Bali in Infrared ~ [limwhow SereneXMM]

Sigh... due to the rain at Tirta Empul, we had hardly any IR shots there.
Otherwise it would have been a great location for IR.
So fast forward to Day 3 evening.
We ended up at Tanah Lot just nice.
In time for sunset.
Here goes.

limwhow #19
Rendered in Tritone. And Hue and Saturation added in after Tritonisation.
5026894768_e729c10431_b.jpg

i love the mood on this particular shot bro... very calm.:thumbsup:

Kusamba beach

limwhow #09

On this second day of our trip to Bali, we found ourselves here on Kusamba Beach.
Walked a little distance away from the crowd of people and saw this abandoned jukung looking so forlorn at one corner...
5018540188_2d85e87238_b.jpg

limwhow #10

Just from another angle.
5018532078_53de5889f2_b.jpg

The Floating Pavilion of Gerta Gosa

limwhow #11

Just for the record, here is the Pavilion in IR.
5018534892_487d4c0ffe_b.jpg

:bigeyes:Very very nice boss limwhow and serene... makes me want to convert back to full IR...:D

I have come to learn that shooting IR of paddi fields really poses a great deal of challenge to me.
This is because the expansive sheet of white that I obtain directly from the camera gives me a flat picture.
No colour, no contrast, and no depth.
Thus I often struggle to inject all these elements into the picture.
Here, I was merely pushing the limits of colouration.
A little bit out of style, it is. But I think it is always interesting to experiment...

limwhow #20

5033676658_da76dd539f_b.jpg

Yes, definitely looks quite unconventional. First time look at it, can't really make out/rationalize what the picture is all about.

But when I allow myself to sink in, I begin to see 3 different photos/layers in one. Dramatic B&W in the sky, color photo in middle and nostalgic painted photo in the foreground. :thumbsup:

I don't know if that's your original intention, but I find it unique. Compositionally, the path leading into the photo is great.

I also like #21. The coconut tree that frames the the picture; very nice composition where everthting falls into place. IR definitely works here.

i love the mood on this particular shot bro... very calm.:thumbsup:
Brother Wurdelak, thank you once again for your kind praises!
It was a really really beautiful evening at Tanah Lot.
Quiet, peaceful up where we were, tripods set up... just waiting for the sunset.

:bigeyes:Very very nice boss limwhow and serene... makes me want to convert back to full IR...:D
Aiyoh... lizardojm... not boss, not boss at all...
But thank you very much for your encouragement!
And yes, go ahead and shoot more IR shots and share with us please!

Yes, definitely looks quite unconventional. First time look at it, can't really make out/rationalize what the picture is all about.

But when I allow myself to sink in, I begin to see 3 different photos/layers in one. Dramatic B&W in the sky, color photo in middle and nostalgic painted photo in the foreground. :thumbsup:

I don't know if that's your original intention, but I find it unique. Compositionally, the path leading into the photo is great.

I also like #21. The coconut tree that frames the the picture; very nice composition where everthting falls into place. IR definitely works here.
johnlim, thank you so much for coming by our thread.
And certainly our gratitude to you for your kind compliments.
In the picture of the paddi field, I found it monotonous if it was still in its original sheet of white.
Thus I brought out the colours of the central terraces, and kept my fingers crossed, hoping it will work.

I have come to learn that shooting IR of paddi fields really poses a great deal of challenge to me.
This is because the expansive sheet of white that I obtain directly from the camera gives me a flat picture.
A little bit out of style, it is. But I think it is always interesting to experiment...

limwhow #20

Power!!! Love this shots!!! :cool::

limwhow #20

love this :heart:

perhaps a pano b/w crop with big black canvas?
kinda love the clouds texture n the wide landscape

Power!!! Love this shots!!! :cool::
Kam Sia, Brother Lx3ChuA!
If you love this shot, then I can give myself a pat on the shoulder and heave a sigh of relief!

love this :heart:

perhaps a pano b/w crop with big black canvas?
kinda love the clouds texture n the wide landscape
dexpense, thank you so much!
Your suggestion is very good... why didn't I think of that?
A pano-crop with reduced heights would bring out the expansiveness of the field.
Thank you once again!

It's day 4 already on our Bali trip.
The weather was a little erratic and it started to rain very soon after we set off to the west of Bali.
Even as we came to the seldom-visited Palasari Catholic Church, the weather was still gloomy.
Well... if it's gloomy, then we'll just let it be gloomier and freezing...

limwhow #22

5036630630_3f1138f9b3_b.jpg

[Ahem... a controversial PP here. Really pushing it to the extreme here. I am open for whacking... hahaha...]

Day 5 and we woke up to a relaxing breakfast (finally for once!) in Swastika Bungalows in Sanur.
The morning sun was bright and hot.
And after breakfast, we took a slow stroll along the main thoroughfare of Sanur to look for the small connecting lanes to the seaside.
Here is a little photo of this lane.
I am less naughty in this photo.
But still can't help not doing a Gradient Tool on the floor tiles.
Also, for the first time, I employed Surface Blur as demonstrated to me by Lx3ChuA to give a little bit more depth.
[Doesn't look exactly right as the background should be sharp too.. but heck lah... give it a go lah...]

limwhow #23

5036352037_55f638b82e_b.jpg

Haha... sorry, this SereneXMM's picture....
Got some parts didn't mask properly.
Sorry lah... did it in the deepest part of the night.
So a little blur blur liao!

limwhow #24
Back to basic IR trees and leaves and palms.
A view of the field walk along to the Seaside.

5042867071_b051721fa6_b.jpg

KEDONGANAN

SereneXMM #03

I remember here we both limwhow and me we used very high ISO because it was so dark. I think dark scene IR also has its special.
5009093146_8c4c3988ba_b.jpg

OMG, look at the pattern of the sand :)

limwhow #04
The sweetcorn seller on the beach of Kedonganan.
4993487864_58941a8ccd_b.jpg

I seriously didn't think IR would work under such condition but you have proven me wrong :thumbsup:

You know ah .. after looking at you 2 color IR .. I think I will not know how to post IR photos again .. cause I dun noe how to do color .. especially since Weehow and Ah Chua don't want to conduct class ..

Damn I think I need to book a auditorium and collect ticket money from all attendees and pay them before the rest of us can learn any sh*t :sticktong

Very nice shots .. RICE TERRACE is my favorite .. looks like Mayan Pyramid

5026473622_d789d9d28f_b.jpg

Only if the 2 stooges is not in the picture even better .. wait is that you Adrian :bsmilie:

So when conducting workshop for us? :lovegrin:

Really drool until the whole floor is wet after seeing all these photos...but I know I will never be able to do that cos I am too lazy...haha. Nevermind, will continue to look out for SereneXMM and your creative and colourful IR photos :)

BEA utiful!

Nice cant wait to own a IR dedicated cam lol...

OMG, look at the pattern of the sand :)

I seriously didn't think IR would work under such condition but you have proven me wrong :thumbsup:

No lah, SK.... I just shot only lah... The rest later then talk lor...

Really drool until the whole floor is wet after seeing all these photos...but I know I will never be able to do that cos I am too lazy...haha. Nevermind, will continue to look out for SereneXMM and your creative and colourful IR photos :)

SK1968! Thank you very very much!

BEA utiful!

Nice cant wait to own a IR dedicated cam lol...
Thank you iVintage!
Hmmm... yupe, it's good to have a modified IR camera.
Certainly much more exciting and easy to use as compared with a screw-on IR filter.