Which is a good Clubbing lens?

ryanvios

Hi everyone, I have a event in a club tonight. Plan to take some photos there however due to the low light condition in the club, I dun noe what lens to bring. Should I bring the kit lens(5D) and use the built in flash or a fast lens (like 50mm 1.7)? But the focal lens for 50mm is a bit long. Does the kit lens with built in flash be enough for the event?

Thank you for your advice.

50mm f1.7, 50mm f1.4, fisheye 16mm f2.8, 20mm f2.8, sigma 20mm f1.8.

Up the ISO... I think a zoom lens would be more versatile to cover events...

anything below f2.8, dun think u can focus a thing...

Just bring one 20mm F2.8 ... done!
Try with different shutter speed for different effect :lovegrin:

xxxger said:
Just bring one 20mm F2.8 ... done!
Try with different shutter speed for different effect :lovegrin:

if he shoot face shot leh? den run up stage den stand in front of the person & shoot? :bsmilie:

i think he need trinity.. time to change system....

17-35 f2.8 (nikon have, minolta no have...)
28-75 f2.8 (heng minolta have)
70-200 f2.8 SSM (go go go...)

Carry the 5600 or 3600. The IR illuminator will enable u shoot even in total darkness. U should carry at 17-35 and 28-75. U will want to capture wide shooting downwards to the dancers and also closeups of the 'beautiful' people...

i think he need trinity.. time to change system....

17-35 f2.8 (nikon have, minolta no have...)
28-75 f2.8 (heng minolta have)
70-200 f2.8 SSM (go go go...)
:bsmilie: Yeah, the 70-200 SSM can be used as a club and it will still be working after that. Read somewhere here earlier that it was used as a club.:bsmilie: :bsmilie:

leeshock said:
:bsmilie: Yeah, the 70-200 SSM can be used as a club and it will still be working after that. Read somewhere here earlier that it was used as a club.:bsmilie: :bsmilie:

i think the 600mm f4 is a better club... 1 strike, 2 feeling... head injury & lottery...

Thanks everyone for your contribution. I guess a wide angle zoom 17-35 2.8-4 would be good. Too bad I dun have it. Guess I will stick to my kit lens and make full use of it

try manual focus...
and enjoy your clubbing :)

ileaf said:
try manual focus...
and enjoy your clubbing :)

can't even see a thing, thing manual focus even worse... esp handheld... dun expect AS to do wonder tonight... even with iso3200;p

ryanvios said:
Thanks everyone for your contribution. I guess a wide angle zoom 17-35 2.8-4 would be good. Too bad I dun have it. Guess I will stick to my kit lens and make full use of it

18-70 is good enough... wide enough for most situations... afterall u probably can't get clean very wide shots with lots of people jostling around (or some call that dancing)... u will get lots of stray hands and heads into the frame if u try to take in too much...

Ai ya ....
Inside is so dark ....Kits lens cannot see and focusing properly also ...
50mm too long, so hard to compose pic ...
17-35mm F2.8 too expensive to buy one ......
AHHHHH !!!! Dun want to shoot liao lar! stay home watch TV liao :cry:

Get a flash...

Anyway, I brought my kit lens and used the built flash. I set a higher ISO and used manual mode to set my F-stop and shutter speed. By using a bigger Apeture and slower shutter speed, the built-in flash is usable for all my shots. At few times, the assist lamp flashed a number of time because of low light but after a while it manage to focus. At times if it is too harsh, I will set the flash to a lower EV flash.

Perhaps could post couple of your interesting works at the club??

Sorry, but this is a company event. Maybe I have seek their permission first