What is my next camera ?

do you have external flash? Get a TTL flash, monopod/tripod. Monopod is more versatile, lighter, helps a lot when you manual focus.

to be very frank, using a better camera does not make you a better photographer, or improve on your photography, cause you only upgrading hardware (camera), but still using the same old software (your brain), you will still make the same mistakes, but at a faster speed, on a larger image, etc...
however, holding a better camera surely it will make you feel good, feel proud, feel satisfaction, if these sound good enough to you and it is affordable, you can just go ahead, don't bother what other people think about it, after all, it is your own money and it is your own freewill make yourself happy isn't it?

Thanks for so many advice, think i will keep my camera & try to purchase an 50mm f1.8 to use.
=)

Personally, I think you will still ask the same question again a few months down the road. If you are keen in photography, you will always want to upgrade to a better camera, a better lens. There is no level playing field in photography - a person with a lousy camera and lens will always have a lower ratio of good photographs than one with a good camera and lens. My advice is to systematically upgrade your camera and lens, and go out to take more photos to understand how to operate your equipment so that it becomes second nature to you. Even if you are a lousy photographer, you will stand a better chance of capturing a good photo with a good camera and lens.

There is no level playing field in photography - a person with a lousy camera and lens will always have a lower ratio of good photographs than one with a good camera and lens... Even if you are a lousy photographer, you will stand a better chance of capturing a good photo with a good camera and lens.

I am sorry, but i have to totally disagree with your statements here.

A very good photographer with older mediocre gear will always get a very much higher ratio of good photographs than a lousy photographer with the top gear.

Most good photos are not captured by chance. The moment happens, but there needs to be the training to capture that moment when it comes, and the ability to frame that moment in an appealing/meaningful way in that split second. Even for landscapes where time is more forgiving, a person without the techniques or understanding of what makes a good landscape photo, will never be able to capture a great landscape photo like an experienced shooter with lousy gear.

If you want proof... simple. Just take any newbie photographer who just bought a D4 as a first camera... compare the number of good shots to Steve McCurry's old photos when he used old film gear shot on slides. Or a newbie landscape photographer with a D800e compared to Ansel Adams who used old film cameras.. And you will get your answer...

You are right about one thing though. that there is no level playing field in photography. Because it all depends on the photographer and his creativity. Gear can never level the playing field for you.

Personally, I think you will still ask the same question again a few months down the road. If you are keen in photography, you will always want to upgrade to a better camera, a better lens. There is no level playing field in photography - a person with a lousy camera and lens will always have a lower ratio of good photographs than one with a good camera and lens. My advice is to systematically upgrade your camera and lens, and go out to take more photos to understand how to operate your equipment so that it becomes second nature to you. Even if you are a lousy photographer, you will stand a better chance of capturing a good photo with a good camera and lens.

upgrading better cameras/lenses are always a "want", seldomly a "need".

to improve photography, is to improve the skills, not the gears

putting the gears before the skills, the improvement of photography won't be significant.

If there's one reason..

Upgrading to a more tok kong camera forces me to take better pics cuz paiseh to show people lousy pics taken with a tok kong camera..

:cool:

Getting a better camera will definitely not better the quality of ur photos. But if this is your first camera, and if you are keen in staying learning consistently, getting a better camera will:

1. Saves you upgrading cost (both time & money)
2. Allows you to learn a lot faster as you have more options right from the start

That's why many recommend the best camera is the one you can afford. If you have 15k to splurge, just get a 1Dx/D4 with one or two pro grade lenses. If you only have $500, getting a 2nd hand entry body with kit lens will do you just fine. The initial portion of photography learning is good enough to last you at least a year, both technically & aesthetically.

If this is an upgrade, you should know by now what are you lacking that needs you to upgrade. Get the best camera you can afford that overcomes your limitation at least, the rest of what else it can also achieve are bonus.

Totally disagree. You may have a higher ratio of SHARP photos, but not "better" ones. Your mentality sounds like the measurebators that are basically just "guys with cameras" instead of actual photographers.

All the pros have spoken...

Maybe my analogy was wrong to make such a comparison, but my intention was to encourage TS to keep on progressing to better equipment as his skills improves. He may have hit a brickwall in his current equipment setup, and its not wrong to appreciate better equipment if money is not an issue. TS can keep on improving his skills while upgrading his equipments at the same time. That's my personal opinion, but others may disagree - so be it. TS can ignore my viewpoints if he doesn't like it.

Totally disagree. You may have a higher ratio of SHARP photos, but not "better" ones. Your mentality sounds like the measurebators that are basically just "guys with cameras" instead of actual photographers.

Your last paragraph shows your fantastic knowledge in photography, not to say that you are correct in judging me, but certainly it sets me thinking - it may sound corny, but I certainly learnt something from your last paragraph.:)

All the pros have spoken...

