Why do you NOT want a DSLR?

digital photography is definitely not for people like me wiht low disposable income ,

imagine d70 $1888 ley

i want a DTLR if possible... dun i dun tink have le

Price still the major issue for not getting DSLR.

The short life cycles of models is a turn off.

Witness said:
i want a DTLR if possible... dun i dun tink have le

What's a DTLR? I've heard of ZLR but TLR?? Are you talking about through lens viewfinder without mirror reflex? ie. Olympus E-10/ E-20 which use a prism

Firefox said:
What's a DTLR? I've heard of ZLR but TLR?? Are you talking about through lens viewfinder without mirror reflex? ie. Olympus E-10/ E-20 which use a prism

I think he mean DTLR = 'Digital Twin-lens-reflex'???

XXX Boy said:
I think he mean DTLR = 'Digital Twin-lens-reflex'???

Oh... You mean like those Seagull's and Rollei's from the yesteryears?

biggest prob. is not the DSLR. its the lens !!!!!! the lens cost more den the body !!!! :faint:

Firefox said:
Oh... You mean like those Seagull's and Rollei's from the yesteryears?

Yes, those are the good old days (which I am not even born!)! :)

ckiang said:
Assuming that price is not an issue, and what are the reasons which stop you from getting a DSLR?

Every Tom, Dick & Harry carries one these days. Not cool at all. :bsmilie:

Jed said:
Not sure I agree with most of that, and for the first bits, actually I believe all that actually is pro-digital argument, not pro-film. Assuming you store your digital pictures intelligently, your digital photos will never deteriorate. You get the same quality 5000 years down the road you get today, ceteris paribus. No matter how kid gloves you treat your film, it's going to break down over time and with exposure to the elements. Yes you don't have to keep worrying about storage standards, but at the same time, I consider this an over-exaggerated threat. Conversely, unlike with film, you don't have to worry about constantly buying a bigger house and a warehouse of storage products like dehumidifiers to contain your ever expanding collection of negs and trannies.

As to slides having better highlight detail, you really should give negs a go. That will blow your mind (yes, that was tongue in cheek). Seriously though, that slides have better highlight detail than a digital camera is a very debatable topic.

As, for that matter, is getting a better digital image scanning a slide than shooting with a DSLR.

As for the rest, it's all a matter of opinion and you're perfectly entitled to yours. Long may it last.
not replying to ur reply,
but can stick to english.

m not highly schooled,
so latin out,
know-know what u mean by ,"ceteris paribus" leh?

kahheng said:
Every Tom, Dick & Harry carries one these days. Not cool at all. :bsmilie:
just kaypoh n went thru ur profile,
wow!!!
u make big money!!!
toilet repaier eh.
can call u shifu,
need some money to finance this 'full-time job; of mine

judeseah said:
just kaypoh n went thru ur profile,
wow!!!
u make big money!!!
toilet repaier eh.
can call u shifu,
need some money to finance this 'full-time job; of mine

sorry full of typo,
its raining, dark and i can't type to save my life.

ps-this took me more than 30secs.

judeseah said:
sorry full of typo,
its raining, dark and i can't type to save my life.

ps-this took me more than 30secs.

You're now on my ignore list :bsmilie:

XXX Boy said:
Yes, those are the good old days (which I am not even born!)! :)

Heehee, not so yester-year lah :D Can still buy new Seagull and experience the joy of low-tech!

judeseah said:
not replying to ur reply,
but can stick to english.

m not highly schooled,
so latin out,
know-know what u mean by ,"ceteris paribus" leh?

Ceteris Paribus=All other things staying constant

I'd like a DSLR that has:

1) 35mm full size sensor.
Except if the system is totally redesigned for DSLR use like 4/3 then it's better to just list the 35mm equivalent focal length (2x FoV factored in) on the lens since it'd not be used on 35mm cameras anyway.
Larger photoreceptors are less receptive to noise issues and CMOS technology can offset the power consumption of the larger sensor.

2) True 9MP to 10MP. That's to say 9 million red pixels, 9m blue & 9m green. Layered like the Foveon sensors and with lunminance information derived from all 3 channels.

3) Good engine like the Digic II or Venus II LSI (which derives lunminance from multiple channels anyway)

4) Fast bridge between DRAM and storage card.
No point putting fast SDRAM inside if you're only going to use it at 4MB/s. A good integrated bridge that read/ writes to both SDRAM and CF/ SD card should obtain transfers between the 2 medias at speeds far faster than 10MB/s. Not to forget, a bridge capable of extremely high speed transfers to the media will not require much buffer. And the buffer can be made from faster SRAM instead.

Edit: The closest camera to this ideal is the EOS 1Ds. Lacking only in that it's sensor isn't like the Foveon. Engine is good, buffer is fast and large and has a 35mm FF sensor. But the price for a 2nd hand piece is also very painful..

For me, it's mainly the price.

$1.8k is considered very cheap for a DSLR (compared to just 2 years ago), but it's still very expensive considering that it's most likely a base model that would be superceded within 12 months. I remember saving up for my very first film SLR, and it cost me $650. That was hella lotta money then (10 years ago)! If I had a 1.8k budget, I would've gotten me a top-bracket SLR that could've lasted me for at least a decade! I know DSLRs can never be as cheap as fSLRs, but right now, the price jump is still very high.

Crop/magnification factor results in the need for super-wide angle lenses just to get 24 or 28mm. And these lenses aren't cheap. (But yes, you get added zoom for the same reason). And the "Di" lenses make poor backward-compatibility when you have a 35mm film SLR, and hence, poor economic value.

The next issue is the lack of dust management systems (except for Olympus). And this really, really, really bothers me.

DSLR/SLR will "stun/frighten" certain people, losing the natural factor. :what:

Sorry, totally off the topic....why can't I vote on polls? So sad :(