7D6N Myanmar Discovery Photography Tour (Part 3)

tks.

this is the ugly signboard that reqd some work.
Well actually, Chempaka, I'd say you've done a great job with that piece of cloning.

not bad at all. now u hv just joined divinemoment where your photos' authenticities will always be questioned...hahahaha

Aw, come come my friend, don't we all? Hehehe... as stated previously in Part 1 or Part 2,
some of us one-hand-one-leg, some of us two-hands-two-legs, many of us few-hands-few-legs...
As LowLights summarised it succintly, DHL - Do-Hands-Legs!

... Continuing where we left off...

T R A V E L O G U E

Day 6 - Roaming The Streets of Yangon at Night.

Our good Acpical, Summerling and HahaTan themselves went off to shoot the Shwedagon Pagoda in the evening after dinner.
And what shots they have achieved! I am sure we are all awaiting more of that scene which many of us missed.
As for the rest of us, we did what was deemed right of a hardcore photographer - explore the streets of Yangon at night.

We were pleasantly surprised to find the area that we were staying in, a sort of a Little India in Yangon.
Surrounded by Bogyoke Aung San Road and Anawrahtta Road, the whole place was a most colourful area which came alive at night.
The food, the sights and the unique flavour of this place captured by many of my more seasoned travelmates certainly made this walk a rewarding one.

limwhow #258

A left turn and another left turn from Traders Hotel's front door brought us to Bogyoke Aung San Road, the main thoroughfare that leads to Bogyoke Market.
Here Kernik, Tazzie21 and cyapwoon led the way on this expedition...
5398084609_9c296bc571_b.jpg

limwhow #259

And here is the exact position A which the above picture was taken.
5397914869_1b3c21715b_b.jpg

limwhow #260
Of course, here the fun group are all bunched up together right at the start of our walk.
Inside the photo: SereneXMM, Tazzie21, Chempaka, LowLights, Kernik, Cecil and our Scotsman ColinS.
5398086029_9aabd11757_b.jpg

So many shops along the main Bogyoke Aung San Road and along the small deeper, darker lanes in between...
Here is a Theme in Shops.

limwhow #261
We walked past the small lane and saw this couple closing there stall and close up shop...
5401176632_77c3c00297_b.jpg

limwhow #262
... and the contrast of a shop owner in silhouette and the talkers outside in the light...
5401228746_2d149d6a9a_b.jpg

limwhow #263

... and the thirst for knowledge was apparent on the streets of Yangon...
5400672637_137b743e16_b.jpg

limwhow said:
Hey, a very warm welcome to you, Learnphotography!
Well, if you happen to examine very closely, you could see that beneath the white hairs and wrinkled faces, we are all very very young.
Look at my profile - I am still 20 years old at heart.
Trust me. When one travels with this bunch of fellow, one will forever feel like, think like, behave like, walk like, eat like and sleep like a 20 year old! :thumbsup:

together with limwhow, welcome to this thread. feel free to poke these seasoned photographer and they will be more than happy to show you the ropes!;)

chempaka said:
chempaka #81 - Inle Resort, Heho

sorry to back-track - here're 2 on reflection

http://www.flickr.com/photos/21885507@N05/5366562520/
I

#82 - Inle Lake
http://www.flickr.com/photos/21885507@N05/5366040658/
very nice blue sky and reflection! swee!!!

chempaka said:
chempaka #85 - streets of Yangoon

for the eagle-eyed, the huge "Bossini" signboard has been cloned out.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/21885507@N05/5369115538/
indeed hidden tiger crouching dragon(s).. cloning away the bo seng li with such skill!

ha ha. Don't always think I know alot. Everytime in photography trip, you notice I asked alot of stupid questions.

Kopi - only learn how to crop.
Latte - clone
Beer - Levels
Wine - Curve

Other than that, don't know liow.

