why have you bought an olympus?

For me, I just started out using a dslr, had been a P&S users for many years, recently bought an E-300 from someone, went for a holiday with it.

When I came back, upgraded to an E-510, for me it is the price that Olympus offers, and secondly I like 'underdog' brands.

Just like people like Nike, Adidas, I would go for New Balance shoes.

To me being 'underdog' makes you more unique...

I sold one of my canon 28-300IS L lens and bought the Olympus E3 + 12-60mm.

the main reason is its water resistance.

I love to take photos of my kids swim in the pools and also at the Zoo Water park.

Alot of people was wondering , is this man crazy or what, Running though the jets of water in the water park.

Best of all when ever my lens got fog up. I will just soak the whole lens into the pool of water. and the fog will be gone and I can continue to take photos again.

I just love it.

I like dogs. ;p Besides, up until a few weeks ago, I never trusted the AF enough to use it and I've been using my E-1 since April 2004. I even submitted a thread about it here. :bsmilie:

Image quality is the big deal and always has been. That's why I've been using Olympus equipment since the E-1N. The E-1 had the image quality that to me has still not been duplicated, though the E-P1 seems to be better in many ways. I'm looking forward to the enhanced E-3 or E-3 replacement.

Wow amazing. I am suprised. All the 135 FF people will say that ur statement is a contradiction because they just cannot get over the fact that a smaller sensor can give better images than a larger sensor. It is like a law or principle to them. "Sensor size is really important!!"

wah why i kena blast? :(

No lar....just saw ur thread and wanted to use as example. No blasting intended. :-)

I sold one of my canon 28-300IS L lens and bought the Olympus E3 + 12-60mm.

the main reason is its water resistance.

I love to take photos of my kids swim in the pools and also at the Zoo Water park.

Alot of people was wondering , is this man crazy or what, Running though the jets of water in the water park.

Best of all when ever my lens got fog up. I will just soak the whole lens into the pool of water. and the fog will be gone and I can continue to take photos again.

I just love it.

Wow u are the best. Dunking the lens in water!!!

BTW, I am sure u had a lot of spare change after selling that canon set??

Macro shooters especially... this system is the way to go....
2X crop factor... in body IS.... swivel LCD.... you cannot ask for a better system...
prob the thing oly short of is a 150mm macro lens (weather seal) and a new flash which is weather seal..

its colors and affordable high quality lenses are of course another plus point....
:thumbsup: to Oly.. :)

Hey, I thought that the system is good for travel and rugged stuff, and for telephoto situations. But MACRO? Can you explain to me how 2 x MULTIPLICATION factor (4/3 system is actually FF, not a crop system) for FOV and inbody IS help for macro work?

Wow amazing. I am suprised. All the 135 FF people will say that ur statement is a contradiction because they just cannot get over the fact that a smaller sensor can give better images than a larger sensor. It is like a law or principle to them. "Sensor size is really important!!"

Well, Kodak couldn't duplicate what they did with the sensor and now, they're making sensors for just about everything else than 135 format-sized camera bodies, right?

They've created medium format and mobile phone camera sensors that are supposedly great but they've given up the hottest SLR arena. Had they continued to innovate with the Four-Thirds sensors, Olympus would probably have gained a lot of respect very quickly.

Hi guys,

I am one who uses an Olympus. No point discussing on all the technical aspects as it will not be conclusive. Ultimately it is the picture that you want and so far I think in my humble opinion it is comparable to other brands - otherwise I would not want to commit myself to 2 E3 bodies and a 520 with 300mm f2.8 lens/12-60mm/9-18mm/35mm macro just to name a few. I am not a professional just an ordinary person who loves photography. My humble site is at . You decide!

Bro no need to be humble, i like your pics! :thumbsup:

Simply it support the usage of almost all type of manual focusing lenses ...

I bought the E520 because it felt best in my hand, compared to the 450D and D60. The twin lens kit also had the best VFM at that time.

Its only now, after almost a year, that I am beginning to appreciate the other things that Olympus are famous for.

Hey, I thought that the system is good for travel and rugged stuff, and for telephoto situations. But MACRO? Can you explain to me how 2 x MULTIPLICATION factor (4/3 system is actually FF, not a crop system) for FOV and inbody IS help for macro work?

hi Oly5050, pls enlighten us on this (sorry noob question)...isn't it that Olympus has sensor smaller than APS-C and FF? Thanks!

Enlighten on which part? If it's the multiplication factor, than cause to get the equivalent field of view on a four thirds,for any lens must times 2 to get the equivalent on a 135 camera.

If talking about FF,than my question to you is that, must a car be shaped like a ferrari? As long as it has 4 wheels and an engine and can bring someone from point A to point B,it's more or less a car already. So the definition of FF is in a way,none exsistant. just that many people use 135 as a form of "standard" to compare field of view, from what i understand. crop factor occurs when you use a lens designed for another format on a body with a smaller medium, eg a MF lens on a 35mm film camera. But when using their own "native" lens eq the zuiko digital lenses on the four thirds bodies,DX lenses on bodies like D60 and EF-S lenses on bodies like 1000D,they do not have crop factor but have multiplication factor since the lens are specifically designed for that sensor.

That is my understanding anyway:bsmilie:

From what I know crop and multiplication factor is the same thing?

Anyway, FF is almost always refering to 35mm. Even most of the focal length are almost always converted to 35mm equivalent before comparison. Not sure if those apply to MF and LF, but that's what happen with smaller sensor sizes.

From what I know crop and multiplication factor is the same thing?

Anyway, FF is almost always refering to 35mm. Even most of the focal length are almost always converted to 35mm equivalent before comparison. Not sure if those apply to MF and LF, but that's what happen with smaller sensor sizes.

Nope it is NOT the same thing. Crop factor occurs because the image formed by the lens is way larger than the sensor. So only the central part of the image is captured. For 4/3, the entire system from lens, body to sensor is built digital from ground up. The lens image falls FULLY on the sensor. There is no cropping of the lens image. Hence, the 4/3 system is a full frame system. To the uneducated, when they say full frame, the equate it to the 35 mm equivalent. But in reality, there are a ton of different formats of full frame with the 35 mm being ONE of them.

So in order to so called orientate people, Olympus uses a multiplication factor so that people are able to understand the FOV of that lens. If u read some of the better reviewers, the never use crop factor...instead they say multiplication factor. If u use crop factor for 4/3 lens, it just shows your ignorance as a reviewer.

Nope it is NOT the same thing. Crop factor occurs because the image formed by the lens is way larger than the sensor. So only the central part of the image is captured. For 4/3, the entire system from lens, body to sensor is built digital from ground up. The lens image falls FULLY on the sensor. There is no cropping of the lens image. Hence, the 4/3 system is a full frame system. To the uneducated, when they say full frame, the equate it to the 35 mm equivalent. But in reality, there are a ton of different formats of full frame with the 35 mm being ONE of them.

So in order to so called orientate people, Olympus uses a multiplication factor so that people are able to understand the FOV of that lens. If u read some of the better reviewers, the never use crop factor...instead they say multiplication factor. If u use crop factor for 4/3 lens, it just shows your ignorance as a reviewer.

