7D6N Myanmar Discovery Photography Tour (Part 2)

Don't like that lah. Don't let what other post stop you from sharing yours. Your photos are really quite nice.

For those who haven't got a chance to look at acpical's pbase collection, they are really good. Somehow he just didn't get to post them. We must all encourage him to share. :)

Common on, Acpical. Think of army days. Push on, push on. No pp never mind. SK1968 can do for you.

hello, i believe u hv not seen his photos. his PP is good, better than mine ok ?

Wei acpical!
I three days three night never see you on the thread already liao!
Cannot!
You how tired also must 意思意思 humtum a couple of shots mah.
Come! Suppork Suppork!

Wei...wait other viewers sue you for mis-representation! Anyway, it's Picasa, not pbase, so the quality is worse. Uploading a few later.

Thank you sister. I have been enjoying your pictures too. Especially of the beautifully taken Da Da.:thumbsup:
Thank you, bro. My Da Da is looking too young. How ah?:sweatsm::think:

Wei...wait other viewers sue you for mis-representation! Anyway, it's Picasa, not pbase, so the quality is worse. Uploading a few later.

haha, gee, i really thought i saw them on your pbase...i co*k-eyed...haha

These kids at the stopover village were the happiest. Genuinely happy and friendly. Good capture:thumbsup: Gosh... I am missing Myanmar already!

Kudos to summerling who dash across the busy road back to the team bus to retrieve cookies for these kids :thumbsup:
Thank you bro. But we are missing you already! Keke.:bsmilie:
Haha. Yah, kudos to 什么ling for her kindness.:angel:

Here is one more from low
5384773280_2e5a4424a4_b.jpg

5384774970_aa4a2cd100_b.jpg

5384773622_2505a6b1d2_b.jpg

A girl at Nyang U market. This was taken the first time I saw her by her family's stall. I thought I would try again when I returned. But she was intimidated by my big gun the second time and didn't cooperate.
5384215367_096c36a2fa_z.jpg

Siblings in the Nyang U market.
5384821590_fd5278189e_z.jpg

Washing up in the Irrawaddy River
5384823072_0df18baaa9_z.jpg

My rendition of our early Bagan morning. Since I couldn't pp a good sunrise, a b/w version
5384224485_ca7f25ef5c_z.jpg

Every night after work when I login to read so many pages and outstanding pictures, I am too tired to pp and upload already...
Chay, what an excuse!:bsmilie::sticktong

A girl at Nyang U market. This was taken the first time I saw her by her family's stall. I thought I would try again when I returned. But she was intimidated by my big gun the second time and didn't cooperate.
5384215367_096c36a2fa_z.jpg

Siblings in the Nyang U market.
5384821590_fd5278189e_z.jpg

Washing up in the Irrawaddy River
5384823072_0df18baaa9_z.jpg

My rendition of our early Bagan morning. Since I couldn't pp a good sunrise, a b/w version
5384224485_ca7f25ef5c_z.jpg
Finally, more pictures from you! Great, great, sayang sayang!:bsmilie:

Let me attempt to answer you about the IR thingy.
All the IR photos you saw on this thread were taken with IR-mod cameras (limwhow, SereneXMM, LowLights and mine). The cameras were actually sent for modification. The IR-cut filters infront of the sensors have been replaced with an IR filter instead. There are several types of IR filters but ours are mainly R72 and ELP

What's ELP and where do you get a camera modified?

Hello K3N! ELP is Edmund Long Pass filter at 680nm cut off.
You may ask our friend Fatigue to mod the camera.
Many cameras are being modded by him.
But he is very busy.:D

Great, great!
I see that you guys are all posting up more pictures of the monks in Mahagondayon Monastery,
and also I see Chempaka and cyapwoon putting up shots of that brief but very meaningful little 10-minute stop at the river side.

Let me just move on a little bit here...

T R A V E L O G U E

Day 4 - Mandalay: En Route to Sagaing Hill
Lunch at Ko's Kitchen Thai Restaurant Mandalay.

