Will you buy the new Alpha-700 ??

Will you buy the new Alpha-700 ?

i dun preorder stuff leh....i like to COD...haha

Hiee Pals...

Not sure that comparison is good to swallow as there may be focussing errors involve here for non orthogonal planar shots where DOF may come into play.

However, for general softness at higher megapixel...here is my thought..

Guess the higher megapixel would obviously translate to a softer image given a particular subject that is shot.

Imagine you have a photo of a model and photo taken at a distance where the hair strand is actually captured by e.g 4 pixels on the image. So at 100% crop you would see the hair to be "sharp".

However, given that now you still shoot the same model with a higher megapix camera, which say actually captured the hair strand by now 8 pixels. So at 100% crop you would see that the same hair strand would then be "perceived to be" softer as it is now represented by more pixels.

Therefore, sharpness comparison really will be effected by the subject captured, DOF of the shot(depending on Plane of focus). Depending on the final print size actually, where megapixel matters at the larger sizes which will eventually show jagies or breaking up of the image on print.

So if you just print up to A4, size....i guess 12mpix vs 10 Mpix vs 6 Mpix might not show much differences. But obviously where larger prints are needed, larger megapixel may help.

Hiee Pals...

Not sure that comparison is good to swallow as there may be focussing errors involve here for non orthogonal planar shots where DOF may come into play.

I certainly hope that the softness is not due to focusing error ........... the A700 was touted as having focus tracking surpassing the KM7D slr ............ :sweat:

eow, think you better take Nikon lah ........ D80 ............ 10MP ccd sensor...... should be sharper than 12MP CMOS. :think:..............:devil:

Stop trolling around

I certainly hope that the softness is not due to focusing error ........... the A700 was touted as having focus tracking surpassing the KM7D slr ............ :sweat:

eow, think you better take Nikon lah ........ D80 ............ 10MP ccd sensor...... should be sharper than 12MP CMOS. :think:

it ok bro ...dun think i will be spending any more than what is necessary for this hobby...mostly shoot landscape and still life nowaday. hence dun really need such high meg cameras

Oh, here you go again .... you and your "bullshit" ........... laugh until stomach ache :bsmilie:

Landscape and still life ....... you will need the details even more .............. especially for Human Landscape :think:

I needed a DSLR soon, so I may be getting a A100 first and wait out for the FF model considering the initial release of a new model is normally priced quite high and there is a chance of still some bugs not cleared. But on the other hand, if I manage to get a good and not too high priced 2nd hand A100 or Dynax 5D in the B&S section, I may get the A700 a few months later after the release or I might still wait for the FF model. :P

U got tripod , got cable , got kit lens ......cool....lets go shoot some landscape...

F22 confirm sharp sharp..:bsmilie:

U got tripod , got cable , got kit lens ......cool....lets go shoot some landscape...

F22 confirm sharp sharp..:bsmilie:

.....now charging my batt and format my cf for this coming weekend shoot

lets go shoot valleys and hills..:heart::lovegrin:

I wonder if the "softness" is the same thing the H9 was experiencing. A lot of people complained it was too soft too, because it had no fine/x-fine setting.

The softness in that case is due to jpeg artifacts due to a poor compression algo...