Which 3rd Party Lens support ADI?

smtan24

I'm curious which 3rd party lens supports ADI. Sony Lens at the moment are quite expensive and 3rd party seems the only alternative.

smtan24 said:
I'm curious which 3rd party lens supports ADI. Sony Lens at the moment are quite expensive and 3rd party seems the only alternative.

buy old KM lenses lor...

btw can anybody list out the lenses with D? hehe...

all i know, D would be useful for me in these circumstances... portrait shoot with strong back light, or the model will close eye when u do preflash TTL...

for my other kinda shoot with flash, i dunno if i ever use D feature... and on top of everything, i dun think i used D for 10% of my flash shooting...

If you don't disable the ADI funtion and use 3rd party lens the flash tends to over expose. Have to switch to TTL for the flash so the 3rd party lens would work.

smtan24 said:
If you don't disable the ADI funtion and use 3rd party lens the flash tends to over expose. Have to switch to TTL for the flash so the 3rd party lens would work.

i dunno about u lah, cos i using KM flash... over expose wise, i normally shoot in full manual, if u are saying about subject overexposure, might be flash too harsh, so have hotspots, and u might wanna add a diffuser. and normally with diffuser, i pop it up straight up, so ADI is already useless in this sense... even if i set to ADI, it automatically become preflash TTL.

I suppose 3rd party lenses with D or DG might facilitate ADI ........ :think:

D or Non-D the lens still perform the same in all honesty..

Sure flash photography improve slightly interms of consistency... but who really use the flash 90 degree to the subject all the time?

If your flash is tilted up for bounce the D function is disable anyway, so no point...

Just turn into preflash or manual flash.

Hart

What's the best way to test if ADI works for the lens ?

u test against the lens that doesn't have the D?

hart

actually dun find ADI that significant in my everyday usage. have 1 lens with ADI and 2 without. dun find any differences. i think to get those differences, you need to purposely place it in certain environment, otherwise, i think there isn't any visble differences.

and answering to TS, sigma D lenses supports it. emailed them b4 about this issue.

:dunno: With the KM28-75 f2.8 (D), tried both ADI and Pre Flash Mode, both seems to have pre flash. The ADI is not suppose to has pre-flash at all. :dunno:

Agetan said:
u test against the lens that doesn't have the D?

hart

tankm said:
:dunno: With the KM28-75 f2.8 (D), tried both ADI and Pre Flash Mode, both seems to have pre flash. The ADI is not suppose to has pre-flash at all. :dunno:

ADI and preflash is the same thing, both giving out a flash signal before calculating the flash intensity and duration. Hence they are both pre-flash TTL, with ADI has distance coding.

However, with ADI (if you use D lenses, D flash,ADI capable camera), the camera will calculate the "distance" and combine with the preflash "signal" to calculate the intensity and duration of the flash.

Really, both don't make much different, ADI only good for some specific usage, which is hardly useful.

don't worry too much about ADI.

If you use 3rd party lens, and ADI flash metering make the flash to overexpose or under, all u need to do is to switch it to "pre-flash" TTL, it will cure the problem.

Hart

tankm said:

learn the art of manual... since digital is free... but dun try it on someone else's wedding...

Thanks for the clarification. :)

Agetan said:
ADI and preflash is the same thing, both giving out a flash signal before calculating the flash intensity and duration. Hence they are both pre-flash TTL, with ADI has distance coding.

However, with ADI (if you use D lenses, D flash,ADI capable camera), the camera will calculate the "distance" and combine with the preflash "signal" to calculate the intensity and duration of the flash.

Really, both don't make much different, ADI only good for some specific usage, which is hardly useful.

don't worry too much about ADI.

If you use 3rd party lens, and ADI flash metering make the flash to overexpose or under, all u need to do is to switch it to "pre-flash" TTL, it will cure the problem.

Hart

Manual flash....done it before with FZ20. Don't like it, cause by the time I got the exposure correct my macro subject gone into hidding or blinded. TTL is a saviour. :bsmilie:

learn the art of manual... since digital is free... but dun try it on someone else's wedding...