lens. f4 on 200mm hole is different size from f4 on 55mm

Camera do not have a aperture. Camera only have sensor size. Aperture is only related to lens not camera body.

Read the photonotes and u have ur basic covered
I thought i actually told him that already...lol...funny guy.

gman

side track abit hor...hammie, wat the main diff btw 450D n 50D? Crop size diff ah?

if good maybe i buy another one...:bsmilie:
Wa lau bro, you never read my notes ah....look above...all stated there...haha..same sensor size..haha...only better noise control and FPS on 50D

gman

I also thought of jumping to 50D...but then if i sell away my 450D with kit, also around $1100 only....then to get a 50D i need to top up like $700, then i'll have no primary lens to shoot...only telephoto and prime lens...lol...

Money was one of the reasons why i didn't get a 40D. Haha...I guess i'll still with 450D for another 3 years...then after N.S...wee i jump to 5D Mark X...haha...new model...:bsmilie:

gman

Hey guys could use some advice.

I'm planning to get a Battery Grip, Extra Battery, Tripod and a Flash.

But currently with my budget, i think i can either get a Battery Grip + Extra + Tripod.

Do you think i should get the 430 EXII first or get the following items above?

My school's going to start soon too...so should i wait till Christmas and get the items? Might have enough cash for a 430EXII by then.

Please give some advice

gman

Forget about the tripod..... unless u siao landscape. Battery Grip + Extra batt<-- a must if you wanna hantam flash else u have problem handling your camera... top heavy.

I'll use sand bags...haha..I think i need a tripod man..when i was using my 50mm prime...some of my shots were perfect, but hand shake ruined it.

gman

Hey guys could use some advice.

I'm planning to get a Battery Grip, Extra Battery, Tripod and a Flash.

But currently with my budget, i think i can either get a Battery Grip + Extra + Tripod.

Do you think i should get the 430 EXII first or get the following items above?

My school's going to start soon too...so should i wait till Christmas and get the items? Might have enough cash for a 430EXII by then.

Please give some advice

gman

get the Flash first! together with a tripod that costs around $20-$30.
450D's battery is enough to last 500 shots (approx.)
the rest during Christmas :)

I'll use sand bags...haha..I think i need a tripod man..when i was using my 50mm prime...some of my shots were perfect, but hand shake ruined it.

gman

get the Flash first! together with a tripod that costs around $20-$30.
450D's battery is enough to last 500 shots (approx.)
the rest during Christmas :)
$20-30 tripod...lol...i think my canon tripod can fair better...haha...only thing is the canon tripod has a lousy head design with a dangerous quick release. It's so hard to release that when you try doing so, the whole camera can just pop off...can't seem to remove the head...maybe i need to DIY haha...where's my saw?

gman

$20-30 tripod...lol...i think my canon tripod can fair better...haha...only thing is the canon tripod has a lousy head design with a dangerous quick release. It's so hard to release that when you try doing so, the whole camera can just pop off...can't seem to remove the head...maybe i need to DIY haha...where's my saw?

gman

HHaha bro how are you? back in action ?

Ouh, I jus bought an immitation Batt. which cost $55 and the lens I jus bought just a Prime lens, Its a Vitacon Super-wide angle optical Lens, detachable macro lens. I got it for $100. (FYI-An original batt. is damn expansive, just buy an immitation that is as good as the original, I recommend the "Irrou" brand. Thats the best.)

For the Lens, I'm going to wait to buy an original canon wide-angle lens or fish-eye.

Ouh, I jus bought an immitation Batt. which cost $55 and the lens I jus bought just a Prime lens, Its a Vitacon Super-wide angle optical Lens, detachable macro lens. I got it for $100. (FYI-An original batt. is damn expansive, just buy an immitation that is as good as the original, I recommend the "Irrou" brand. Thats the best.)

For the Lens, I'm going to wait to buy an original canon wide-angle lens or fish-eye.
._. ur 3rd party batt is expensive ..... Sorry to burst ur bubble which shop did u buy from. My phottix only cost $12 -$16

Well...i'm not a imitation type of person...i prefer original...haha...because i know how it feels to have your technology stolen and reproduced....besides, the only other imitation battery i'll use is from Phottix...haha...welll i saw your photos...good job abang...keep going...all the best

gman

._. ur 3rd party batt is expensive ..... Sorry to burst ur bubble which shop did u buy from. My phottix only cost $12 -$16
Hammie? You bought the phottix battery from singapore or you bought it on ebay? If i get my grip, i'll pair it with 2 phottix...haha..

gman

Does your immitation battery have warranty of 1 year?
Today I have visited MS Colour for 3rd party battery and was quoted $40.
It comes with one year warranty and made in Singapore.
Is it a good deal?
If I am not wrong, someone has actually gotten the 3rd party battery for $25 only.
Does anyone know where I can get cheaper one?