Alan Photo... :-(

• Thread starter Thread starter JerChan
  • Start date Start date

Originally posted by JerChan

I usually go shopping only after lessons. Hence, most of the time, I am in my uniform. It does get very bad especially when sales personnels give you the "I don't think you can afford it look", but there are always those who treat you better if you are a student.
sometimes go to these places must act DAO!(proud) as you u behave like U REALLY ARE going TO SPEND!

No, peter is this average height guy who is relatively slim. I dun consider him fat.

Originally posted by mylau

Why am I treated differently???????

Coz' I bought a EOS 1D from them, without bargaining.

Me thinks you paid a lot just for service at Alan Photo. All I did was to pay for a 775 with much haggling.

I have only been to AP like 3-4 times in my life. Most of the time I went with friends who bought something (like CF cards). Serviee was okay.

They always have the impression I was a regular somehow (hey, that's good! I have no problems with that). Even asked me on my most recent visit "hey, your friends didn't come?" :)

Eventually, the ONLY things I've bought from them in my whole life are 3 x DV tapes, 2 x RiData 128MB CF card (one for a colleague). Service was pretty okay for a SLS shop. And I even got a pretty good price for them.

So what does that show? You don't need to buy a 1D to get good service. If there's a shop which needs you to buy a 1D, D1X, Rollei, Hassy, Leica, Contax, Sinar, etc before you get good service, go somewhere else. :)

I've been there twice and the service is okay. The last time I went is Kenny who served me, he's an alright guy. I will be looking for him this weekend when I go down to get the Canon A40.

Well, at the price they're selling one can't ask for quality service. Pay for a higher price at Harvey Norman etc, one should be able (also depend on luck) to expect good service.

well, the only way to such service is to hunt de best deal somewhere else...same experience happened to me when i was searching for a digicam...

thot wanted to try AP after several ppl recommended but when i enquired for de g2/cp995, dis salesman juz gave me dat look as if i couldn't afford to buy anything there ;p another lady came in and this skinny salesman can tend to her wif a smiling face...yah lah..can't blame dat guy also hor...dat lady looks more appealing than me :bsmilie: after dat, me and my parents went off somewhere else and bought my D5...a good deal and gr8 service.

but if u dun mind de sometimes not-so-good service there, then buy @ AP...prices there are quite ok compared to some of de other shops in sls. ;)

What's the point in doing all that so to the people you're going to pay (their salary) serve you? Shouldn't they serve me first before I part my money?

Originally posted by eadwine

sometimes go to these places must act DAO!(proud) as you u behave like U REALLY ARE going TO SPEND!

Generally I believe that AP does consider whether you are a potential buyer before giving you service. I have bought (and helped buy) about 5 to 6 cameras from them and other accessories, and I think the people there probably recognise me already, so it isn't hard to get service from them even when I was just asking for the price for fun.

But that's just generally, the person I've gotten consistently good service from is the very talkedabout Steven. By observations, he doesn't choose customers, will entertain any customer in the shop. Can't say that for the rest though. Avoid the "part-timers" there, they know very little and will always try to sian you.

That said, it is indeed a practical world (in SLS) that you need to protray the image that you have the purchasing power before you even get some service. But you definitely don't need to buy a 1D.

Try CP or Foto Guide or John 3:16, and those are the places where you get good service without having to hold a card that says "I am rich and I need a 1D".

Originally posted by Tweek
Generally I believe that AP does consider whether you are a potential buyer before giving you service. I have bought (and helped buy) about 5 to 6 cameras from them and other accessories, and I think the people there probably recognise me already, so it isn't hard to get service from them even when I was just asking for the price for fun.

But that's just generally, the person I've gotten consistently good service from is the very talkedabout Steven. By observations, he doesn't choose customers, will entertain any customer in the shop. Can't say that for the rest though. Avoid the "part-timers" there, they know very little and will always try to sian you.

That said, it is indeed a practical world (in SLS) that you need to protray the image that you have the purchasing power before you even get some service. But you definitely don't need to buy a 1D.

Try CP or Foto Guide or John 3:16, and those are the places where you get good service without having to hold a card that says "I am rich and I need a 1D".

To paraphrase what a friend always like to joke to me, you know, one of those "If I am rich...." things.

Go into the camera shop. Ask to look at any cheapo camera. Take a close, hard look. Then tell the sales person there. "This indeed looks like a piece of crap. Ok, apart from this, I want every other camera in your shop. ". Then take out your gold card. See their reaction.

Originally posted by Tweek

I would definitely have to disagree about that. I have a very bad impression of CP due to a bad experience with one of their "old bird" salesmen, who responded quite grudgingly to my queries when I was trying to build an external flash system for my Coolpix 990. I made it obvious that I was interested in building a cheap system and he made it obvious that selling me a cheap system did not interest him. In the end I got some items from him, and some from Fotoguide opposite (and only because Fotoguide did not have the items I needed).

My impression was that they were keen to cater to tourists and "serious" camera buffs, but not budget-minded digital hobbyists.

I think I have gotten very satisfactory service from AP because originally, I was going to get my 707 from Song Brothers but on the actual day, they told me that they only had one piece left and jacked up the price by $200 more. So I went over to AP and I think the guy who served me was anthony. He actually tried to persuade me to get the olympus 2100 uz. We took lots of pictures and compared the quality for about 45 mins. I think I was more hurried into buying the camera than him wanting me to buy it (maybe he was bored there??). Even took my picture with the 2100 and printed out a copy of it for me. Eventually I decided on the 707 still although 2100 had better quality images. I thought that everyone there gives as good service as him so now I find out apparently not. Think next time I go there will only look for him again.

