which dslr to buy? canon or nikon?

I just don't want that some newbies being attracted by the advertisments and commit so fast and never think twice. Later they will get their hands burned. I saw many users investing a lot, then regret and by that time it is too late. Then from PnS -> DSLR A --> DSLR B --> PnS --> nothing, but each step cost $$$.

I am thinking in this way-- mostly I think of bringing along camera to take travelling pictures. Then came to my mind is PnS and DSLR. But come think of it, do I need to bother about my camera's safety and have a less carefree holidays? I ever saw one guy bring his family (his children still young) to holidays bringing a pram and DSLR. What a hassle? First, it will attract the attention of some bad guys and secondly, it is a holiday for him or a workout? Just my one cent worth...

to be honest some of your previous statements do sound kinda baised towards canon, kinda wonder if you are being posion by canon's marketing/advertisments but you're not the only 1 feeling that way. takes a lot of mental strength to control the bbb virus.

there are plently of nikon mount around so like some nikon users have mentioned so i leave it to other nikon users to say more if they want.

i for one is one of those who upgrade step by step: p&s --> pro-consumer --> entry lvl dslr.
yes to some is a waste of money of cos i also think so sometimes but it was a relaxing hobby that help me pass my time during poly years whenever i'm not hitting the books and even till now after army.
i still have my 1st p&s and pro-consumer with me.
most ppl would assume that during travels my entry lvl would be my primary cam but sorry to say i prefer the lighter weight of my pro-consumer which have served me quite well during trips to KL and japan.
i'm not really a serious hobbist like i used to be during the early stages so i'll just stop at entry lvl will do as the weight of the semi-pro bodies is quite a concern to me since i like to move around as light as possible.

besides basic photography is never meant to be cheap in the 1st place. most beginners if not careful in doing more hw, normally their 1st cam purchase would quite dear if they like more freebies.

So many people quoted me :bigeyes:
Me just stated my findings for discussion purpose, nothing else. I merely bring these up for discussion purpose, so please do not speculate anything. I just mentioned my point of views. In the end of the day, I do not get any benefits from any decision made. And it is just my saying. If anyone disagree, can let us know your findings? Don't get so work up. I am not working for Nikon or Canon, so don't ask me. Ask them or even ask OCBC?

this thread has sort of gone quite far OT in my opinion...

To TS (ongtw), I really doubt anyone can give u an honest objective answer about which one (canon or nikon) DSLR is better.

You have to provide some information about your style of photography, whether you've had any previous experience with a particular brand, whether you own any accessories from a particular brand, etc... of course not forgetting the most important factor, BUDGET.

asking "which one is better, canon or nikon ?" just opens up a can of worms as far as i can tell.
The advice "go to the shops, have a feel; do some research online" has been repeated countless times, but it really is the best advice.

wait for olympus E520 and see if you feel good on it...

Wei wei wei... we all TCSS but the thread starter hadnt reply anything yet...

I suggest for the next time anyone ask this similar question, perhaps just lock and link up to other similar posts available, otherwise it will only be never ending repeated telecast. He's not the only newbie choosing a camera, there has been many others.

Why is it that most other ppl dont make a fuss about which camera to buy, at all?

Thats the problem with asking opinions on brands or comparisons. Every little statement becomes stinging and sensitive to the pride of other owners. And end up opening a huge mix bag of other stuffs u least expect.

In summary, all cameras are good.

Ryan

Consider Pentax also? :D

aiya few to choose from:

Canon: 450D
Nikon: D80
Pentax: K200D

Thats the problem with asking opinions on brands or comparisons. Every little statement becomes stinging and sensitive to the pride of other owners. And end up opening a huge mix bag of other stuffs u least expect.

In summary, all cameras are good.

Ryan

lol.. u mean those ppl who put their camera brands on an altar and prays to it daily? :bsmilie:

So many people quoted me :bigeyes:
Me just stated my findings for discussion purpose, nothing else. I merely bring these up for discussion purpose, so please do not speculate anything. I just mentioned my point of views. In the end of the day, I do not get any benefits from any decision made. And it is just my saying. If anyone disagree, can let us know your findings? Don't get so work up. I am not working for Nikon or Canon, so don't ask me. Ask them or even ask OCBC?

