Canon EF 200-400mm f/4L IS USM Extender1.4x !!

At that kind of prices ... even 'gian' also no use lor ... :cry::confused:

There is this book titled "The Secret," it says that if you think about it long enough, it will happen :).

Interesting ... with built in extender. Cant wait to hold it :D

There is this book titled "The Secret," it says that if you think about it long enough, it will happen :).

Everyday think TOTO ... how long will have to think huh ?? :bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

It really seems like a choice over 100-400....but with 70-200mm Mk II @ $3k, it's really hard to imagine how much will this lens cost. From dpreview the photo the lens does look quite huge also

Great news from Canon!

Everyday think TOTO ... how long will have to think huh ?? :bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

Don't think TOTO lah as it is out of your control. Think of a way(s) to make the moolah. Don't think casino too.

Raised hopes up for a replacement of the 100-400 :D
until I see the price :cry:

On 2nd thought, I doubt this replaces the 100-400L.

The Nikon lens easily costs 10k SGD leh! And that doesn't have 1.4x built in...

Interesting lens. But like someone said, the probable pricing puts it beyond reach of mere mortals like most of us. :cry:

Bye bye to the mythical 400mm f5.6L IS USM.....

It looks of the same build quality like the Super Tele lenses. Expect to pay around the same price as a 400 f/2.8 IS I think.

200-560 f4-5.6!!! amazing range and if mounted on a crop body, the range is even greater. Cant wait for it to be launched

if it's within $11k, then maybe it's worth considering. anything more will be a bit stretched.

It is a Zoom + Extender Lens, so it should be called a Zoomext Lens. :D

Got to hand it to Canon: a brilliant lens design. Great replacement for both 100-400 f/4-5.6L IS and 400 f/5.6L (without IS).

Now, I'm sure many are still waiting for Canon's very own 14-24 (or equivalent)...

I don't think so.
I would expect this lens easily cost more than 7-8k.
400f5.6 = 1.7k
100-400 = 2.2k

I don't think so.
400f5.6 = 1.7k
100-400 = 2.2k

Hmm .... 2x (1.7k + 2.2k) = $7.8k ??? :think::sweat::sweat:

I think around the price range of $5-7K..... :think:

I don't think so.

It's a solid replacement alright... with a matching price tag. :bsmilie:

If I am into serious birding, I'll give this lens a very hard look. Expect this lens to sell like hot cakes in North America.

Wa... these new releases tempting me to gamble, more so than opening of new casinos and CNY :bsmilie:

If the 200-400 costs more than 10k than I'll make do with my Sigma 150-500. But hopefully there will be a flood of cheap 500L and 600L on the BnS forum ;p

This is a good innovation, breaking new grounds. I think the idea of putting in an extender is to reduce the cost. So who knows, it may be priced competitively. Afterall, the pros will still stick to the prime lenses for this type of FL.

400mm f/4L IS in the form of a super tele zoom lens. I expect it to price over US$7,000.

Canon EF 200-400mm f/4L IS USM Extender 1.4x will be out some time in 2011 @ $? (AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II Lens = US$6,799 at 3,360g)

http://www.flickr.com/groups/200-400l/

I expect Canon to still maintain the 100-400mm IS because Nikon still sells their 80-400mm VR.

I see the built-in Extender 1.4x will perform better than a separate TC as it was designed specifically for the 200-400mm IS. I am not that surprised with it being sold at more than US$7000 as lenses that have a 100mm pupil sell between US$4,500-7000.