who are divers on CS?

Originally posted by sehsuan
orrr... the standard stuff. who knows if you were talking about hanky-panky, breathholding, spearfishing underwater... :D

Aiyoh.... I dun care if you hanky panky lah... but you breathhold I will whack you. Unless you dun come back to Singapore! :)

Spearfishing your problem do=un spear human... :p

Haven't had a decent night's sleep on Sunday cos of you leisure divers! :kok:

who's the leisure divers you're talking about?...

btw, why whack those breath-holding ones? later KABOOM and make a sight out of themselves is it? :D

Originally posted by sehsuan
who's the leisure divers you're talking about?...

btw, why whack those breath-holding ones? later KABOOM and make a sight out of themselves is it? :D

Leisure divers are divers who don't dive as a job loh... Dive for fun. SOme of them make us of every opportunity to dive on a dive trip. saw one guy try 3-4 dives a day for a week. crazy man..... *bet many of you like this!!* :D

why whack breathholders? cos breathholding predisposes one to decompression illnesses!! Doesn't that deserve a whacking? Make people busy....:grumble: :bsmilie:

Yah I'm a diver.. go in immediately start sinking liao.. :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie: or more appropriately described by Army PTI as "Titanic".. first time into water then sink.... :embrass:

At least you not Commando Diver. -->Cannot run cannot swim

At Sipadan Island, with Borneo Divers' resort last year.

3 boat dive, UNLIMITED shore dives. BUFFET dive leh. So as long as SIT allows. I did about 5 - 6 dives in a day.

Just a word of caution, you better have a dive comp with you to calculate all these multiple dives in a day. PLUS, buffet dives, own time own target. No DM or dive guides with you. Just draw the tanks, suit up, write on the board - your name, time of dive and direction. If you are not seen back in 1 hrs, they will come to look for you.

BTW - it is dive shop to shore to shallow drop off, then 10 - 15m then 2000m (bottomless). WOW. wall diving is fantastic. I managed to quick-time myself on boyancy control, till can float neutral in water without holding onto the corals.

6D/5N - 17 dives.

Originally posted by Lensman
At Sipadan Island, with Borneo Divers' resort last year.

3 boat dive, UNLIMITED shore dives. BUFFET dive leh. So as long as SIT allows. I did about 5 - 6 dives in a day.

Just a word of caution, you better have a dive comp with you to calculate all these multiple dives in a day. PLUS, buffet dives, own time own target. No DM or dive guides with you. Just draw the tanks, suit up, write on the board - your name, time of dive and direction. If you are not seen back in 1 hrs, they will come to look for you.

BTW - it is dive shop to shore to shallow drop off, then 10 - 15m then 2000m (bottomless). WOW. wall diving is fantastic. I managed to quick-time myself on boyancy control, till can float neutral in water without holding onto the corals.

6D/5N - 17 dives.

Wah so nice! how much heh?

Wow Sipadan, one of the better dive sites. So did you see any whale sharks ? I heard there are some resident 30 foot whale sharks roaming around the area. Is it expensive ? How's the Abu Sayaf situation ? :D All clear now ?

Just came back from dayang;
The dive op manager said that they sighted whale sharks and matas on end November and early december.......

Thought it was monsoon season, but he said the conditions were calm:dunno: ..

will be making a trip there this year end:confused:

anyway any of you guys went to Dayang last weekend?

sian... hope msia let us in... stupid SARS

Well, I did my Sabah trip last Mar / April.

Costed me about S$1900 - 2000 for 12 days, incl, 6D/5N at Sipadan, 3D/2N at Mount KK, 1 day White water rafting and 1 day lazing around KK town and enjoying superb live seafood. (took revenge by eating a BBQ trigger fish - it sucks), flights from Senai.

Sipadan has a yard stick for about RM420/day, and about 6 days is needed. full board, except softdrinks & beer.

Photos : Album click the Sabah / Sipadan / Mount KK albums.

Well, I did my Sabah trip last Mar / April.
I went with Borneo Divers to Sipadan last June and the famed huge school of barracudas & jacks were missing! :( We only saw small groups of barracudas, not the awesome swirling tornado-like ones.

The visibility was also rather poor and apparently, based on feedback from other divers that went in the second half of 2002, the schooling barracudas/jacks were still nowhere to be found.

