5Dmk2 $3.3k with GST

Cameras have become a symbol of status.

I know of a secondary student a few years ago. At that point of time, he wanted to buy a Canon camera and so he asked his dad to sponsor it. The dad asked the salesman what is the latest and best Canon camera, so 1D mk II was bought at $6,000++. He told the man, money is not an issue, if I want to buy, I will only buy the best.

Students nowsdays compared among themselves on what they have, and not on the photos, said one of my friend who is a secondary school teacher. One student told his friends that his dad bought him a 1D mk IV, so what did you have or what did your dad buy for you?

That's why we can see that students carry 1-series and 5D mk II and so on. This is so common nowadays. There is no need to be alarmed.

There are those students and there are the students like my friends and I.

We love our gear, yes, undoubtedly, but to us it is/was a reward for doing well etc. And we also maximise its use, and compare shots.

SO are you a new/ old 5d2 user?

Relax Bro. There is absolutely nothing wrong for a student to own the most expensive camera gear. Whether to show off or to take nice photos is up to each individual.

What I am trying to say is that there is no need to be surprised or taken aback to see students carrying 1-series or 5D mk II, etc. Time has changed. Owning photographic equipment during schooling is not something unachievable comparing to last time.

Relax Bro. There is absolutely nothing wrong for a student to own the most expensive camera gear. Whether to show off or to take nice photos is up to each individual.

What I am trying to say is that there is no need to be surprised or taken aback to see students carrying 1-series or 5D mk II, etc. Time has changed. Owning photographic equipment during schooling is not something unachievable comparing to last time.

in my days... carrying a handphone to sch is a wooooooo liao...

I agree bro, but times are changing, last time in school, pagers were the 'in' thing, saved up over a few jobs before can get one.... now i want to get this blasted 5d also must save up over few months before can get.... if only i was born later, haha...

my time..got pager (if our younger friends here knows what it is) damn steady already.

Enjoy your gear and take more nice photos.

My time was the pager & zone phone time. if you own one, you are literally superstart in school already, hahaha......

Oops, that sort of revealed my age.

I just called Lord's for a quote... 5DMII body only for $3120. (incl GST). They have ready stock too.

Bro, wrong price lah... It's $3210.. They said many people called and quote this $3120 which they saw on the internet.. haha!

haha ripple effect!

btw, anybody knows what is the price for canon extended warranty for 5DMKII (assume that i immediately registers online)? :)

haha ripple effect!

btw, anybody knows what is the price for canon extended warranty for 5DMKII (assume that i immediately registers online)? :)

350 SGD

a mth before warranty ends 400

my time..got pager (if our younger friends here knows what it is) damn steady already.

Enjoy your gear and take more nice photos.

sigh... i own my first pager ONLY when i started working...

darn my bonus amt just confirmed... this is tempting...

Cameras have become a symbol of status.

I know of a secondary student a few years ago. At that point of time, he wanted to buy a Canon camera and so he asked his dad to sponsor it. The dad asked the salesman what is the latest and best Canon camera, so 1D mk II was bought at $6,000++. He told the man, money is not an issue, if I want to buy, I will only buy the best.

Students nowsdays compared among themselves on what they have, and not on the photos, said one of my friend who is a secondary school teacher. One student told his friends that his dad bought him a 1D mk IV, so what did you have or what did your dad buy for you?

That's why we can see that students carry 1-series and 5D mk II and so on. This is so common nowadays. There is no need to be alarmed.

if i have a son, i will ask him to go fly kite if he ask me to buy him a camera.

i believe most people will only achieve something if they travel the hard way.

think the younger generation is spoilt by material gds that come too easily. going soft .

if i have a son, i will ask him to go fly kite if he ask me to buy him a camera.

i believe most people will only achieve something if they travel the hard way.

That's the old school of thought.

New kids on the block will ask you what do I get if I score As for my examinations. If you tell him you go and fly kite, he will be demoralised, unmotivated, etc. And when he goes to school and realised that his classmate's father bought him a EOS 5D mk II because he scored As in the examinations, he will be further devastated. My friend who is a secondary school teacher has noticed this trend in the new generation.

That's the old school of thought.

New kids on the block will ask you what do I get if I score As for my examinations. If you tell him you go and fly kite, he will be demoralised, unmotivated, etc. And when he goes to school and realised that his classmate's father bought him a EOS 5D mk II because he scored As in the examinations, he will be further devastated. My friend who is a secondary school teacher has noticed this trend in the new generation.

this is the fault of the parents, not the child. Nothing about new kids on the block. Why the kids today behave in this " pattern" is a result of indiscipline by their parents , who coincidentally are the ones lamenting about the materialistic attitude of the new generation.

kinda cute rite?

this is the fault of the parents, not the child. Nothing about new kids on the block. Why the kids today behave in this " pattern" is a result of indiscipline by their parents , who coincidentally are the ones lamenting about the materialistic attitude of the new generation.

kinda cute rite?

Ya, you can say that, and you may be right.

But can do you stop it?

Ya, you can say that, and you may be right.

But can do you stop it?

why challenge me? I'm just pointing out a fallacy in ur argument. And yes, there are parents who know how to bring up children, fyi. Dun assume that your fren has seen all there is to be seen or you know how best to ( or not to ) bring up children.