Very well explained and perfectly correct.

from now on i'll tell everyone my e-620 is full frame. will probably get :bigeyes: hehehe

That also gets me to wonder... For other brands, their smaller lenses range meant for the crop sensor, does it mean they r also consider full frame? DT, DX, EF-S & DA lenses all have smaller image circle to match the smaller sensor, so its same but not yet the same? :think:

So when i mount a legacy lens on the Oly digital cams, the cam automatically transformed into a crop cam? :think:

Something to think about :bsmilie:

That also gets me to wonder... For other brands, their smaller lenses range meant for the crop sensor, does it mean they r also consider full frame? DT, DX, EF-S & DA lenses all have smaller image circle to match the smaller sensor, so its same but not yet the same? :think:

So when i mount a legacy lens on the Oly digital cams, the cam automatically transformed into a crop cam? :think:

Actually this FULL FRAME = 35mm thing seems to me like a CaNikon marketing thing (more Canon than Nikon though), especially since they did not invest a lot in designing lenses specially made for the smaller sensor formats (e.g. I've yet to see a CaNikon-branded 70-200mm f2.8 equivalent). In contrast, Olympus and Pentax have designed a whole ecosystem of lenses around these smaller sensor formats (4/3rds and APS-C, respectively).

I dunno. I doubt it tho'. The images are still cropped. I guess someone can do some research to verify.

that's what I believe too, since DX lenses and EFS lenses are designed for smaller sensors,should be ff too

Pull up an old E-1 brochure and you will find your answers... tired of repeating this again and again like a broken record...

E-1 user nightpiper... don't make me put banana into your pipe ok? Stir porridge again... you of all people should understand why Four Thirds sensor is Full Frame in its platform.

But technically, Nikon DX mount is DX full frame, because Nikon designed lenses to work specifically with with DX sensors... why they are not called DX full frames, is because the general public are not that clever, and it would cost MORE MONEY to educate them on that... so it is easier to tell a village idiot, that the animal that goes "Hee-Haw" is a donkey and the one that don't is a horse. Duh!

Actually this FULL FRAME = 35mm thing seems to me like a CaNikon marketing thing (more Canon than Nikon though), especially since they did not invest a lot in designing lenses specially made for the smaller sensor formats (e.g. I've yet to see a CaNikon-branded 70-200mm f2.8 equivalent). In contrast, Olympus and Pentax have designed a whole ecosystem of lenses around these smaller sensor formats (4/3rds and APS-C, respectively).

Its a Canon marketing thingy, they r the 1st to give the world 1Ds 11MP FF DSLR. Very smart of them, dun have to reinvent the wheels, so thus improve profit margin. EF-S came much later into the scene, which i believe when the smaller lenses were picking up in popularity from Pentax & Oly. Make sense for them, smaller, cheaper & again better margin with the EF-S.

Its all about the money... Its all about the dum dum dee dee dee dum... :bsmilie:

microcosm said:
Pull up an old E-1 brochure and you will find your answers... tired of repeating this again and again like a broken record...

E-1 user nightpiper... don't make me put banana into your pipe ok? Stir porridge again... you of all people should understand why Four Thirds sensor is Full Frame in its platform.

But technically, Nikon DX mount is DX full frame, because Nikon designed lenses to work specifically with DX sensors... why they are not called DX full frames, is because the general public are not that clever, and it would cost MORE MONEY to educate them on that... so it is easier to tell a village idiot, that the animal that goes "Hee-Haw" is a donkey and the one that don't is a horse. Duh!

.... like a record baby right round, round & round.... HAHAHA!!! :bsmilie: Old liao. Must prevent dementia mah, need to always tear apart old concept & stare at it again to challenge the brain. Juz like photography, needs to look at the same thing from different perspective to get a different pic. Hmmm.... can start a GP course for photography class HAHAHA!!

I believe why its not call full frame DX is becos of marketing. Easy to draw the line between "Pro" & not so pro range. Easier to drive the message across since Canon has done most of the work. Also when D1 1st started, there wasn't DX lenses, all still using FF lenses, they juz continue from where they left off. No need to re-educate & complicate the whole thing, juz ride the tide, if Nikon did re-market DX as DX-FF (as with all others), it also means they concede that Oly is correct & true from start, dun think any company ever want to do that. Suicidal.

That aside, juz for mere discussion sake.... Have u seen the samples from the new Nikkor 70-200VRII? "Sharp wide open..." I guess its been redefined many years ago :lovegrin::p