Any divers here been to Sipadan recently and spotted the barracudas? :dunno:

Kng

Sorie to hear about you missing that school of fishes. maybe they graduated to deeper oceans or in the belly of those greedy reef-bombing fisherman.

If you like, I can show you the VCD of one of my dives. I almost swan thru that spiral of baracudas. Just that my divecom stopped me from ascending too swiftly. It was beautiful....... and a dream come thru.

I almost swan thru that spiral of baracudas. Just that my divecom stopped me from ascending too swiftly. It was beautiful....... and a dream come thru.
Sounds amazing! Must have been a unforgettable experience. Yar, the fishes must have migrated somewhere else cos many divers have reported the "missing barracudas" during the second half of 2002. Wonder if they have returned.....:confused:

Wahh.. you did 17 dives in 6 days!!!!!!!

Originally posted by kng

Yup, tired like a dog after a hard days' work. But it is buffet dive and my roommate and his gf and a Japanese babe in my group are also game. My new dive gears needs to be season. So lets do it.

So often that we are away that the chef, who incidentally was happy to meet a mandarin speaking diver like me, set aside our dinner and wait for us to return. That was like close to 10.30pm when everyone was Zzzzz.....

Took 1 full day to degass at the TAR Marine Park near KK, sunbathing and cuci-mata, before heading up to Mt KK climb. This time I am glad that I hit that 17 dives and are physically conditioned to it (almost).

Oh, that roommate of mine and his gf, was in town 2 weeks ago, enroute to Bali. Where I joined them 1 day later for 8 days and 12 dives in Bali Island. Just got back last Monday night, RELUCTANTLY. Covered Nusa Perneda, Tulumban wreck and Merganan Marine Park. The dives were yummy, so are the dinners at the resturants. It is not that expensive as before and not much crowd - better still , more peaceful.

It was also the madien dive trip with my S40 & housing. Ah, I have a lot to learn about digi cam and u/w photography.

Yes, I will be back at Bali, esp now that I am more familiar with that place, screw the travel agents and their packages. Can customize it to my hearts content and not cost me an arm and leg.

Originally posted by kng

My god.. I'll have nightmares tonight!

Originally posted by Silverelf
Leisure divers are divers who don't dive as a job loh... Dive for fun. SOme of them make use of every opportunity to dive on a dive trip. saw one guy try 3-4 dives a day for a week. crazy man..... *bet many of you like this!!* :D
I'm one of those "crazy" people you mentioned who dived 3-4 times a day while on a dive trip. I did it because of the love to dive and also to earn my "Master Diver" certification. As long you watch your dive depth, diving countless times is possible.

Originally posted by Silverelf
My god.. I'll have nightmares tonight!

Jealous, you having a female horse last night. How was it ? ;)

Originally posted by e_liau
I'm one of those "crazy" people you mentioned who dived 3-4 times a day while on a dive trip. I did it because of the love to dive and also to earn my "Master Diver" certification. As long you watch your dive depth, diving countless times is possible.

Did my 100th dive at Meganan Marine Park, in Northern Bali. Yeahhhh.....

1. sehsuan/olympus 4040
2. wai / Canon S30 with underwater case
3. oceanxp / ???
4. Longman / 26 year old 50mm lens (My Eye)
5. MunWai / Contact Lens [/B]]
6. denizenx / lens? scuba mask my dear
7. e_liau / Oly 5050 w/o uw casing (sponser anyone?)
8. Serendipity
9. waisj / no underwater housing for FUJI S602
10. ahsiang/ olympus 4040 + pt010, D100 - saving for the housing
11. midreef/Canon A40(no UW casing), Sealife ReefMaster
12. sbs99/Nikon FE-10 (no uw casing)/OW Diver
13. kachang26/NikonF90x with Sea&Sea Housing
14. hyun / no camera
15. kng/ A40 with u/w housing
16. cheechee/EOS50/V3 without underwater housing.
17. Lensman/Canon S40 + DC300S+256mb CF /SSI S&R -
will be doing my madian voyage dive with my S40+housing next week in Bali. Let me be the trigger happy one, not the trigger fish
18. Stefan/MMII-ex + YS-50 + YS-60 + 20mm + macro
19. domaeo/Canon Eos 500 / Advanced diver
20. swimcraze / contact lens :bsmilie: