WHich is BETTER Nikon SB900 or Metz 58 AF-1?

Only thing I'd like about the SB-900 over the 800 would be the 180 degrees swivel both sides. The 800 can only swivel 180 on one side (left)... :sweat:

And the other factor would be the remote, only a turn of a switch... :thumbsup:

What I like is the 200mm zoom ;p
When shooting at ulu ulu places (think shipyard!) where usage of strobes is a logistical nightmare, the SB-900+CLS+200mm zoom makes a pretty good sidelight.

Ok.. I think I have OT this post into CLS instead liao :bsmilie:

What I like is the 200mm zoom ;p
When shooting at ulu ulu places (think shipyard!) where usage of strobes is a logistical nightmare, the SB-900+CLS+200mm zoom makes a pretty good sidelight.

Ok.. I think I have OT this post into CLS instead liao :bsmilie:
Alittle bit is ok, anymore just refer to lighting session.

Finall I got my Flash for my D300.

Guess which model and make I finally got?

Finall I got my Flash for my D300.

Guess which model and make I finally got?

:hammer:
Don't make us guess, after we give you lots of advise.

SB900. :)

No... Metz 58 AF-1

Why?

When does someone goes to work wearing all the same brand?
Shoes is Clarks.
Belt is timberland.
Shirt is Giodano.
Pants is Levis.

haha, that's good. Can still play with nikon CLS. :)

Ok, abit OT here. where and how much?

No... Metz 58 AF-1

Why?

When does someone goes to work wearing all the same brand?
Shoes is Clarks.
Belt is timberland.
Shirt is Giodano.
Pants is Levis.
Can't use this as comparison leh... your pants need not communicate with your shirt but your camera and flash does.

Anyway, Metz is good flash.. luckily they provide firmware updates on their website.. updates done through the USB port.

Just a headsup, in case you wished to try CLS, the sensor to detect CLS signal is in the front, so mostly you will have to swivel the flash around so that sensor face the master line of sight.

I think Nikon designed it better by putting sensor on the sides, much more convenient position for sensor to be.

Still Nikon don't have a secondary reflector like Metz 58 AF-1, I wonder how come Nikon haven't taken to this idea of a secondary reflector yet?

../azul123

I got it 2nd hand.
$500. Still under warranty of 8 months. Local set.
So far I check... a new Metz is $620.

Maybe the secondary reflector is patent.

I got it 2nd hand.

No lah... cannot patent a secondary reflector lah... it is like patent the sound of horn on car.

../azul123

I got it 2nd hand.

Ic.. thanks.

2nd reflector flash, nissin brand has one model, still waiting to hit our shore. :)

Who says it will not overheat??

It just does not warn you when the unit overheats....

You can fire as much as you want with the Quantum. Heat yes, overheat, no.

Flash users...May I ask...Thanks.
What is the difference between Metz 58 AF-1 digital and not 54 MZ-4i digital:sweat:

If you are using a Nikon body and type G or type D lenses, I would strongly recommend the SB-900 over the Metz simply because of the creative opportunities, flexibility, and convenience of the Nikon CLS. This is not to say that the Metz is no good. I have used the D200 with mutliple SB-800s for remote flash. I've used the D300 with mutliple SB-800s and SB-900s combined. I have used the D3 and D700 with again mutliple SB-900s. They are simply magnificent. Imagine you can set what power (over expose or under expose) each group of remote flash just from your camera without even having to walk to the remote flash. Go for the SB-900 anytime.

Now for the question of overheating... you will only experience this if you shoot continuously with flash set at full or near full power. Of course if you are 'pushing' your Speedlight to the max, it WILL get hot! If there is no overheat protection, then the unit will get hotter and hotter and hotter and eventually suffer permanent damage. This is where the overheat protection kicks in... it prevents you from shooting further thus allowing the unit to cool down. Usually, it will work normally again after it has gone back down to a safe temperature. It is a good feature.

For those who have to shoot at such high power that the overheat protection kicks in... then there are only two options. Have spare units of SB-900s so when one unit reaches it upper limit, put the next unit in and allow the first to cool down. The other option is to get a heavier, more powerful flash like the Metz 60CT series with a separate powerpack. Even this will overheat if it's pushed to the max and fired continuously (I've used these Metz units before but have not had to push them to the limit).

Hope this helps.

Fred

Nikon's CLS requires line of sight (unless you use wireless radio triggers, e.g. radiopoppers, pocketwizards). The Metz can act as master or slave with compatible Nikon flashes. For indoors, I find it quite sufficient but outdoors can be an issue. FYI, the Quantum Trio has built-in radio for wireless communication.

Flash users...May I ask...Thanks.
What is the difference between Metz 58 AF-1 digital and not 54 MZ-4i digital:sweat:

You can update via USB on the 58 AF-1, but you need to have the SCA adapter updated via the service center. For Metz, I owned and love the 60 CT4 and the 76 MZ5.

However the current support does not encourage to update the SCA shoe version but to get the latest shoe version.

Do note that if you need a lot of 'fire power', and are pushing the SB-900 near or at its max, and risking 'thermal cut-off', you may group up to 3 units of SB-900s and have them all fire together via the CLS. These three plus the one mounted on your camera makes a total of 4. I am sure this is enough 'fire power'.

Fred