Cann 30D out today!

mpenza said:
handled the 30D at the IT Show... not used to the big LCD though ;p

Ha, how can i forget that.....so hugh.....:confused:

saperboy said:
c'mon spill the beans...where...where...where?

MS lah.....but my price may be slightly better, Auntie Florence always nicer to students, esp regulars, heard someone got quoted 2250?

Lenscapes said:
yeah all chinese to me. :) and 9230 RMB is about SS$1.9K wow! that's cheap

Got my friend in Shanghai to check the price for me and was told it was about 9600 RMB. Was told that the price could be lowered somemore.

Just tested this baby at the IT Show, they got 2 sets for test, heard that they only got 40sets available for sales in Singapore for now.

Think will get mine end of this year when the hardware, software and price are all stable.;)

Virgo said:
Me too got a chance to test it. Shutter very sensitive. Feels lighter than the 10D. Focusing much faster than 10D. Overall good experience! :)
So....time to BBB? :devil:

does the mirror slap still sound as loud?

enghong17 said:
Nice solid body.....Was told by a retailer that it will be in on Friday and at 2.2K.......;)

Who is selling for $2.2k?? Nett price?? Inc. GST?? Where?? Share leh....;)

whacker said:
Who is selling for $2.2k?? Nett price?? Inc. GST?? Where?? Share leh....;)

Post #102.......;)

enghong17 said:
Post #102.......;)

Alamak! It's Auntie Florence... Sorry, blink lah me. Didn't read the earlier post properly. Too kan chiong....;p

But still, does it includes GST?? $2250 nett??

CP will start selling tomorrow, as will the IT show. CP is cheaper.

Ang Moh said:
CP will start selling tomorrow, as will the IT show. CP is cheaper.

CP price is still $2350 b4 GST??

yanyewkay said:
does the mirror slap still sound as loud?
Yes it sound like 20D...can hear clearly even at the nosy event @ IT show...350D has better shutter sound...

actually i like the sound leh...haha....

I asked CP at marina yesterday。 It’s 2300 with 1GB CF and free Canon Lens book...
But I still buy from IT Show as it came with 2 x 1 GB CF + Lens book + 2 bags + photo printer + free basic SLR course

yes... its in town... confirmed by canon's production manager.

I tried the 30D at SITEX yesterday. Man, it's really FAST! Quick AF + super-fast shutter release. The large LCD is a big plus!!

Then I went on to try the 350D, which felt like a toy. Honestly, for anyone who's waiting to take the plunge into a Canon DSLR, the 30D is a class above the 350D.

Am using a Fuji S2pro (coming to 4 yrs old), and am seriously tempted to switch back to Canon (have kept all my lenses from the EOS5 days... .)

; )

John Tan said:
Yes it sound like 20D...can hear clearly even at the nosy event @ IT show...350D has better shutter sound...
Yah shutter slap is almost as loud as 20D. Just a bit softer only.

Tried out one of the display set at IT Show yesterday. Some first impressions:

- Body size and weight somewhat similar to 20D. The back is very much like 5D, including that direct print button.
- Start up time is almost instantaneous, but couldn't tell the difference btw it and the 20D(only 0.15 secs difference).
- AF is pretty snappy, but could not tell if there's any improvements over the 20D.
- VF seems the same as 20D. Only thing is, its more like 10D VF, not so 'grainy' as 20D. Still rather dim at f5.6 and above.
- LCD monitor seems to have some slight bluish tinge? Or it could be the lighting at the IT show which caused it. The bluish tinge remained even tho I switched from AWB to Sunny WB.
- Yes, the shutter slap is still quite loud, tho it is slightly improved from 20D (ie less of the "thwack" sound but its still there)
- Buffer and writing speed is awesome! :thumbsup: Was shooting JPEG Large (I think) and the card was a normal speed Kingston 512MB, fired abt 12-13 shots at 5fps consecutively and the buffer cleared in around 3 seconds. Review times was also very quick.
- checked the bottom label, it has "Made in Japan" written on it. So to ease fears that the body is made elsewhere other than Japan.

So, should a 20D user upgrade? For me, if I were a 20D user, probably not. Best if go try the body and decide whether is it worth it or not. But to those still holding on to 300D, 350D, D60, 10D, yes, this is a good excuse to dump your old cam and go for the new.

heheapa said:
I asked CP at marina yesterday。 It’s 2300 with 1GB CF and free Canon Lens book...
But I still buy from IT Show as it came with 2 x 1 GB CF + Lens book + 2 bags + photo printer + free basic SLR course

You get more than what advertise in yesterday TODAY paper. Good deal! By the way how much you paid in total? You paid as the same price as advertised? If yes then you must have good negotiating skill. ;)

I went to see yesterday, somehow I like the 30D model alot. In terms of camera body, snapping, and picture quality on the lcd.
very tempted to buy, but I see a few hundreds price drop soon, guess I have to be happy with 350 for now.

If the price is S$2300 including GST and 2 CF card with bag and lens book. It is a sure buy.