4月13日2008年

解放。快乐。

Edited-9399w1.jpg

"Letting go. Joy"

Another Sunday.
A day of mood confusion for many.
A day before the usual Monday Blues.
A day in our precious weekend.
Well, my saturday is burnt by work and drenched by the rain.
So, i choose the latter.
Precious day for me.

As usual, woke up earlier than most people, especially on a lazy sunday.
Went for a sumptuous breakfast of hot and delicious economic bee hoon and a cup of Kopi.

And off i went for my street shoot with my Tokina 12-24mm. Inspired by night86mare bro's
Street shots with Ultra Wide Angle Lens.

Hmm, mood is kinda damped. Damped and damned by the stress from work i guess.

So i started off from Raffle's place MRT and tried to look for some interesting stuff for my journal.
As mentioned, mood is not there and wanted to end my walk at City Hall.

But something told me to just walk on. To Bugis.

And so i walked on.

Reached Bugis and walked past most of the stores without given a glance to them. I have my share of shopping spree when i was young and didn't know how to spend my money properly.

And i found it.

A dose of happiness that somehow brighten up my mood.

A few kids were playing water at the hmm, fountain i guess.

And it was here where i noticed something.

A lot of people are watching. In fact, captivated.

Adults and Kids. Including me.

Before i took the shot, i was looking at the people around the fountain.

Some were smiling, Some were quiet but in deep thoughts, Some pulled back their kids not to go too close to the fountain.

But their eyes never left the kids playing at the fountain.

It's like, inside their sub conscious mind, they could be thinking
" How i wish i can play like them!"/
"When was the last time i really let go and have real fun like this"/
"Manz, it would be so fun to play with the water under the hot and humid weather.."
and the list may go on...

But the logical part of the mind came in and overwrite the thinkings with
"Cannot la, later go where to change clothes wor?"/
"Buay sia la, wait my handphone wet, spoil sia"/
"The water so dirty, better don't let ah boy and ah girl get wet. I cannot take leave to take care of them if they are sick. Boss will kill me."

And the list most likely is longer than the sub conscious one.

And so, everyone stand there and watched. Including me.

Yes, i am not the type who dare to go up to shoot directly at the kids when their parents were around for fear of the parents scolding me. Especially without a long zoom lens.

Wait, fear?

Nah, i need to let go too.

So i went up, snap at least 30 shots at continuous mode for myself.

For my own joy and satisfaction.

So, when will you let go of your logics/fear and do something for the first time or didn't do for a long time?

But i didn't play in the fountain of course. A little dose of joy and satisfaction is enough for me.

And i got to go. Before the rain comes.

Damp and Damn.

your apad is like a photo blog....great stuff.

4月19日2008年

停。。。
想。。。
走。

Edited-9438w.jpg

"Stop...
Think...
Go."

停

停,是为了遵守规则。
个人规则?
生活规则?
社会规则?
游戏规则?
大家认可的规则?

Stop, for the sake for obeying rules.
Rules of your own?
Rules of Life?
Rules of the Society?
Rules of the Game?
Rules that are Recognized by Everyone?

想

想,改变规则
改变自己?
改变生活?
改变社会?
改变游戏?
改变大家?

能不能冒险?
敢不敢?
需不需要?
必要吗?

我会怎么样?
生活会怎么样?
大家会怎么样?

Think. of Changing the Rules.
Change Ourselves?
Change Life Styles?
Change the Society?
Change the Game?
Change Everyone?

Can i Risk?
Dare or not?
Necessary?
Need?

What will happen to me?
What will happen to my lifestyle?
What will happen to everyone?

走

走吧!
绿灯了!还想!
再不走,又转红灯了。
别再钻牛角尖了!

反正生命的红绿灯多的是。
下一个不远的路口再想吧。

Hey, Move On!
It's Time to Go, Stop Thinking!
Go, before the Lights turn Red again.
Stop Wasting Your Time!

There are a lot of junctions in Life.
Think at the next nearest junction.​

照片的文字是为了配合主题。
黑色的文字,代表现实。
白色的文字,代表梦想。
现实,摆放在他被指定走的路。
梦想,摆放在他不该走的位置。
这也意味着,这梦想的位置有可能有危险。
但是,没车子,他该走吗?

The placement of the words in the photo is to suit the title.
Words in black, represent reality.
Words in white, represent dreams.
Reality, is located in the pedestrian path he should be taking.
Dreams, on the other hand, is located out of the path.
This also means, anywhere otherside the path is dangerous as it is meant for cars.
However, there is no car, should he take the risk and jay walk?

i like the way you placed the words on the road..
did some treatment (lomo) to make the focus more on the central part of the picture..
hope ya don't mind me doing the edits.. :)

let me know what you think, ya? -smile smile-

Lomoedited9438w.jpg

i like the way you placed the words on the road..
did some treatment (lomo) to make the focus more on the central part of the picture..
hope ya don't mind me doing the edits.. :)

let me know what you think, ya? -smile smile-

Lomoedited9438w.jpg

hehe, thanks.

Oh, i wanted to do something like this to bring out the focus since WA street shots were never easy to focus on 1 person.

However, i worry the PP will be over done. so i stick to vignetting effect lor.

