What is your next lens?

Hmm, I read somewhere that the Pentax 50/1.7 is a better lens. It's faster, can focuse closer, and doesn't need to be converted to mount on K5 ;)

Kiddding aside, congrats on another new toy. Looks it's in fantastic condition :)

Took your advice...

401364_10150635189606138_748241137_11658083_341083277_n.jpg

JK I got the F50 a little while ago. As nice as it was, I returned the Leica in the end because it couldn't focus to infinity.

Hi, compare to you guys, I'm a newbie. I got my k-5 few months ago and now I have kit 1 lens, 100mm macro non WR, 43mm limited. Here is my problem, now i have 43mm and I love the quality of Images came out from it,but I was wondering 43mm and 31mm which one is better in Quality and usefulness. Cos I find my lens is not as wide as I want to be. Its like purely design for portrait. Now I'm thinking like I made a mistake that I didnt go for 31mm. And I'm more of the street photographer type. I wanna know more about 31mm and anyone here care to share anything regarding this 31mm lens? :what:

For street photos, 43 is a bit too tight. 31 is a lot better. If you think 31 is too exp, can think of 21 too.

Ah.... The joy of LBA... LOL!!
Wonder which way shall I go....

A) FA31 + DA55
B) Siggy 30 + FA43

*faints*

A la need to say further meh hahaha but B for budget

simon6z said:
A la need to say further meh hahaha but B for budget

Hmm... That's true... Never considered that.. I just love thin DoF... So it's either ~30mm+thin DoF or ~50mm+thin DoF..

HaiZ...

Hi, compare to you guys, I'm a newbie. I got my k-5 few months ago and now I have kit 1 lens, 100mm macro non WR, 43mm limited. Here is my problem, now i have 43mm and I love the quality of Images came out from it,but I was wondering 43mm and 31mm which one is better in Quality and usefulness. Cos I find my lens is not as wide as I want to be. Its like purely design for portrait. Now I'm thinking like I made a mistake that I didnt go for 31mm. And I'm more of the street photographer type. I wanna know more about 31mm and anyone here care to share anything regarding this 31mm lens?

IMO, there really is no lens that is not suitable for streets.
All focal lengths has its uses for streets and candids.

Longer lenses for more isolation; wider ones for more environmental shots.
With the 43, its very versatile for streets.
Close in at 1-2m, it does portraits.
Stand further back 3-5m and it does environmental portraits.

all taken with 43ltd
5087914116_08e48ec3f2_b.jpg

5086126979_6a5f4ddaca_b.jpg

6843623955_ce51021c57_z.jpg

6843620965_767309c4d2_z.jpg

6474889779_08c3afc26e_z.jpg

ahh... thanks for the information felixcat! sorry if I posted in the wrong thread but just a quick qns bout lens... a wide angle lens for the K-r is left with

1) Tamron SP AF10-24mm F/3.5-4.5 Di II

2) Pentax smc PENTAX DA 12-24mm F4 ED AL [IF]

3) Sigma 10-20mm F3.5 EX DC HSM

am I right? Or is there any other brands that I missed out... sorry if I posted in the wrong thread and TIA!

There is also Sigma 8-16mm f4.5-5.6

For street photos, 43 is a bit too tight. 31 is a lot better. If you think 31 is too exp, can think of 21 too.

yes I thinking of getting 31mm but its too expensive. But how is the image quality? is it better then 43mm ? i find 43mm is quite good. 100mm Macro oso not bad.
Yes I'm thinking of 21mm also. But then how about wider range like 14mm or 15mm ? but at pentax imaging side reviews are not very good for those lens. I dun have enouf budgets to go buy all and test :cry:.
and how about zoom lens like 50 135? this one got good reputation right? I was planning to get that but now on hold as I dun have enouf budget for that . 1 portrait (if can do wide angle better) , 1 zoom for all rounder and 1 macro. Now I think I messed up my plan :D. Like sigma 24-70 (or something like that) will be nice to have. But pentax one is not *.:embrass: So now I'm confused with where I should go.

Not too sure to get the 18-135 with the k5 or 17-50 tamron... Any advice?

depend on your style of shooting..

18-135 is WR so if you need that then its a good choice to get and it has a bigger range so if you dun wan to change your lens halfway while shooting..this might be the lens to get
17-50 tamron is f2.8 so it will be good for low light shots

Thanks! I'm just a little scared of the misfocus thingy which I read about for tamron... Might grab the 18-135

r31t0 said:
Thanks! I'm just a little scared of the misfocus thingy which I read about for tamron... Might grab the 18-135

Then you should read on the beauty of "adjustment"... :)

Some other things to consider though:

Do you take photos which need minimal distortion at wide focal length? Because the 18-135 WR has distortions at 18mm.

The 18-135 otherwise is a refined lens. Looks great, focus is usually quick, spot on and sound level during focusing is very low. Combined with K-5 quiet shutter click, and it is very unobtrusive (compare to K-R's shutter sound, which is much louder).

Colours look good, photos are sharp, distortion or no.

The Tamron, on the other hand, is a screw drive lens, I think. Usual screw drive bzzzzz :) I hate it personally.

For low light, I usually carry a prime around, such as a sigma 30mm f1.4, if the 18-135 can't make the cut, and zoom with my feet.

guys, think i might have saved up enough for a 77mm limited ... but how come the price i see in the marketplace is ... kinda high for a 2nd hand one ?

is there a price increase, the one listed in the price guide albeit old (jan 2011) ... is just under 1.1k. anyone brought a new one recently ?

I sold mine at 930 with b+w filter . U got to wait .

nvm .... looking for a new one

guys, think i might have saved up enough for a 77mm limited ... but how come the price i see in the marketplace is ... kinda high for a 2nd hand one ?

is there a price increase, the one listed in the price guide albeit old (jan 2011) ... is just under 1.1k. anyone brought a new one recently ?

gonna get the 77 in 2 wks time, so i jus checked the prices (and played with them too). the silver/black sells at $1043. fa31 is $1403 if i rmb correctly. didnt ask abt the 43mm

wau ... even the silver is selling at 1043 ... is it slrr or op ? i will pm you if you dun feel comfortable mentioning here :)