Well, our stomachs are calling.
The coach brought us to this Thai restaurant somewhere in Mandalay.

limwhow #155
5380332883_c3da3abccb_b.jpg

limwhow #156
And here... haha... our table was exciting because LowLights was so powerful that the glass on the table
below his left elbow suddenly emitted a loud CRACK and it actually cracked right across the corner.
After that incidence, my respect for LowLight's power :thumbsup: and I dare not chok-chok him too much already.
Kernik and FreeEasy and SereneXMM all know. Because they were all at the same table too!
5380714675_e42420ccce_b.jpg

GPS TRACK OF OUR TOUR OF MANDALAY

Some of our team members have asked me during the trip what can my Garmin Oregon 450 GPS do.
Well, what I like about it is it allows me to track exactly the point where we were at any one time. And often times, I don't know where but when I am back I can always look up Google Earth to check out where we are.
Here we can all see the few Waypoints - restaurants, hotels, sights, road-side-stop, Sagaing Hill, etc etc. where they are with respect to each other.
I makes the trip so much more meaningful.
At least it does to me.
Not to mention that I Geotag every single one of my photos every night when I am back in the hotel and sync my GPS with my laptop...

limwhow #157

5384397951_2ace743e35_b.jpg

limwhow #157b
Just for the fun of it, I identified the exact coordinates for the Cave of the 30 Buddhas at Sagaing Hill and map it to my Google Earth.
Here is the satellite view. The insert is an enlarged view of the exact temple we were at.
Looks so much more interesting now that we see the whole temple this way... from the top.
It becomes easier for us to relate what we have seen on the ground with this satellite view.
5385073160_7077cecc02_b.jpg

Actually, had it not been for my GPS Track showing clearly all of us crossing the Ayeryawaddy River en route to Sagaing Hill,
I wouldn't even have know that we actually did so...
Strange... I don't remember going up a bridge en route to Sagaing yah... Must have been dozing off, me...

T R A V E L O G U E

After lunch, we were all set and ready for another destination to cheong...
Melvin announced to us:
"Ladies and Gentlemen, as you all have been so enthusiatic, I have arranged for Ko Ko Aye to bring us to an extra destination not listed in our itinerary - Sagaing Hill. It is where we all can see the Cave of the 30 Buddhas"
Day 4 - Mandalay: Sagaing Hill

Small bit of info from Wikipedia
Located on the Ayeryawaddy River, 20 km to the southwest of Mandalay on the opposite bank of the river, Sagaing with numerous Buddhist Monastery is an important religious and monastic center. The pagodas and monasteries crowd the numerous hills along the ridge running parallel to the river.
Sagaing was the capital of Sagaing Kingdom (1315–1364), one of the minor kingdoms that rose up after the fall of Bagan Dynasty.

Well, the temple that we are going to is U Min Thonze Cave (Cave of the 30 Buddhas).
We really didn't know what to expect before we arrived there.
But now, in retrospect, we really had loads of fun up here at Sagaing Hill...

limwhow #158
5384312195_0e5d608eba_b.jpg

limwhow #159
5384918038_0a0a95a85e_b.jpg

limwhow #160
5384315227_40daac5fa5_b.jpg

limwhow #161

5384921242_deeff3f7b6_b.jpg

limwhow #162
5384922898_23409c6bf6_b.jpg

Well, so we have all finally arrived at Sagaing Hill.
I know you guys have beautiful and fun shots here at Sagaing Hill Cave of the 30 Buddhas.
OK... fire away Ladies and Gentlemen!

SereneXMM #18
5380699694_ac5123bf32_b.jpg

SereneXMM #19
5380817100_09aba540af_b.jpg

SereneXMM #20
At the highest point of the cave of the thirty Buddhas, we all suddenly looked into chubbykei's eyes and started shooting.....

5380832290_d8f981c430_b.jpg

Let me attempt to answer you about the IR thingy.
All the IR photos you saw on this thread were taken with IR-mod cameras (limwhow, SereneXMM, LowLights and mine). The cameras were actually sent for modification. The IR-cut filters infront of the sensors have been replaced with an IR filter instead. There are several types of IR filters but ours are mainly R72 and ELP Modifying the cameras allows us to take IR photos heldheld and possibility to compose our photos through the viewfinders. As to the photos you see. They can be either really close to that coming out from the cam or PP-ed. The most common PP is often just a Red-Blue channel swap (such as mine) while the more elaborate ones (such as those from limwhow and SereneXMM) can result in very interesting look. Hope my simple explanation helps.
Very well-answered, Sk1968. You are the man, man!
Larlarloo, there you go. SK1968 has expertly given all of us an in-depth run through of IR modified cameras in an easy to understand way. :thumbsup:
Hello K3N! ELP is Edmund Long Pass filter at 680nm cut off.
You may ask our friend Fatigue to mod the camera.
Many cameras are being modded by him.
But he is very busy.:D
Um, once the camera is mod already, is there anyway of coming back or it can no longer be back to normal? Thanks in advance :)