But then, please keep it here. No harm done! ;p

Once again, very nice posting from you.

love your photos, good luck for your everyday project! :)

4月26日2008年

心锁

Edited-9512.jpg

"Heart Lock"

每个人都有把锁。
这锁在一个可能自己都不知道的地方。

在心里。

要找到它,
只有一个方法。

你必须开心或愤怒。

这把锁独特的地方在于,
当你开心时,它会越来越松。
当你愤怒时,它会越来越紧。

想要完全解开它,
也只有一个方法。

你必须完全放弃愤怒。

你找到你的开心密码了吗?

Everyone has a lock.
And this lock exist in a place that we ourselves may not know.
In our Heart.

In order to find it,
there is only one way.

You must either be happy or angry.

The uniqueness of this lock lies here,
When you are happy, it will loosen.
When you are angry, it will tighen.

And in order to break this lock,
there is also only one way.

You have to give up your anger completely.

Have you found the happy code to unlock it?

Went back to office today to catch up some work. :confused:
Knock off at 3 and head to town to get some stuffs (BBB) cos i have to work at home on sunday.

Nothing seems to catch my eyes while i was in Bugis area to do my BBB.
Until i saw this number lock.

I won't say it is special or anything, but it does gives me an inspiration to come up with this shots and writeup.

Took it with my 35mm f2. Note, the focus point is on err, lock hole? That's why the numbers are kinda OOF.

The writeup is to express how we often dwell on our anger and make ourselves unhappy.
And the only way to be happy, is to let go of our anger.
Simple as that. :D

5月1日2008年

City View...From one of the poorest residential area in Singapore.

DSC_9553w.jpg

Meeting The Oracle Bro today to collect my 70-200 f2.8 VR (Wohoo, finally collected my first piece of Nikon Zoom Trinity).

But set off early cos i want to have a nice breakfast at the coffee shop near my house. (which didn't turn out so well cos i woke up kinda late and my favourite ingredients for the economic bee hoon is sold out.:()

Well, as most of you guys who bought stuffs from Oracle before, his workplace is in China town and so i head to China Town for a short walkabout shoot with my 12-24 Tokina and my latest purchased Kenko Pro 1 Digital CPL from TK.

The initial target was to try out if CPL works well for HDR (seriously, i should name mine Tone Mapping, as what lastboltnut bro mentioned).

Thus, as usual, i walk and walk.

By the way, the Chinatown Market is re-opened after a long renovation. :thumbsup:
But only some of the stalls are open for business.

Anyway, have always wanted to try to shoot from the tall HDB flats around that area so i can get a bird eye view on the city from there.

Thus, i ended up choosing Blk 5.

I went in from the 2nd storey (or 3rd?)

There was an old man in the lift.

The moment i stepped in, i can sense his eyes moving up and down around me.

Don't get me wrong, he is no pervert or something.

Apparently, this few HDBs are occupied by elderly who are living alone or who are financially not well off. So i guess he must be wondering what is this fat and looks kinda rich kid doing here in our block?

I reached the top floor (top floor based on the lift. I saw another staircase leading to higher floors. but i guess this is high enough).

I turned left and walk towards the staircase corner where i can shoot from there.

The corridor was narrow and dark.

The doors were mainly shut.

Only one unit was opened.

I walked, took a peep inside.

One room.

One bed like, 20cm was placed near the door.

One small table, with 2 stools.

One small TV showing channel 8 was entertaining the only resident in the unit.

Exactly as what i've seen on real life documentary on TV on their living environment and lifestyle.

A real experience, i tell myself. And life ain't so bad.

Finally, reached the corner.

I can tell you, the view was nice, as you can see from the shot.

And the wind was blowing, and it really feels so good.

It is really a big difference from how i've feel when i was walking through the corridor.

It's a world apart from 1 corner to the other.

Anyway, took my shot and quickly left that place. Cos my legs were wobbling as i've got very bad height phobia. :thumbsd:

Ya, i know it is in the mind, but then, the sense of insecurity just came into my mind when i was having half my body above the railing.

Haha, sense of insecurity...How bad can it be compared to the financial insecurity that the elderly living there are facing?:think:

5月1日2008年

City View...From one of the poorest residential area in Singapore.

woohoo... new toy... and an expensive one... looking forward to see you put it to action...;)

Yeah~~~~~Really expect this lens to be my first wanted Nikon Zoom Trinity Lens. If you see a fat guy with a backpack and a long lens, it will be me~ Hahaha.:bsmilie:

Yeap, tomorrow i will put it to action. But only after my OT in office. Now still in office lor. :confused:

Bo bian, need money to recoup the blood i lost.:cry:

5月3日

~热~

Edited-9632w.jpg

~Hot~

Went back to OT today and planned to head for a shoot with my new baby in late noon. :D

Knocked off at 1430hrs. Wah seh, very very very the hot and humid...

Kinda turn me off to travel so far from Tuas to shoot...:confused:

Decided to stop at Bugis to search for my "prey".

Manz...... Despite the hot weather, it was very crowded! Lagi more hot...

Walked around and i guess my mind was very tired and haha, cooked by the hot humid weather.

Decided to go to the fountain at Bugis Junction to see if any kids are relieving the heat by playing with the water.

Haha, bingo, when the heat comes, the parents' mind are cooked as well.

"To hell with the hand-mouth disease etc la, better let them enjoy the coolness and stop them from complaining and crying to me la!"

Guess this must be a good reason for them to totally "release" their kid from all the paranoidal stuffs.

And managed to get a shot of this kid cooling himself. It looks as though the water shot through him and cause a dispersion of heat (water actually la) around him.

Ok, i can't type liao. My mind is tired. And cooked...:sweat: