who are divers on CS?

One of the debates that surfaces often.

Having your own DC.

Some felt that they can depend on their DM's / friends' readings and "be safe".

Others are plain ignorance about it

...that although the group almost dived and surfaced together, the dive profile would be different and it would have a bearing on the bottom time for the next dive, or even the no-fly time.....

honestly if dive comp is a must have, then i can forget about diving already. far too expensive.

beivied said:
honestly if dive comp is a must have, then i can forget about diving already. far too expensive.

How far expensive can a DC be ? Vs the safety line that it offers ?

Anyway, it is not a MUST have item, like a Octopus / alternative air-source. There is always the dive table / wheel and that humble $20 50m water-resistant Casio watch.

The DC is just another tool to aid to the safety aspect of this sports.

A very convenient tool.

ah, dive table and watch ha? i have i have.

convenient tool? not meant for someone budget tight like me.

beivied said:
err, correction, not this weekend, it is next weekend, forget today is friday, haha .. oh ya, HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

isnt the monsoon season starting soon?

beivied said:
ah, dive table and watch ha? i have i have.

convenient tool? not meant for someone budget tight like me.

Dun worry, just wished for it.

Some day you will own one.

(unless U give up diving altogether)

beivied said:

It is not a must have, and generally dive tables/watch will be sufficient, but if you run into the following situations, then you'll wish you have one :

1) locations which dm love to bring you to >20m dive for 50mins, 3/4 times a day, basically bursting your dive tables set of readings.

2) diving with a dm which is hopeless about navigation, or gets entangled in the strings of a sausage.

3) diving at locations where you are doing shore dives at your own leisure, and you'll be likely to push your limits. eg. sipadan.

kng said:
Beivied, you going Aur?? So coincidental har - thot i heard someone else also going Aur... ;p

Ok ok ok dun 'hum tum' me.. just joking lah. Seriously, if you intend to dive regularly, imho, you shld buy a computer even before a reg/bcd. A 2nd uwatec aladdin (1-2 yrs old) can be a good buy cos they are extremely reliable and long lasting.

Blurblock, dun mind me asking but how much is the Aladdin smart pro? From which shop?

Raymond at Concourse ..... $788

beivied said:

Saw secondhand dive comp at Raymond, think is aladin ultra pro, $300+ ..... New $580+ .... i Think..... but memomouse additional $280+, after calculation, bought Smartpro because $788 < $800+ .... Smartpro works via infared red ...... memomouse not required ..... now must use XP to run Smartpro first, until I write a program for it to work with Linux ........ now going back to study ....... a bit zombie now .....

kng or anyone ... .want to test out the Uwatec smartpro? can lend to you .....

the monsoon has not set in yet, but will be soon. lets hope it is still good this weekend! my friend just bought stinger i think, and she is willing to lend me for the coming dive trip ... wa, so touched, but no la, dont think i wanna use it ...

beivied said:
the monsoon has not set in yet, but will be soon. lets hope it is still good this weekend! my friend just bought stinger i think, and she is willing to lend me for the coming dive trip ... wa, so touched, but no la, dont think i wanna use it ...

Lend u the smartpro lar ..... take lah ..... I need someone to be the geni-pig mah ..... whahahahaha

blurblock said:
Lend u the smartpro lar ..... take lah ..... I need someone to be the geni-pig mah ..... whahahahaha

haha! cheh! thought you so kind wanna lend people! well, if you just want someone to be guinea pig i dont mind. ;)

anybody can recommend an inexpensive single pane mask? for me?

beivied said:
haha! cheh! thought you so kind wanna lend people! well, if you just want someone to be guinea pig i dont mind. ;)

Ok :) .... tell me when you need it :) ..... After the 6 nov hor .... I will be a zombine until after that day ..... Whahahahahaha

blurblock said:
Ok :) .... tell me when you need it :) ..... After the 6 nov hor .... I will be a zombine until after that day ..... Whahahahahaha

wa lao eh, uncle ah, i am leaving on the 7th wo!

eh people, page 50 liao! :lovegrin:

beivied said:

See I told you we are aiming for 100. :)

eh why no one suggest mask for me ha

beivied said:
anybody can recommend an inexpensive single pane mask? for me?

You are refering to those mask that don't split into 2 sides one right?
Tusa got some nice ones, but I don't think they fall into the inexpensive category.

beivied said:

wah .... like that no geni-piglet already lao ...... maybe wait for my own dive to be my own geni-piggy lor...... me exam on that day leh .......

frisky: my friend suggesting me buy mares...

blurblock: your exam on 7th?