-= What are you listening to now? =-

anything goes for me lah.. except techno and trance with their "uhm-zhi uhm-zhi". :sweat:
recently become quite a fan of Faye Wong (surprising cuz im not a very chinese sort of person even though im chinese - lol). and a few other chinese singers.
also love Dishwalla, Yellowcard and Bjork.
also into Robbie Williams - quite like some of his latest songs. just a few.
and jazzy sort of songs by Siljie Nergaard, Lisa Ono etc.

I like movie sountracks and instrumenentals although i dont mind the occaitonal rock or dance track. My fav ST is still The Lion King (extended score) Hans Zimmer is one of my favourite composers.

good morning folks!

at this moment in time,
Saint Etienne - Tales from Turnpike House :thumbsup:

Excellent concept album from one of my favorite bands~ (might be their last :cry: )

the songs are based around a fictionious London apartment block and stories about its tenants :D

simplicity_ said:
anything goes for me lah.. except techno and trance with their "uhm-zhi uhm-zhi". :sweat:
recently become quite a fan of Faye Wong (surprising cuz im not a very chinese sort of person even though im chinese - lol). and a few other chinese singers.

"uhm-zhi-uhm-zhi" :bsmilie: very original description :bsmilie:

Experimental Rock & Avant-Garde:

Sonic Youth/Derek Bailey/Evan Parker/Elliot Sharp/Margaret Leng Tan/John Cage/Henry Cowell/Thurston Moore/Lee Ranaldo/Free Kitten/Poem Rocket/Mogwai/Tortoise/Trail of Dead/Godspeed You Black Emperor/CAN/Rachel's/Glenn Branca/William Winant/Experimental Audio Research/William Hooker/John Zorn/Hearing Hill/Maharajah Commission/Furniture/Steve Reich/

Others - Indie, Punk, Post-Rock, etc:
Radiohead/Slowdive/Sigur Ros/The Swirlies/The Pixies/Gumball/Dinosaur Jr/Nirvana/Foo Fighters/LIVE/Crumb/Blur/Gorillaz/Sleater-Kinney/Bodyjar/mi6/The Ramones/Belvedere/Weezer/Suburban Damnit!/Humpback Oak/Concave Scream/Aspidistra Fly/Deftones/The Moderates/Kate of Kale/Man or Astro-Man?/Sommerset/Livonia/Fuzzbox/U2/Prodigy/Depeche Mode/June of 44/Lemko Hall/Firehose/Husker Du/Nick Drake/Massive Attack/Television/Superchunk/Symposium/Cords/Mudhoney/Sex Pistols/Stereolab/

Chinese Rock:
Mian Kong Yue Dui 面孔乐队
Ci Ke Yue Dui 刺客乐队
Tang Dynasty 唐朝乐队
Hei Bao Yue Dui 黑豹乐队
Rock in Beijing 摇滚北京 I & II

All classical masterpieces and New Age.

Mezzotint said:
Experimental Rock & Avant-Garde:

Sonic Youth/Derek Bailey/Evan Parker/Elliot Sharp/Margaret Leng Tan/John Cage/Henry Cowell/Thurston Moore/Lee Ranaldo/Free Kitten/Poem Rocket/Mogwai/Tortoise/Trail of Dead/Godspeed You Black Emperor/CAN/Rachel's/Glenn Branca/William Winant/Experimental Audio Research/William Hooker/John Zorn/Hearing Hill/Maharajah Commission/Furniture/Steve Reich/

Others - Indie, Punk, Post-Rock, etc:
Radiohead/Slowdive/Sigur Ros/The Swirlies/The Pixies/Gumball/Dinosaur Jr/Nirvana/Foo Fighters/LIVE/Crumb/Blur/Gorillaz/Sleater-Kinney/Bodyjar/mi6/The Ramones/Belvedere/Weezer/Suburban Damnit!/Humpback Oak/Concave Scream/Aspidistra Fly/Deftones/The Moderates/Kate of Kale/Man or Astro-Man?/Sommerset/Livonia/Fuzzbox/U2/Prodigy/Depeche Mode/June of 44/Lemko Hall/Firehose/Husker Du/Nick Drake/Massive Attack/Television/Superchunk/Symposium/Cords/Mudhoney/Sex Pistols/Stereolab/

Sonic Youth...words can't describe how seminal this band has been on countless of acts that appeared after them

i see a number of local acts in your list too :thumbsup:

wah, Man or Astro-man~

I like Stereolab and Nick Drake too (still surprisingly haunting and relevant after all these years) among many others in your list

guessing from your 'tastes'...let me assume you are in your mid-late 20s?

Sion said:
Listening to landlord banging my door asking for rent with "The Prayer" playing at the background.

so he's using his ten thousand fists? :bsmilie:

simplicity_ said:

wooah. your umzhi umzhi umzhi make it sound very shallow leh, the music. actually there are many genres that incorporate the umzhi phenomeno:D n...house, ambient, progressive, triphop..

i have been listening to all my album collection of Cafe Del Mar for the past week..

doug3fflux said:
wooah. your umzhi umzhi umzhi make it sound very shallow leh, the music. actually there are many genres that incorporate the umzhi phenomeno:D n...house, ambient, progressive, triphop..

i have been listening to all my album collection of Cafe Del Mar for the past week..

and within house, there's garage house..two-step..hardhouse..acid house...etc :bsmilie:

not to mention ancient vibes like gabba, hardcore and rave

goa trance does it for me

doug3fflux said:
so he's using his ten thousand fists? :bsmilie:

you talking about the new record from Disturbed?

sounds like more of the same old.. leh :bsmilie:

Stereobox said:

Sonic Youth...words can't describe how seminal this band has been on countless of acts that appeared after them

i see a number of local acts in your list too :thumbsup:

wah, Man or Astro-man~

I like Stereolab and Nick Drake too (still surprisingly haunting and relevant after all these years)

guessing from your 'tastes'...let me assume you are in your mid-late 20s?

