Are you taking pride with your sony systems?

Ha....ha. I am sure everyone takes pride in the system otherwise they would have jumped ship long ago. So far of all the Sony users I have met, I think only about 5 have left the system and the numbers of new members have been increasing.

Anyway, back to the topic, I guess most of the bros/sis would rather go out to take more pictures then to have these kind of unfruitful conversation. :bsmilie: We are not like some others who would just broad over such issues and keep whining. So shoot more and concentrate in getting quality results from your cam would be more fruitful bro. ;)

I think it is a pointless argument about taking pride on a system.

A system is merely a tool to achieve what you want to achieve.

A professional will choose a system that will give them the flexibility to work and produce their work. Cost is a consideration not a deciding factor.

I wouldn't call CZ line and G lines on Sony not something of the highest standard. I would think A-700 is capable of producing high level of technical imagery. A-900 is more so capable to makes Sony's competitor to anticipate Sony's move very carefully.

Sony also very careful about the word they are using in terms of "Professional" system. In all honesty, Sony is the name to watch. There are stuffs Sony need to beefed up before heading to "Professional" arena (apart from the equipment offering).

In my experience, I believe they are improving and constantly making changes to get to the point they want it... it won't happen overnight and they know it.

It seems that most of people, they spend more time playing with their gear than their photography.

In essense, photography is the idea, gear is just to support it.

Hart

I kind of understand how the thread starter feel. I tried to sell my Sony A700, which I felt is a wonderful camera, but could not get a decent price, even with warranty, hence decided to keep it.

A Minolta guy formerly, now a Devout SONY Loyalist.

Initially, when I went running around in a mad panic after discovering Minolta gave everything up to SONY, I was so relieved to find the A100. But then, after that there was 200, 300, 350, and finally A700 then now A900.
I didn't went and bought every single model upgrade, I waited till A700 to finally jump in and then now I've ended up with 2 A700 and one A900. Now after having these three, I realized the A100, was pretty much a prototype. Trying to use the A100 now, is rather unpleasant. So I have recently sold it, although, I agree that it gave me some pretty good times, as well as pictures.

Now, I'ne waiting with weaty hands for the rumoured A800 - or perhaps, A950, or A1000?

A Minolta guy formerly, now a Devout SONY Loyalist.

Initially, when I went running around in a mad panic after discovering Minolta gave everything up to SONY, I was so relieved to find the A100. But then, after that there was 200, 300, 350, and finally A700 then now A900.
I didn't went and bought every single model upgrade, I waited till A700 to finally jump in and then now I've ended up with 2 A700 and one A900. Now after having these three, I realized the A100, was pretty much a prototype. Trying to use the A100 now, is rather unpleasant. So I have recently sold it, although, I agree that it gave me some pretty good times, as well as pictures.

Now, I'ne waiting with weaty hands for the rumoured A800 - or perhaps, A950, or A1000?

wah! are you a professional photographer?

This is a typical fanboy topic... pride in systems is pride misplaced... it doesn't matter what system you use... in any case, most electronic goods don't hold their value when they are a year old... the A700 was launched in 2007... now it's end 2008... it's a bit long in the tooth where new models are concerned... and the price of a new A700 is only about $1700... how can you sell a 2nd hand A700 for more than $1100?

If you were an early adopter of the Canon 5D and wanted to sell it about 2-3 years later, you would also be shocked at the going price... not to mention now when the price of a 5D is really rock bottom... you can't even sell a 30D (once the top dog in the amateur range) for $1000 given that it cost almost $3000 when first launched then... that was only 2.5 years back... I think...

This is a typical fanboy topic... pride in systems is pride misplaced... it doesn't matter what system you use... in any case, most electronic goods don't hold their value when they are a year old... the A700 was launched in 2007... now it's end 2008... it's a bit long in the tooth where new models are concerned... and the price of a new A700 is only about $1700... how can you sell a 2nd hand A700 for more than $1100?

Wah! I wanted to sell my A700 for more than $1200! No wonder I had no luck, even though it has more than 6 months of warranty. I think I better stick with it. Not worth selling, its definitely worth more than that in my eyes.

Seriously no one will buy that from you lar... a few hundred dollars more can get a new camera leh... plus some extras thrown in if bought during one of the fairs that come around every few months... batteries or memory cards...

I thought some people dun mind saving a few hundred dollars for an excellent condition and with more than 6 months warranty camera. But I learnt my lesson about camera body, they depreciate so fast its scary. Looks like I gotta stick with the A700 and justify keeping it by taking more good shots! Too bad I sold most of my minolta lens and am left with 2 minolta and a few M42 lens... Sigh...

I wouldn't mind taking it off you next year sometime in June if there is no news of a lower resolution FF body from SONY... I'm still trying to justify $4000 for the A900 plus the cost of another 2 HDD (500GB x 2) plus at least another 16GB of CF cards... a bit mad if you ask me...

Thanks for the offer. Even then the camera is still under warranty, so I think I will use it as a leisure camera body now. My main system for assignments would still be Nikon.

Helooo fellow sony users ;p
just bought a A300 yesterday....
now with the sony year end promo, the A200 kit is only $888
A300 single lens kit is $1099

thought of gettin the 450D, but the kit is $11XX...
so i figured i rather get the sony as it has inbuilt IS and live view is capable of autofocus, useful for newbs :bsmilie:

just startin out with the DSLR, my 1st one, still lots to learn~

so i figured i rather get the sony as it has inbuilt IS and live view is capable of autofocus, useful for newbs :bsmilie:

Do remember to join us in our regular outings!

No no no, I just like to collect bodies and lenses... I shoot sometimes.. ;)

Wah.. but i can see you have a700x2 and a900x2.. hahaha.. how do u justify that? :sweat:

Why does he have to justify? ;p
If you have the ability to buy, its your business how you want to spend your money on!

Welcome to the Alpha family.
Hope to see you in our outings soon. ;)

yah a bit overkill lah.. I like collecting lah.. a bit spendrift lah me... hehehe..
Must stop buying compulsively...:embrass:

Welcome... :)

yah a bit overkill lah.. I like collecting lah.. a bit spendrift lah me... hehehe..
Must stop buying compulsively...:embrass:

hey.. he has a lot of good stuff ok... +A1 quality... mint condition... pls let me know when u wanna let go ur A700... haha... but i still love my A200 veri veri much... no regrets...