Maybe my analogy was wrong to make such a comparison, but my intention was to encourage TS to keep on progressing to better equipment as his skills improves. He may have hit a brickwall in his current equipment setup, and its not wrong to appreciate better equipment if money is not an issue. TS can keep on improving his skills while upgrading his equipments at the same time. That's my personal opinion, but others may disagree - so be it. TS can ignore my viewpoints if he doesn't like it.

I think it is not really the analogy that you got wrong since what you said before was not an analogy in the first place but two outright statements.

Anyway, as a photographer improves on technical and creative skills, he/she will start to understand what he/she needs/lacks in terms of gear. I wouldn't be too worried that he/she would stop progressing with better equipment. With better skill and knowledge, one will be wiser in selecting gear.

BTW, nothing wrong with satisfying the urge of poison by splurging on better equipment. Just that it has nothing to do with getting better pictures if the skills are not up to par.

If you don't have a driver's license, you can't drive cars. Getting a Cherry QQ or a Lamborghini doesn't matter to you cept for the bragging rights with the latter.

Fact that someone is asking what he should buy next shows that he doesn't need anything else. If he has worked his way through the camera and found what he need, he will know what to buy next without having to ask anyone.

Kit said:
Fact that someone is asking what he should buy next shows that he doesn't need anything else. If he has worked his way through the camera and found what he need, he will know what to buy next without having to ask anyone.

Well said :thumbsup:

yongwei said:
Im now using Nikon D5100, AF-S 18-55
& i have another Sigma lens 18-200,
i wish to sell my D5100 basic set & upgrade to another model(maybe just buy body only ?)
but i dont know beside of D7000 what else i can choose....
anyone can advice ??

If I were you, I'd not buy anything at this moment.

I'd enrol myself for a photography workshop or two, and spend my weekends with other photographers.

You may surprise yourself with the pictures you can take with your existing equipment.

And you can also checkout all the different equipment used by the other photographers.

"Even if you are a lousy photographer, you will stand a better chance of capturing a good photo with a good camera and lens." - What you said.

erm. No. I dont agree.
With a good/better camera and lens. You're just able to capture sharper (better camera+lens) and cleaner (if u use high ISO) and more shots (If u use FPS).
And all those stated above..are not equal good photo. They just meant. Sharper, Cleaner picture. Period.

Perhaps...you're definition of good photo is different from many others including myself or maybe just me... No right or wrong i guess in this case

For me. A good photo should have good composition, subject and lighting. And of cos the timing. Or they call it the moment. And these in most cases..you dont need some good or professional gear to achieve.

Like i said.. Its just me..above is what i think and my personal opinion. Its alright if you don't agree. In the end..we have the choice to choose what we believe in right? ;)

When my good olde D40 gave up on me with exposure problem, I was in the market for a replacement. Just 2months ago, presto, the fabulous D3100 was on offer and without hesitation, I bought it.

My first cam was the Yashica Electro GSN. And still shooting today, but no more film long ago.

And the 18-70 kit lens is the lens mounted on this D3100 all the time. and this kit lens is from the D70, my very first venture into the world of digital photo.

Upgrading? Well, I dun find any need to upgrade camera or lens. What I need to do is to upgrade my skills.

La Fontaine said:
When my good olde D40 gave up on me with exposure problem, I was in the market for a replacement. Just 2months ago, presto, the fabulous D3100 was on offer and without hesitation, I bought it.

My first cam was the Yashica Electro GSN. And still shooting today, but no more film long ago.

And the 18-70 kit lens is the lens mounted on this D3100 all the time. and this kit lens is from the D70, my very first venture into the world of digital photo.

Upgrading? Well, I dun find any need to upgrade camera or lens. What I need to do is to upgrade my skills.

Yup!

I've got a colleague who's got a 5d2 with 24-70. But these days, she prefers using her trusty film Canon instead, because she appreciates the need for skills with the film... and not the tendencies for trigger happy with digital.

My point to TS is that the equipment can help you to a certain extent. After that it's the person pulling the trigger (or pressing the button).

Thats right.. if you have the money. By all means. Just get what you feel like. Get the best also ok.

But 1 thing TS and many people need to know is.. By doing so.. dosent mean your picture will straight away be very good or at least what you see (on the internet from other people. If you think you can achieve the same with the same gear..you might be wrong. Unless u have the skill or is better than him/her.)

Same. Buying a BMW or Lamborghini wont make you a better driver. But no doubt..we know its good car. :bsmilie:

buying a BMW wont make me a better driver, but i would definitely feel more "shiok" driving, not to mention the better stability as compared to say a Proton or Kia, Cherry QQ etc. LOL

d2xpeter said:
buying a BMW wont make me a better driver, but i would definitely feel more "shiok" driving, not to mention the better stability as compared to say a Proton or Kia, Cherry QQ etc. LOL

Lol!!