Canon 5D mk3 in Spring

It is coming... That is certain.... But I wonder if it is a 5D III though....

Based on the rumors......

I can be created as a new segment, and I read they could keep 5DII.....

If it is 5DIII, no point keeping the 5DII unless if it is another model, and then, you keep 5DII at current pricing..... :think:

I always think people are misinformed when they say Canon will keep the current model of xyz camera when a new version is released. Sure you can still buy the older version even after the newer model is released, but that's just to clear the old stock. Canon doesn't keep producing the older model.

Good advice! I agree with you, need to do a pre-order after it's announced. I doubt 5d3 will be more ex than d800 though.

Why must wait till after it is announced? You can pre-order even before it is announced if you know the shop well, perhaps show your earnest by placing a deposit first.

I am eager to upgrade to the next iteration of the 5D but I think that I will wait a few months until all the kinks and bugs are worked out of the first few waves of product sales. :think:

Of course, the BBB virus has hit me before and I've succumbed to BBB fever. :(

raydio said:
I am eager to upgrade to the next iteration of the 5D but I think that I will wait a few months until all the kinks and bugs are worked out of the first few waves of product sales. :think:

Of course, the BBB virus has hit me before and I've succumbed to BBB fever. :(

I would advise against buying so soon and let them kill the bugs first.... eg. 24-105...

If not wrong, 5D Mark II started with some High ISO noise issue, but fixed with a firmware update right?

New electronics these days always start with bugs one haha..

Bugs can be fixed, no worries. Hope they push 5d3 out sooner.

If not wrong, 5D Mark II started with some High ISO noise issue, but fixed with a firmware update right?

New electronics these days always start with bugs one haha..

Yes and the 7D apparently had early issues with focusing which disappeared after 2 or 3 months.

Jin jialat.. these toys lauch price so expensive and comes with bugs as freebies ;p

I think the days of doing extensive QC before launching is gone.. these days they very smart, pass down the job of QC and beta testing to consumers to save cost and at the same time, profit from us with high launch price :bsmilie:

Like this I might as well buy the new cam after their "qc" period. Wait until the cam becomes bug free...... After all, it's not cheap.

5D Split? 5D X & 5D Mark III

Interesting thought
A split in the 5D line has been rumoured for a while now. This rumor was not submitted to me, instead it was sent to [NL]. It’s consistent with some things I have heard, however take this one with a large grain of salt.

5D X
45MP (With a pixel size similar to the power shot G1X)
61 points AF (Similar to the 1DX but simpler)
3.4 fps, 100-6400 (50-12800)
1 Digic 5+ Digic 4

5D Mark III
22MP
6.9 fps, ISO 100-25600(50-51200)
1 Digic 5+ Digic 4
Best HD video quality of any EOS camera

Both over $3k
source

Jin jialat.. these toys lauch price so expensive and comes with bugs as freebies ;p

I think the days of doing extensive QC before launching is gone.. these days they very smart, pass down the job of QC and beta testing to consumers to save cost and at the same time, profit from us with high launch price :bsmilie:

Yes, the 5D Mk3/X is probably in the hands of a few hundred professionals as we speak (all under a non-disclosure agreement). This is nothing compared to the thousands of copies that will be "tested" by regular users like us after launch.

Yes, and if Canon thinks allowing a few hundred professionals do the beta testing is good enough, they are probably only half right. The new cam is being only tested by professional end users only. This is very likely to be a prosumer product, so they have forgotten about the user experience of the other half. :bsmilie:

5D Split? 5D X & 5D Mark III

Interesting thought
A split in the 5D line has been rumoured for a while now. This rumor was not submitted to me, instead it was sent to [NL]. It’s consistent with some things I have heard, however take this one with a large grain of salt.

5D X
45MP (With a pixel size similar to the power shot G1X)
3.4 fps, 100-6400 (50-12800)
1 Digic 5+ Digic 4

5D Mark III
22MP
6.9 fps, ISO 100-25600(50-51200)
1 Digic 5+ Digic 4
Best HD video quality of any EOS camera

Both over $3k
source

I kind of think it is more like 3D and 5FDmkII..... :think:

Yes, and if Canon thinks allowing a few hundred professionals do the beta testing is good enough, they are probably only half right. The new cam is being only tested by professional end users only. This is very likely to be a prosumer product, so they have forgotten about the user experience of the other half. :bsmilie:

If the pro say GOOD.... and endorsed it, the prosumer will believe in their words.... usually..........

I always think people are misinformed when they say Canon will keep the current model of xyz camera when a new version is released. Sure you can still buy the older version even after the newer model is released, but that's just to clear the old stock. Canon doesn't keep producing the older model.

Nope... in this case.... my thoughts was that Canon come out with 3D, and 5DmkII remains in production.

If the pro say GOOD.... and endorsed it, the prosumer will believe in their words.... usually..........

but these pros will say not good one meh? :bsmilie:

Nope... in this case.... my thoughts was that Canon come out with 3D, and 5DmkII remains in production.

i thought otherwise, a 3D - 40 over mp & 5Dmkiii - 20+ mp. does it may sense :think:

no perfect cam, 70% good is also consider good

true, but what I mean is, these people are probably benefiting from Canon for all the extra previleges. In a sense or so, they are likely to say good things about Canon in turn. :)

not to doubt them though. if it's a sh1tty cam, I don't think they will say it's good. but sometimes I read their reviews, they can say until the cam is some ultimate cam ;p