Joke lah, can share, no problem. Just find time to meet. I also need to learn new things, so don't need to worry next trip got sun or no sun, got rain or no rain, got snow or no snow.

haha. your questions were not stupid, they were chim..very chim...:bsmilie:

So many shops along the main Bogyoke Aung San Road and along the small deeper, darker lanes in between...
Here is a Theme in Shops.

limwhow #261
We walked past the small lane and saw this couple closing there stall and close up shop...
5401176632_77c3c00297_b.jpg

limwhow #262
... and the contrast of a shop owner in silhouette and the talkers outside in the light...
5401228746_2d149d6a9a_b.jpg

limwhow #263

... and the thirst for knowledge was apparent on the streets of Yangon...
5400672637_137b743e16_b.jpg

Very interesting shops !! ah, now i sit back and enjoy your photos...cos i was too lazy to go out that evening...haha

Wow, so many good shots since I last posted...too many to list. And if I list, sure miss out some pics.

Me just finished pp Bagan :sweat:

Very interesting shops !! ah, now i sit back and enjoy your photos...cos i was too lazy to go out that evening...haha
The titles are hilarious. Love the #1 pic. Very rustic.

Wow, so many good shots since I last posted...too many to list. And if I list, sure miss out some pics.

Come come, acpical!
Come come!
We all waiting for you very long liao.

The titles are hilarious. Love the #1 pic. Very rustic.

you are right, that's my favourite too :)

Er.. why, thank you, Gentlemen!
Terrible photos with terrible titles lah...

acpical said:

come! we are all waiting for you. show the the shots of shwedagon revisited!

Something caught my eye in Ananda
5401382760_e1271d63d8_b.jpg

Another subject that caught my eye
5401386354_8ae3c98c78_b.jpg

Buddhist devotees
5401385306_e42ed68909_b.jpg

Ananda Pahto
5400788719_5dc796f903_b.jpg

Divinemoment makes his way back to Htilominlo
5400790677_90c9d6c0fb_b.jpg

Chubbykei with her abducted toddler
5400791727_6005157a03_b.jpg

Musician at our dinner in Bagan
5400793319_9d07c3ac63_b.jpg

Something caught my eye in Ananda
5401382760_e1271d63d8_b.jpg
So cute! Hahaha... spying on you lah, acpical!

Another subject that caught my eye
5401386354_8ae3c98c78_b.jpg
Wrong!
It's you who caught her eyes.
If you were to go back to Ananda Temple today, you will find her still standing under the tall arch of one of the chambers, quietly and patiently still waiting for you.

Ananda Pahto
5400788719_5dc796f903_b.jpg

Hmmm... this one surely it's the subject who caught your eyes.
The temple merely acts as a compliment. :bsmilie:

Dogs wait for scraps in Mahagondayon Monastery
5401396380_4fdeb79fe4_b.jpg

Finishing a meal
5400797871_e1b237ca1a_b.jpg

I wonder just what he is thinking about
5400799625_f278f54246_b.jpg

Just monks - for a lack of title
5400801021_41bb5fb7a4_b.jpg

Letter from home?
5401403014_3450f8eb22_b.jpg

對牛彈琴
5400803721_88628b9395_b.jpg

Life's a toil
5401416122_0efe89cf31_b.jpg

But they are too young to know
5400817037_d9cb6ce5a6_b.jpg

Divinemoment makes his way back to Htilominlo
5400790677_90c9d6c0fb_b.jpg
Acpical, this one is a most fantastic shot.
A most fantastic shot.
Allow me to say something to you - throughout the whole trip in Myanmar, I have been dreaming of and visualising a shot exactly like this.
But alas, I have failed to capture anything remotely close to this.
But here you have accomplished a shot that was close to my heart by not meant to be for me.
Well done, my friend. Well done!

Chubbykei with her abducted toddler
5400791727_6005157a03_b.jpg
... practising and getting ready, perhaps, Chubbykei yah?
Lovely expression and spontaneity of the moment.
This is the work of a great Record Photographer.

