who are divers on CS?

sehsuan said:
good thing about microdrive is, when you drop it, your heart breaks along with it... :bsmilie:

that i thought about. how true is it? until now i have yet to drop my cards. different people telling me different things. will the whole card spoil or just erase all photos in it?

what i meant is, microdrive, if you accidentally drop it, the disk platters inside may go PIAK on you.... CF doesn't one lor...

hmmm. that means permanent damage la... this thread hor, macam no one liao le leh, just you and me yik yak yik yak only ...

hope to hear comments from a microdrive user. got one said that he is ok with it . can see from the thread i pasted here just a little earlier on.

beivied said:
that i thought about. how true is it? until now i have yet to drop my cards. different people telling me different things. will the whole card spoil or just erase all photos in it?

Microdrive is a trademark of IBM storage (now Hitachi Global storage)
for their 1 inch hard disk in CF form factor, and max capacity is 1GB. The 2.4GB version is by a china manufacturer which has no relation to IBM, and they don't really call it microdrive as the name is trademarked.

Having seen many hard disk failure, I am rather paraniod about using the microdrive. A China manufacturer just make it worse. When I can get 1GB CF at $350, to me that is a much better choice. Also when 1GB is not enough, 2.4GB will make less sense than a 40GB X-drive.
While the X-drive also uses a hard disk, I am certain I'll subject the x-drive to less vibration and knocks than I'll subject the camera.

As the microdrive is a hard disk, when it fails it fails like a hard disk,
if you know what I mean.

Of course, this is just my opinion. Depending on your usage patterns and requirement, your mileage may vary.

About the 5050 workshop, how do you sign up for it?

beivied said:
hmmm. that means permanent damage la... this thread hor, macam no one liao le leh, just you and me yik yak yik yak only ...

hope to hear comments from a microdrive user. got one said that he is ok with it . can see from the thread i pasted here just a little earlier on.

Aiyo, me not someone ah?

alamak, you never make any noise, how i know you around ah ... ^_^ make some noise la!

Hee hee... was reading some other thread, next thing I know is a quite a few post already. Anyway it is bed time......

oh your post so long, you took some time to type, haha.. thanks for the detailed explanation.

the workshop is bundled with my purchase. the new buyers dont have this workshop, apparently. only for oly c5050z users. but i am very glad to share what i have learnt. but the things that i didnt know,and learnt from the workshop, mostly apply to more advanced use of my camera. you using c5050?

This one not that long lar, you wanna see a long one, take a look at the Flash memory guide in the Newbie section, that one super long.

Yup, using the 5050, just got it in late July, 2nd hand.

Ok, too bad then...... But the 5050 do have quite a bit play with..... :)

wah biang eh, go and sleep la divers... let's go for oxygen narcosis... :lovegrin:

Ha ha...... The pot calling the kettle black.....

beivied said:
My brother and some friends i know use the 1G microdrive - they've been using for more than 1.5 years with no prob. But cos it is a miniature harddrive, ie has a platter and moving parts inside, i suppose the potential failure rate is higher than a solid state no moving parts device like CF.

Suggest that you dun plunge into super high capacity memory yet - start off with a 512M CF (EastGear's got cheap prices for this) and buy a 1G CF later when you need it - & prices will be cheaper then. If not enuf memory in meantime, laanx will rent to you, remember?? :D heh heh

The kuantan wreck LOB sounds like a decent price at $350 actually. Hopefully cos its a LOB, you get to dive the further (better) sites. ;)

the only prob I have with Microdrive is the voltage usuage, since it affects my battery life while diving. As for dropping it, well it's in my cam almost all the time and to drop the microdrive card, i'd have to drop my camera too :cry:

I came across a good technique in another forum, called the ambient light photography. It basically uses filters and white balance to compensate the strobes. The results are amazing. Check it out!

http://wetpixel.com/forums/index.php?act=ST&f=7&t=2820&

Eric

There seems to be a lot of C-5050 owners in this forum. Well, I am fortunate enough to try one out in the pool and I simply cannot get the internal flash to fire in Super Macro mode. Seems like you can over-ride some settings to get it to fire. Details below :

http://wetpixel.com/forums/index.php?act=ST&f=1&t=1144&hl=&

unfortunately, the barrel blocks some of the flash since the subject is so close.

sehsuan said:
good thing about microdrive is, when you drop it, your heart breaks along with it... :bsmilie:

LOL< good one! :devil:

beivied said:
oh ya, lanxx mentioned about the slow processing of RAW images. actually i tested it, about 3-5 seconds. i think it should be ok to try. still i dun have money to buy la, hahhaa....

still too slow for my taste, until I get the full hang of the camera. :(

beivied said:
i will test the filter during the liveonboard lo. and i trust lanxx's comments :D

huh? what filter? I am going down today to get the warm filters for C5050 housing. On paper, should work very nicely.

I find that the C5050, cloudly mode still not warm enough. I like my pics warm.

ok i reply one by one ah ...

kng: i so poor liao, trying to make do with my present memory. lanxx ah, wa lao, one mb 10 cents, right hand hold chopper left hand hold firetorch ah!!!!

kthan: c5050z is popular with divers. was playing with a fuji f601zoom a few minutes ago. i find it better than my c5050z!

frisky: we'll see when is the next uwcs, and then i can exchange pointers about our cameras. :D

lanxx: nor, you said the red filter for underwater photo lo. kng also wanna try one.

lanxx said:
huh? what filter? I am going down today to get the warm filters for C5050 housing. On paper, should work very nicely.

I find that the C5050, cloudly mode still not warm enough. I like my pics warm.

ai ya, bo jio!!! can help me buy ma