Guess you're wrong Stereobox. Hahaha...:bsmilie: I'm at my early 30s. To me, No Music No Life! :)

Hope Stereolab is still carry on making their music since the tragic death of their vocalist. Nick Drake died of tragic too. I still love his music and songs so much. Man or Astro-Man? considered Post-Surf Rock punk band. They are really good in fact, comparing to the old skool master, Dick Dale.

Sonic Youth songs and music really influenced me alot during the days when I was playing in my band. Not to mention indiividual band member's own solo works. Each has their own rights. Lee Ranaldo being more poetic with words and his experimental music can be quite sinister at times. Thurston is just good at what he does best - super sonic riff with crazy noise-art as accessories or ornaments to his music craft. Kim Gordon is one old skool riot-grrrl who still rocks. They do influenced lotsa of bands and they still play an important part in the punk and underground jazz music scenes. :)

Mezzotint said:
Guess you're wrong Stereobox. Hahaha...:bsmilie: I'm at my early 30s. To me, No Music No Life! :)

Hope Stereolab is still carry on making their music since the tragic death of their vocalist. Nick Drake died of tragic too. I still love his music and songs so much. Man or Astro-Man? considered Post-Surf Rock punk band. They are really good in fact, comparing to the old skool master, Dick Dale.

Sonic Youth songs and music really influenced me alot during the days when I was playing in my band. Not to mention indiividual band member's own solo works. Each has their own rights. Lee Ranaldo being more poetic with words and his experimental music can be quite sinister at times. Thurston is just good at what he does best - super sonic riff with crazy noise-art as accessories or ornaments to his music craft. Kim Gordon is one old skool riot-grrrl who still rocks. They do influenced lotsa of bands and they still play an important part in the punk and underground jazz music scenes.

ok..close enough :sweat:

in the '90s, when i was still in my teens, i started listening to some of the bands you listed. they became 'popular' around that time. i'm in my mid-20s now so i assumed the same for you :embrass:

but seriously,your selection encompasses a wide gamut of artistes from the post-modern contemporary rock/pop/whatever-they-wanna-call-it scene :thumbsup:

mezzotint

I have the Seagull 205 RF in your avatar.

There..... I have put in a message related to photography in this thread. :bsmilie:

And saved you all from being classified as "what's wrong with clubsnap forum" comment by someone in Feedback to Mods.

As if all CS members were one-dimensional photo-nerds capable only of and desiring only to exchange messages about photo-related topics.

And as if we need to ask permission before we post messages on other interesting aspects of life. (of course not inflammatory/illegal/lewd/crass multi-ID advert to sell stuff)

you copy my thread from another 'kopitiam' forum~!

Listening to BBC Radio 5 Live - haha! But if I switch to music, I'm really into the new Madonna album now. It's rather good.

haha u r welcome.
I share becos i care...

this site was my msn nick for the longest time.
I dunno about other genres but old school rock, rock ballads work really really well with this..
esp the old songs you dun hear on radio anymore. the best part is it tells you the title and the band.

Stereobox said:
this is really, really cool! thanks for sharing, slaam!

Bittersweet by H.I.M. and Apocalyptica :thumbsup:

Stereobox said:
ok..close enough :sweat:

in the '90s, when i was still in my teens, i started listening to some of the bands you listed. they became 'popular' around that time. i'm in my mid-20s now so i assumed the same for you :embrass:

but seriously,your selection encompasses a wide gamut of artistes from the post-modern contemporary rock/pop/whatever-they-wanna-call-it scene :thumbsup:

Hahaha... guess our age gap is not that big after all. :)

Some of the bands you were starting to listen to, became the "main stream" of the 90s in rock-n-roll context. Grunge was really in during that era. Bands like Pearl Jam, Mudhoney, Smashing Pumpkins, Soundgarden and especially Nirvana are famous and popular. They all started really early and had been around for as long as 10 years before fame found them. For Nirvana, it's a different story. I'm sure you have read abt it somewhere.

I came to listen to different music genres since I was 12. I first started listening to pop/rap music like Top 40 Billboard with bands/groups like U2, A-ha, Bros, Erasure, Depeche Mode, Wet Wet Wet, Roxette, Level 42, Vanilla Ice, MC Hammer, INXS, Nick Kershaw, Banarama, New Order, Tears for Fear, Pet Shop Boys, etc. Hahaha... when this genre made a come-back in the late 90s, the industry called it Retrospective and Zouk has their Mambo Jumbo every Wednesday as homage. Still going strong I think.

During my teenage years in the late 80s, Metal Mania was high. I started to listen to Guns N Roses, Poison, Skid Row, Motley Crue, Metallica, Kreator, Warrant, Ugly Kid Joe, Whitesnake, Judas Priest, Testament, Mr Big, Firehouse and many more. Even listiening to Death/Thrash Metal like Gorguts, Morbid Angel, Cannibal Corpse, Sadus. Pretty evil eh? :devil:

After my NS, I started to listen to Alternative/Indie Rock, Punk Rock and some local rock bands as well. I even got involved in the local music scene too. It was fun and exciting. Formed a Alt. Grunge band in 1999 and disbanded a year later. Formed another soon and that was where I listened more to experimental stuff.