ANNOUNCEMENT: Nikon D70 will be in store tomorrow!

SianZronG said:
wah i though you no money haha.. now spend so much for the flash.... anyway how much is the SB 800? is the SB 600 around? and how much? anyone? :D
any thing else you bought? like CF card.. and other stuff.... please share! haha.

Well, it's not too hard when he can hands on an available SB-800, 70-200VR, 12-24, 17-35 on the spot... with some help from gadrian, aj23, watcher, me and some others... heehee...it wasn't very hard to encourage him to buy.

Pity there were no B+W MRC UV filters though for the 18-70 :(

Well, it's not too hard when he can hands on an available SB-800, 70-200VR, 12-24, 17-35 on the spot... with some help from gadrian, aj23, watcher, me and some others... heehee...it wasn't very hard to encourage him to buy.

Pity there were no B+W MRC UV filters though for the 18-70 :(
thanks you guy here ... i still need lot of you guy ...

by the way ... after trying the 70-200VR i feel like very shiok ler ..... mmmmm

maybe my next target ... but too expensive already ... now broke already :(

Relax, it's just the devil in us playing with you just now, heehee letting you try those exotic lenses, at least you've touched them you know what you'd like to have next time ;) save up... "buy what you need, need what you buy" - quote from StereoBox. :)

yup thanks for your advise ;) by the way i just play with my camera and learn more thing first ... by that time got money already...

thanks you guy again for let me try the 70-200vr it was really good lens ......

the image still sharp even we zoom at max :bigeyes: ....

it really a good lens.

PS: its nice to meet you guy today(very friendly), and thanks for the advise .

One more thing... whats up with that old lady in CP, bad attitude practically all the time with a face that can make milk sour. You guys get that?

OVerall the feel of the D70 is solid. Exept one thing.........the DOF Preview mechanism seems very rough/crude. Every time i press the button, I get the errks that it will be the first thing to break down with my D70. Scary. :confused: :sweat: Compared with the super-smooth DOF preview of my F80, it doesnt instill any confidence with this part of the camera.
Anyone feels that way too? Or is the D100 mechanism similar? Hope to get some feedback cos have not handled the D100 before.

Hi guys, the 144 buffer is for LARGE NORMAL JPEG and what kind of CF? is it any cf ossso can?

Also, how are the underexposure issues? u think its a bug, or is it a natural feature of the cam? Perhaps correctable by firmware?

helo anyone going aerospace today? or tomorrow?
the tickets quite ex hor at $21.
by the way before you guys buy the d70 what camera you all using initially?
wondering if nikon come out a new model at what price can we sell off our then d70.
by the way any9one know where to trade in camera like v3?
or maybe sell off to shops?

sprockett said:
Hi guys, the 144 buffer is for LARGE NORMAL JPEG and what kind of CF? is it any cf ossso can?

Also, how are the underexposure issues? u think its a bug, or is it a natural feature of the cam? Perhaps correctable by firmware?

I've tried with the Sandisk Ultra 2 using Large-Normal JPEG, no problem. And if I switch to Large-Basic JPEG, it's basically non-stop till your card is full.

I suppose any CF cards with rated 40X WRITE should be able to do this, but probably not those 40X cards.

Also, for goodness sake, never shoot with the camera defaults, and never trust the LCD 100%. One must know the camera and exposure characterics. I never had any under-exposure problems with at least my D100 which so many ppl claimed. I don't think it will be a problem with D70 either.

AJ23 said:
I've tried with the Sandisk Ultra 2 using Large-Normal JPEG, no problem. And if I switch to Large-Basic JPEG, it's basically non-stop till your card is full.

I suppose any CF cards with rated 40X WRITE should be able to do this, but probably not those 40X cards.

Also, for goodness sake, never shoot with the camera defaults, and never trust the LCD 100%. One must know the camera and exposure characterics. I never had any under-exposure problems with at least my D100 which so many ppl claimed. I don't think it will be a problem with D70 either.

You mention not to use the cam defaults. Could you share some of your preferred settings. Tks

sprockett said:

Right now its too early to tell if the underexposure issue is real or simply due to operator error in not compensating for contrasty/light subjects.

Oh boy,

I sense another round of "my D70/D100 underexposes" threads coming up. Pity it's not possible to load a custom curve until Nikon Capture 4.1 comes out.

Jer said:
You mention not to use the cam defaults. Could you share some of your preferred settings. Tks

I don't have D100 nor D70 with me, but can meet up in one of the SEEDS, I can "change" the settings for u. :)

I don't mind meeting up too, I wanna play with D70, and much to agree with AJ23, don't use the default settings, really. :)

Beachboy said:
CP $2100 D70 kit price ;)

GST include? :dunno:

If this price is not GST included..... after GST 5%, it would be around $2205 right? :sweat:

Cyberian said:
GST include? :dunno:

If this price is not GST included..... after GST 5%, it would be around $2205 right? :sweat:
its included the GST ;)

linse said:
Oh boy,

I sense another round of "my D70/D100 underexposes" threads coming up. Pity it's not possible to load a custom curve until Nikon Capture 4.1 comes out.
:rolleyes: Yep agree! Sigh... Here we go again...

The D70 does not have a black and white, sepia option.. only colour. :dunno: Wonder if Nikon will add these feature in the next firmware upgrade? :think: