AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED

to be honest, i got this lens liao.
it's only good for travelling when u dont want to bring the big 2.8 mamas.

Seriously.. if you already have the lens.. then say something about it..

I used to own the 75-300 IS USM lenses, and it was good for more then just travelling.

So how about telling us something about the image quality and performance of the 70-300 AF-S VR.

cos i would like to hear what others say first b4 i shoot my 1 cent.

Why dont you shoot you 1 cent.. then let us listen and then judge. Maybe I will decide to buy it or not based on your observations?

The old 70-300 AF-D ED was a widely under-rated lens. But it was a wonderful lens to use and the images produced were awesome. Similarly to the plastic 80-200 f/4-5.6, widely under-rated and over shadowed by their 2.8 big-brothers.

i still love my 70-200 but of course, one's a porsche, the other is a evolution.
diff 'class' of lens altogether.

I have seen a 911 porsche lose out to the lancer evolution on the track.

Nothing is definite in the field.. only definite on paper.

i'm very 'scared' of being flamed nowadays.and i do not wish to get myself more professional trolls(quoting dp):bsmilie:

i'm just a newbie in digital photography, whatever i say no value one.
better let the oldbirds share with you guys better.dont let me cloud your judgement.

weight wise, it's good for travelling.it can slip easily into your lens pocket of your camera bag.
only thing is i dont like the front part of the lens extending out when zooming in.feels so sigma-ish.
afs, vr, no need to explain.speaks for itself.
now that i got this, it'll make me be lazy and not bring my 18-200 and 70-200 afs for travel.
image quality, let me take some real comparison pics before i post.:angel:

OOT:lancer win porsche?it depends on what model of porsche, and whether both are stock(unmodified)

i'm very 'scared' of being flamed nowadays.and i do not wish to get myself more professional trolls(quoting dp):bsmilie:

i'm just a newbie in digital photography, whatever i say no value one.
better let the oldbirds share with you guys better.dont let me cloud your judgement.

weight wise, it's good for travelling.it can slip easily into your lens pocket of your camera bag.
only thing is i dont like the front part of the lens extending out when zooming in.feels so sigma-ish.
afs, vr, no need to explain.speaks for itself.
now that i got this, it'll make me be lazy and not bring my 18-200 and 70-200 afs for travel.
image quality, let me take some real comparison pics before i post.:angel:

OOT:lancer win porsche?it depends on what model of porsche, and whether both are stock(unmodified)

It will be good to hear from a "newbie" as this lens is targetted at budget. The 70-200 is way out of many newbies budgets. So lets hear from you. Oldbirds make too much comparisons with prime lenses and all manual lenses.

Btw. and evolution lancer is definitely not stock (stock meaning a car that rolls of the main manufacturers assembly line for general public usage). so a lancer with an evo kit mod is not stock.. as for the porsch..as I said.. 911.

It will be good to hear from a "newbie" as this lens is targetted at budget. The 70-200 is way out of many newbies budgets. So lets hear from you. Oldbirds make too much comparisons with prime lenses and all manual lenses.

Btw. and evolution lancer is definitely not stock (stock meaning a car that rolls of the main manufacturers assembly line for general public usage). so a lancer with an evo kit mod is not stock.. as for the porsch..as I said.. 911.

chngpe is going to kill me for this oot post.but i have to say it.

evolution that rolls out of // imports or c&c are considered stock UNTIL you mod it.
911 also has a few variants.:sticktong

just post some pics.....let the folks here have their views...sit back and enjoy the show...:bsmilie:

cos i would like to hear what others say first b4 i shoot my 1 cent.

dun get overly hyped by it.
this lens is going to sell like hot cakes man.
but honestly, i'm not raising my hand for it.
i still love my 70-200 but of course, one's a porsche, the other is a evolution.
diff 'class' of lens altogether.

Evo.... quite good leh...

not cheap also... hehe

chngpe is going to kill me for this oot post.but i have to say it.

evolution that rolls out of // imports or c&c are considered stock UNTIL you mod it.
911 also has a few variants.:sticktong

Thats only for after EvoVII onwards IIRC.

As for the 70-300.. waiting to hear your comments and some sample pics.

Its out today at Lords..Try out today its good,but to bad me bought 18-200mm vr today there..Go grab them ASAP cause they said is limited too.

Pl.don't forget,. according to the manual ,this lens is incompatible to any type of Teleconverters!! So forget about getting 600mm by using 2X TC.!!!

Is it not compatible with Nikon teleconverter? Because the nikon teleconverter design is only for selected fast lens.

AFAIK, any lens is compatible with 3rd party teleconverter.

Arto.

not even the nikon 1.7x telecon ??.....:think: ...hmmmmm....

Thats what the Manual said !!! Have to wait and see if anyone try on it.
Nikon S'pore can verify or make clarification on this issue?

come on..... sample pics anyone?

a written review by owners of this lens will be appreciated....
thanks

yes it's true.it cant be fitted with the TC.i've tried it.

pics wise, if you guys can wait, weekends can?
i'm sure i'm not the only one who got the lens.

a few more trivials about the lens.

1)the focusing is not as fast as the 70-200vr.it could be psychological on my part though.
2)it hunts alot because there's no limiting switch like the 70-200 vr.
3)it has virtually no lens creep.i'm very glad nikon fixed it.my 18-200 creeps and i'm quite sure same goes for all 18-200.
4)the nikon 62mm filter hor...CANNOT MAKE IT AH!it doesnt even comes with a plastic case!just a cardboard box!piang eh!
5)lens is really light.it is really good for travelling...but light=plasticky.

another friend of mine who got it told me he tried 2 sets of it.
one which he tried VR motor got problem.when he lightly press to focus, he can virtually FEEL the VR motor on through his hand supporting the lens.wat's worse he said he could hear it.it's a small whining sound.he told the sales person and he concurred.
i guess the build of this lens really sucks.
for something less than 1k, to me it's ok.it definitely cannot be compared with the 70-200.no friggin way imho.

here's how it looks

me1.jpg

me21.jpg

at least the barrel looks even throughout when extended....not Sigma-ish...what abt when the hoods on ?:cool:

didnt take any pics on that, but basically it's a flower kind of hood.