Which len to get?

TS,the 70-300VR is not a very fast AF lens, toooo wide a focal range, IQ wise is pretty ok. the VR is a godsend and very handy but if you are really going to shoot bird at those few places u say u might use the lens, the range just might not cut it. image is sharp only up to abt 10-20m the sharpness start to roll off abit if your subject is really far from u, but most ppl will not feel it unless when u pixel peep.

own the 70-300VR and used to use it with my D80, so effective is 450mm and i still cant reach if shooting birds, the bird is like 5-10% of the frame most of the time. mostly use this for candid ppl shot, let you snap ppl from afar without them noticing your presence.

IMO birding shoot, one would need 400-500mm or more most of the time. cheap ---> expensive way is sigma lens, TC + 70-200F2.8, TC + 300F4, prime 400mm/500mm/600mm.

moi 2cents

After browsing through the web and find out more abt TC, I decided not to get one as it usually lower the f stops and might affect IQ. Most importantly, is not cheap for a good TC. I will get a zoom lens instead. Thank you for correcting my typo..

Any more advise? So far no one comments on 70-300 vr, how come? I thought it cover a reasonable length?

it depend on whether the animal you are shooting is in a zoo or out in the "wild".
If it is in the zoo, 70-300 will be quite sufficient plus the easiest to carry around and cheapest as well.

If this is used together with a TC2.0 , it will cover a good range that will give you sufficient reach and still among the lightest of the list you have here.

Newbie here.. I just got my D90 Kit in april to shoot my baby, but got poison and thinking of getting a tele to shoot animals.. however cant decide which one to buy

1)sigma 150-500 OS series (seems very popular! But do i really need such a range?)
2)sigma 120-400 OS series (this is the one i feel like buying, cover the range after my kit lens and smaller in size)
3)Nikon 70-300 VR (chpest among the others, but slightly overlap with my kit lens and shortest in zoom length)
4)Nikon 80-200mm F2.8 (love the F stops, but seems too short and most expensive)

Pls advise on IQ, focus speed, versatility and which is most value for money..

TQ

The 70-300mm VR is light, sharp, cheap and decent focusing speed. It would definitely be a good starting lens for your hobby.

hi ts, if you are not into birding, the nikon 70-300 is a very decent lens. the VR really works and with basic handholding of lens, can shoot at 300mm end and get sharp pics....
do consider this over the rest if you not sure of what you want to shoot.

if you want reach and quality pics, the 300mm f4 coupled with the tc1.4 or tc1.7 gives you good reach and very sharp pics.

Sunnymau said:
Most likely will go to snap alone, so if baby is not of a concern, which lens to go with?
Bro Cowseye, any comment on the 150-500 you got?

I would say this is one of the best and easily available budget birding lens u can get with OS. Try not to fix any TC to it, if have to, not more than 1.4x with will bring u down to F/9 @ 750mm. Birds that moves actively under shade will need flash to illuminate. Might not look nice and with red eye but no choice.

UncleFai, I'll carry it on my tripod most of the time while moving ard. But if need to capture BIF, it's almost not possible taking it on monopod or tripod.

Not all lens are rentable (or available for rent). This sigma is a perfect example where u can't find anyone to rent to try. Not sure abt now but I was forced to take the plunge blindly when I bought mine back then.

can consider tamron 70-300VR cheaper alternative, great performer also.

Cowseye said:
UncleFai, I'll carry it on my tripod most of the time while moving ard. But if need to capture BIF, it's almost not possible taking it on monopod or tripod.

Gimble can work? At least up to certain angles... If directly overhead then bo bian...

Not Cowseye here... But I do have the lens. I love it. BUT you really we'd a tripod or monopod to work the lens. It is just too heavy for hand holding. Of coz I old uncle, you young man so may be stronger arms.

And yes, good light conditions a must. Evening or heavy overcast then got problem. Then again, you get what you pay for - a 500mm f4 will be nearly 10 times the price, and probably twice the weight.

Totally agree with Uncle Fai, I do have the 150-500mm on the D90 for birding. This lens need to have very good lighting to get it's optimum performance....any shades will weaken the IQ, not to mention D90's ISO above 800 for low lighting and contrasting environment will increase the noise quite significantly. Lens wise, of course cannot be compared to Prime, sharper at 150mm-400mm..... Tripod is strongly advised, unless that there is good railings to aid if needed (like the zoo ).........Just pointing out only the limitations not to dissuade you, but for you to have a clearer expectation in your/ anyone's consideration......instead of telling you all the goodies and then for you/anyone to discover those limitations by themselves.

I see there are 3 tiers in birding lens, I will not include 70-300mm VR here becos I dun feel it's adequate and practical in the field.

1. Sigma 150-500mm or 50-500mm, Tamron 200-500mm - $1200 ~ $1800
2. Nikon, Canon, Sony, Pentax, Sigma 70-200mm F/2.8 or Sigma 120-300 F/2.8. Plus 1.4x or 2x TC - $3.4k ~ $4.2k
3. Nikon 200-400mm F/4, 300mm F/2.8, 400mm F/2.8, 500mm & 600mm F/4 and the sigmonsters - $6k and beyond.

Take ur pick and feed ur poison :p

I see there are 3 tiers in birding lens, I will not include 70-300mm VR here becos I dun feel it's adequate and practical in the field.

1. Sigma 150-500mm or 50-500mm, Tamron 200-500mm - $1200 ~ $1800
2. Nikon, Canon, Sony, Pentax, Sigma 70-200mm F/2.8 or Sigma 120-300 F/2.8. Plus 1.4x or 2x TC - $3.4k ~ $4.2k
3. Nikon 200-400mm F/4, 300mm F/2.8, 400mm F/2.8, 500mm & 600mm F/4 and the sigmonsters - $6k and beyond.

Take ur pick and feed ur poison :p

I beg to differ... below are two shots I made this morning at Yishun with my D7000 and my Tammy 18-270mm VC non-PZD (often slammed as the jack of all trade, master of none)...

Sunda pygmy woodpecker

Olive back sunbird

Both cropped with PP and downsized to fit the 400k file size limitation.

OK, I know there is still much to be desired - I am still learning birding... but I feel quite ok leh... can start small and don't need to spend upfront a bomb... agree?

I do have the 150-500mm sigma but I did not bring it and my tripod along as I was just fetching some family members to see the Chinese sinseh there. As always, long wait... then I wandered in the car park and heard "chirp chirp"... so whipped out my trusty D7000 and caught these shots. I hope you will agree, ok lah... mind you, both birds are really small...

I beg to differ... below are two shots I made this morning at Yishun with my D7000 and my Tammy 18-270mm VC non-PZD (often slammed as the jack of all trade, master of none)...

Sunda pygmy woodpecker

Olive back sunbird

Both cropped with PP and downsized to fit the 400k file size limitation.

OK, I know there is still much to be desired - I am still learning birding... but I feel quite ok leh... can start small and don't need to spend upfront a bomb... agree?

I do have the 150-500mm sigma but I did not bring it and my tripod along as I was just fetching some family members to see the Chinese sinseh there. As always, long wait... then I wandered in the car park and heard "chirp chirp"... so whipped out my trusty D7000 and caught these shots. I hope you will agree, ok lah... mind you, both birds are really small...

If you're happy with it, then I guess there are no issues :)
I guess everyone has different expectations.
People shouldn't buy all-in-one lenses and expect the outcome to be similar to using a fast telephoto prime, that's all !

Of cos, if the expectation is not high of cos can. But practical wise I feel they are lacking...