Originally posted by StreetShooter

I would definitely have to disagree about that. I have a very bad impression of CP due to a bad experience with one of their "old bird" salesmen, who responded quite grudgingly to my queries when I was trying to build an external flash system for my Coolpix 990. I made it obvious that I was interested in building a cheap system and he made it obvious that selling me a cheap system did not interest him. In the end I got some items from him, and some from Fotoguide opposite (and only because Fotoguide did not have the items I needed).

My impression was that they were keen to cater to tourists and "serious" camera buffs, but not budget-minded digital hobbyists.

I see...I think the experience at CP has been inconsistent from people to people, so far my experience there has been good, but not fantastic. At least they bother to help me spontaneously and let me try things out, tho I was carrying a bag and look 100% like a poor student.

Originally posted by mylau
My point is, if one is not willing to pay for the service, there should not be any complaining of salesman's attitude.

A valid point indeed. The sticky bit is: which comes first, the chicken or the egg? Do you pay, and then get good service, or get good service, and then pay? If I make enquiries as a customer, and you're willing to give me good service without any guarantees that I will buy, I will be happy to buy from you, even though you charge a bit more than the next guy.

The problem here, of course, is that everyone will take advantage of this. They will try this and try that, ask this and ask that, make their decision, THEN go round comparing prices and buy from the guy who gives the lowest quote. The one who attended to all their queries gets nothing. Is this fair? How many have gone to John 3:16 and done exactly that, but not bought anything?

On the other hand, mylau has ALREADY paid for future service through his purchase of the 1D, and there is a good chance he will buy more stuff, given his track record, so of course the AP people let him try everything. But of course not every customer is in that position.

I'm personally quite "price-sensitive" myself, ie I DO shop around for the best price. I see nothing wrong with that. The salesman's job is to win me over with BOTH price AND service. If your attitude stinks, I won't give you the satisfaction of taking my money, even if yours is the lowest price. My fortunate experience with AP is that they have satisfied me on both counts - their prices are one of the best in town, and their service is pretty good, at least where I am concerned.

Originally posted by JerChan
Went down to Alan Photo this afternoon after my lessons to enquire for the price of a Minolta Dimage 7i but was given the "I don't think you can afford it" treatment by this skinny guy who was way too engrossed in his newspapers to even bother to answer a customer's enquiries.

As I walked into the shop, the skinny sales person was so busy reading his newspapers that he ignored me when I asked him the price difference between a Dimage 7 and Dimage 7i. After browsing for a while, I saw a Pentax ME Super and enquired about it.

This sales person just glared at me and went back to reading his newspapers. I had to walk up to him and catch his attention before he gave me a very reluctant reply to my price enquiry.

However, when I enquired about the ME Super, he told me that it was not for sale and ignored my other questions by telling me to contact Pentax if I want to know more.

This is not the first time I had such a respond from them. Previously, when I was with another friend who was interested in getting a Fujifilm S1, we were told that we can only see the camera if we buy it. Else, we can only look at an empty box.

Is there some kind of a dress code that one must adhere to when patronizing Alan Photo? Cause I was in my school uniform when I patronized the shop.

Go to MS Color in AMK... sales ppl there are friendly. ;)

I've good and bad experiences at Alan Photo. Basically, it boils down to who you approach.

I have to agree that the skinny guy at AP gives horrible service. In the end I dealed with another guy (abt 1.6M, slightly plump) who provides much better service. Its surprising how service can be so different in the SAME shop! I didn't buy much, just a step-up ring and a hoya filter. Friendly service.

One thing I noticed though is that the language use somehow determines their attitude towards you. At first I enter the shop speaking English. Given the take it leave it attitude. But the moment I speak hokkien, things started to get friendly.:rolleyes:

Originally posted by Jango
I have to agree that the skinny guy at AP gives horrible service. In the end I dealed with another guy (abt 1.6M, slightly plump) who provides much better service. Its surprising how service can be so different in the SAME shop! I didn't buy much, just a step-up ring and a hoya filter. Friendly service.

One thing I noticed though is that the language use somehow determines their attitude towards you. At first I enter the shop speaking English. Given the take it leave it attitude. But the moment I speak hokkien, things started to get friendly.:rolleyes:

heh.. when they spoke hokkian to me 1st time i told them i cannot speak hokkian... I still get great service from them

not to bullsh|t, so far my stay in Singapore.. the best service I got is from a DBS bank , a handphone shop in toapayoh and Alan Photo..

Whenever I visit AP to spend some $, always try to look for HK or Steven. I find that HK do give a good price.

One thing I have to agree is that you must have some knowledge of what u r buying, try to search the net for info and specs. Go to the shops only if u r abt 80% sure of what u r gonna buy. Go there with the target that "I must spend my cold-hard-earned-cash today!". With that in mind, the way u handle things would be different....I think :D

Originally posted by Cyberian
Go to MS Color in AMK... sales ppl there are friendly. ;)

MS Color?! Please leh. Their prices are killer. :thumbsd:
Last time I bought my SLR from them, got "overcharged" :(

and develop film also so expensive and so many of my shots didn't turn out. :(

Will be heading down to Cathay Photo and maybe, Alan Photo again tomorrow after my field trip.Hopefully, I would get good services this time round.

Still intending to get a Minolta Dimage 7i, a IBM 1GB Smart Drive and a Hoya clear filter. Anyone knows where can I get a better price for the above named items?

Will be bringing both my ME Super and 35RC for repairs too. Hopefully, with my camera bag, I will look like I have "that" kind of spending power.