550D start sell next week

Called Canon Sale Hotline. Was told it will be launched in March/ April. NO Official Date yet. Ask me to look out in the newspaper for the release.

saw it @ hk store.. and they are selling it already.

sian, why why why??? but i really believe it won't be long til 550D lands in sg. i hope to get the BG + spare batt at the same time.

Called Canon Sale Hotline. Was told it will be launched in March/ April. NO Official Date yet. Ask me to look out in the newspaper for the release.

sian, why why why??? but i really believe it won't be long til 550D lands in sg. i hope to get the BG + spare batt at the same time.

I am not surprise. from the announced date until on shelf 2 month is consider normal, for Singapore.
Usually Singapore is slower in this. Refer to the past for 500D.
Just be patient

so 500D took about 2 mths after launch in japan to launch in sg...?

I just want the 550D to get out faster so that I can get 500D at a lower price :bsmilie:

lol...now the 500D selling for 100 bucks cheaper already right? man, i want the 550D to be out soon so i can get my hands on it. if only the 60D comes out along with it then i can do a comparison. zzz...but i think im going for the smaller build since i travel a lot with my family. and its super retarded to take out a chunky thing in the middle of a dining table. and since i do a lot of street, i prefer the quieter shutter sound and smaller (translates less attention seeking) set up. 550D + 50 f/1.8II...nobody wld suspect anything. haha!

called cathay just now and was told they have no idea when 550D wld arrive in sg. damn.

Meh, my guess is just before IT Show.

thats juz nxt week thurs...nice! i believe when it is first launched in sg the price sure damn high. gonna hold on and tahan abit first. he he he.....u getting the new battery grip? it looks really fitting. http://a.img-dpreview.com/previews/CanonEOS550D/images/grip3.jpg
the reason why i sold my 50D's grip is because the connection is not reliable. and that is a known problem thru out the xxD grips. oh well, i seriously hope canon has vastly improved their design. 7D's grip seems solid, so hope the 550D keeps in line with those standards since its the "baby 7D". oh man, can't wait to get my hands on it. but i think i'd have to get used to the much more simplified/LCD-based display.

thats juz nxt week thurs...nice! i believe when it is first launched in sg the price sure damn high. gonna hold on and tahan abit first. he he he.....u getting the new battery grip? it looks really fitting. http://a.img-dpreview.com/previews/CanonEOS550D/images/grip3.jpg
the reason why i sold my 50D's grip is because the connection is not reliable. and that is a known problem thru out the xxD grips. oh well, i seriously hope canon has vastly improved their design. 7D's grip seems solid, so hope the 550D keeps in line with those standards since its the "baby 7D". oh man, can't wait to get my hands on it. but i think i'd have to get used to the much more simplified/LCD-based display.

why are you so keen on the 550D when you have the 50D. i dont see how the 50D is inferior to the 550D

I think you misread my earlier posts :bsmilie:

I'm hoping for the 500D to drop to 450D prices after 550D is released so that I can get it. :p

why are you so keen on the 550D when you have the 50D. i dont see how the 50D is inferior to the 550D

there's only 3 things that the 50D is inferior to 550D: IQ, Video, ISO performance. other than video, IQ + ISO performance appeals to me a lot. but now you've gotten me to stop and think again....

I'm hoping for the 500D to drop to 450D prices after 550D is released so that I can get it. :p

Lol i see.

IMO i don't think the 500D prices would drop quite significantly, given it had a $100 price drop already in December.

FYI a higher megapixel count does not make the IQ better. http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=654008

aiyo no la, its the higher ISO performance. its able to perform well at iso 3200. but then again, i ask myself: "do i really need it??".

now im thinking hard. real hard. do i need all those things like:
1) iso 3200
2) HD video
3) better color metering

gee...i love the size of the 550D, but i know when we remove all the gimmicks and decors, its not on par with the 50D when we are talking abt the basics of a camera. i understand that the xxxD series respond slower etc.

oh well...a more sensible upgrade wld be to the 60D.

aiyo no la, its the higher ISO performance. its able to perform well at iso 3200. but then again, i ask myself: "do i really need it??".

now im thinking hard. real hard. do i need all those things like:
1) iso 3200
2) HD video
3) better color metering

gee...i love the size of the 550D, but i know when we remove all the gimmicks and decors, its not on par with the 50D when we are talking abt the basics of a camera. i understand that the xxxD series respond slower etc.

oh well...a more sensible upgrade wld be to the 60D.

haha. Auden you can wait with me till the 60D comes! That’s what i’m waiting for.

In truth the iFCL colour metering is a gamble. It’s faster yes, but sometimes it gets it so horribly wrong. Digital Camera Magazine’s 7D review noted in some shots it got the exposure complete wrong by 2-3 stops!!

Fake Chuck Westfall also noted the 7D’s sensor has inferior low ISO to the 40D and even the 450D!

I’m really hoping for a miracle with the 60D thou...