There is a fine line to thread between opinions and incorrect information. You have to realise that you crossed that line.

which is why i will always tell the opinion seeker to decide for his own self.

just as i would not want the camera to decide on the processing for me, why let others impose the choices they have made on you? frankly, it is an indirect way of massaging their own ego and justifying their purchases or buys.. i find it ludicrous that person a can happily tell person b that xxx model is the BEST model and the ONLY one he should consider.. sometimes it is put in milder terms but the idea is still there.

not everyone can work with a nikon, not everyone can work with a canon, not everyone can work with a pentax, etc. maybe you are able to use all of these, but there is certainly going to be one particular brand that you can work best with, where you can accept the compromises since no brand is perfect.

and that depends on you, you and you. not ah mao on clubsnap, not ah kao on the street, or ah beng in the camera shop. end of story.

what the camera is not important, who man behind the camera is the most important.. keep try to get the best shoot what ever the camera... so all of camera is good, they have specialty.. hehe...

Ask your heart and of course, your hands after they have handled the different cameras...

Each have a different feel and no 2 persons will like the same thing. So go check them out and see which you like better in your hands.

what the camera is not important, who man behind the camera is the most important.. keep try to get the best shoot what ever the camera... so all of camera is good, they have specialty.. hehe...

I had to read your post several times before I could understand what you were trying to say... Did you mean:
"What camera you get is not so important. The person behind the camera is the most important. Keep trying to get the best shot no matter the camera... In conclusion, all cameras are good. Each has its own pros and cons..."

lol.. u mean those ppl who put their camera brands on an altar and prays to it daily? :bsmilie:

Aiyah.... those pple also contribute to the economy lah... in addition to that they also provide us with some entertainment... :bsmilie:

There is a fine line to thread between opinions and incorrect information. You have to realise that you crossed that line.

Then, care to correct those incorrect information that I made? I wish to know your opinions also:dunno:
As I said, I just mentioned what I know (maybe biased, incorrect whatever), and I don't have any ulterior motive, k?
Can't you see that I am answering TS's posting rather than misleading him?
At least I contributed.
If you people have something to say, please do so rather than keep on sabo me,k?
Please do not hijack other people thread.
Now, it is a thread or it is a thread that I was being questioned. Don't know what was my intention to post in the beginning.
In that case better I keep quiet next time--better than being tagged like a busybody. :confused:

Then, care to correct those incorrect information that I made? I wish to know your opinions also:dunno:
As I said, I just mentioned what I know (maybe biased, incorrect whatever), and I don't have any ulterior motive, k?
At least I contributed.
If you people have something to say, please do so rather than keep on sabo me,k?
Please do not hijack other people thread.
Now, it is a thread or it is a thread that I was being questioned. Don't know what was my intention to post in the beginning.
In that case better I keep quiet next time--better than being tagged like a busybody. :confused:

I did correct your misinformation. Care to read through more carefully, without the "the-whole-world-is-against-me" outlook?

No one tagged you as a busybody, nor doubted your motives to help. However, when you post incorrect information, such as the point on not being able to find third-party options for Nikon cameras, then aren't you misleading in the end? Posting incorrect information is misleading, is it not?

No one is sabo-ing you. It starts with yourself. You write something wrongly, expect someone to correct you. If you are not humble enough to accept correction, please don't turn it into a blame game and say "oh gosh, the world is against me..."

This is just plain blatant misinformation. If you are unsure if something, don't say it. Third party lenses from Sigma, Tokina and Tamron come in various mounts - Canon, Nikon, Sony/KM, and Pentax.

Erm...... you were misleading actually.

Really, you painted a big and hard to miss target on yourself.

I vote for 40D because I'm using one and I'm in love with it. More solid than the Nikon D80 I feel and also more advanced :) Pundits will disagree but it's you who decides ultimately.

d80 would be nice....or even d200 if just buying the body. Seeming the ridiculously price dropping rate. Myself would like to change body though.... :P though i only my shooting skill is better....

This kind of thread is bound to create sparks. :)