對牛彈琴
5400803721_88628b9395_b.jpg

Life's a toil
5401416122_0efe89cf31_b.jpg

But they are too young to know
5400817037_d9cb6ce5a6_b.jpg

And Goodness me, when have you started becoming so philosophical?
Must have been too much of Daoyin rubbing off on you, you think? Hahaha...!

Great, great...
We have more photos from everybody coming liao...
As my fellow partners post their shots, I will just humtum some of my record shots.
Now on this Night Walk in Yangon, all my fellow shooters have loads of photos taken in films, in B&W films, with prime lenses...
... and all are established street shooters.
Please share with us all your shots of the specific subjects while I just introduce the surrounding to the thread.

Day 6 - ... Of Hindu Temples and Mosque!

Marvellous!
Smack right in the centre of Yangon, after so many days of Buddhist temples and Buddhist temples, we finally came upon Hindu temples and Indian Mosques.
(Of course, the next morning will see us seeing Catholic churches, but that, is for the next day...)

limwhow #264
We walked not far down from our hotel, and we came to this beautiful Hindu Temple.
Our good Scotsman and I went in. But he was much more patient - he went saying hello to the caretaker inside and took lots of pictures.
Me? I just walked one round and came out. Cecil and Kernik were waiting and shooting outside.
5398689802_c0cae75e93_b.jpg

limwhow #265

Very soon after that we came to an Indian Mosque.
Here is a frontal view.
5400864805_1d7e17bc03_b.jpg

limwhow #266
... and here is a side view of the Indian Mosque.
5400208655_cb3393e406_b.jpg

limwhow #267
And after some time walking down Bogyoke Aung San Road, we turned left and came to another parallel road, the Anawrahta Road.
Here we saw amongst other very interesting road side stalls and shops and eateries, another Hindu Temple.
5401402336_9fd4fa0375_b.jpg

Day 6 - Of the Ground and Ground-related activities...

It's a long, great, snaking Pasar Malam here. Curving from one lane to another.
Many a transaction is conducted on the ground level.
And indeed many an activity takes place right here on the floor.

limwhow #268
5398688810_8348b1e7bd_b.jpg

limwhow #269
5400524734_2d4b447335_b.jpg

limwhow #270
5399926547_24b3246a14_b.jpg

limwhow #271
5401024455_1084c756fb_b.jpg

limwhow #272

5401670416_047745fb1e_b.jpg

Day 6 - Of Staircases and Staircases-related gawking...

For us, seeing stretches after stretches of staircases leading from narrow openings in the walls of the buildings leading straight up in a seemingly endless way
was a little more than our brain could comprehend.
Who better then those who were closely related to the industry, to stare at these feats of architectural wonders, and to be amazed.

limwhow #273
The whole night, LowLights, Kernik and myself we were gazing into tunnels after tunnels of staircases.
There was one that even, at the top of the third floor, curved at an unbelievable 90 degree right angle into the right!
What marvellously skinny people the Burmese are!
Here, LowLights and Tazzie21 were seen enjoying yet another staircase...
5401160519_809a1a3b4c_b.jpg

limwhow #274
Well, nothing special.
Just Burmese staircase for our information.
My photos do them no justice. Ask LowLights and kernik...
5401758596_c4ab01e79a_b.jpg

limwhow #275
Another turn into Anawrahta Road. And here, at the corner of a roadside stall, we caught side of yet another Burmese feat.
5401785310_85e415b0ea_b.jpg

Day 6 - Of Food and Activities of Food Preparation...

Whew... it's food galore on the streets of Yangon.
Interesting food, some familiar to us, some totally unfamiliar.
Anyone of you guys ate anything that night?

limwhow #276
5401883500_4acd230062_b.jpg

limwhow #277
5401890800_7a19248d51_b.jpg

limwhow #278
Daoyin called out to me: "Hey limwhow, look at that old sugarcane squeezing machine! Quick, take a shot of that as the wheel turns to capture its movement!"
Obediently I did.
Hmmm... haven't seen these ever since I was a young child...
5401315139_399fc93cc0_b.jpg