Was abt to buy a Nikon 35mm then...

S-11 is the kopitiam.

The MS Color i'm refering too is on the 2nd Flr of AMK Hub. Its near to an esclator. As i said earlier, i still go to the other MS Color at S-11.

LOL, right, sorry for my lack of knowledge..i don't know AMK very well..hehe.

i see, now that clarifies everything, yeah as the others have said. just beware wherever you are!;)

how's his umbrella even the concern here?:bsmilie:

anyway, just name the shop la,big name or small name, just throw it out...cause it wouldn't be good if one of us here gets cheated leh...and you are empowered to STOP that;p

The umbrella is important in this story becos it was the culprit that wet the warranty card. Because it smudged due to wetting it lead TS to suspect that certain parts of the package is flawed.

So when the story first told, it seem very inconsiderate that someone plonked a wet umbrella on the display shelf. No only does it obstruct the view of other customers and wet the area, it may leak into the items inside. (depends on quality of the built).

I suppose TS has already how it got there.

okay, i get the part of the umbrella, i thought we have already moved past the part about the umbrella..lol.

ok ok, we are still on the name of the shop right?
Or has it been confirm to be the MS branch?

LOL, right, sorry for my lack of knowledge..i don't know AMK very well..hehe.

i see, now that clarifies everything, yeah as the others have said. just beware wherever
you are!;)
We have moved past the kopitam

The umbrella is important in this story becos it was the culprit that wet the warranty card. Because it smudged due to wetting it lead TS to suspect that certain parts of the package is flawed.

So when the story first told, it seem very inconsiderate that someone plonked a wet umbrella on the display shelf. No only does it obstruct the view of other customers and wet the area, it may leak into the items inside. (depends on quality of the built).

I suppose TS has already how it got there.

okay, i get the part of the umbrella, i thought we have already moved past the part about the umbrella..lol.

We have moved past the umbrella

ok ok, we are still on the name of the shop right?
Or has it been confirm to be the MS branch?

And we are still not sure of the name of the shop? :bsmilie:

shop is MS color AMK branch, if i am wrong, please correct me TS, i somehow feel like i am half guessing cause you were never explicit..heh

actually he did say, so yes MS color AMK hub. i think we got the conclusion here=)

Such things can happen at any shop. Buyer's beware.

Always bring a wet umbrella when you are going to get a lens:bsmilie:

This has got to be one of the most hilarious advice for buying lens! Hahaha. Good one. :bsmilie:

Anyway just to clarify things...since I have bought quite a few things from compact cameras to my latest D90 at the AMK shop in question...

MS Color main branch is at S-11 and their smaller outlet is at AMK Hub. You can see this info on their website. http://www.mscolor.com.sg/

Must say I read this thread with much interest and shock as I find their service very commendable. Especially if you call or ask for e-quote. They always make time to reply and answer queries. I just hope its a one off event.

Cheers peops.

i am buying things from central MS, so far so good...buy lens let u try until u song,(think it was florence)- always say " work so hard, must spend money wisely, capture the image of loved ones,worth it to buy..etc..." , I seldom bargain until everybody buay song, just do some research and if they sell at the forum price, i buy... Just that day, bought abt 600 bucks worth ...i casually ask to pay by credit card, and ask her to waive the extra charge, she say chin chye...:-)

check your warranty before you let yourself dive into happiness..lol.

Hey guys,

wanna share with you my experiece with a shop in AMK this evening. Was looking high and low for a 35mm this week, so i called and this shop has the lens in stock. When i was there,
i check the lens etc... Everything was good. There was even the warranty slip which is white in colour. Nikon Singapore was printed on it too. Lastly, i check the serial number against the slip. End up, it didn't MATCH. Even the starting number also different. I was shocked and ask the salesman. He insisted it was original set. And reduced to price to $348.
Somehow the serial number didn't match, so i didn't buy. The salesman started showing black papaya face. As it was raining, i had my umbrella on the display case. As there was some water, the warranty slip came into contact with some water. This really shocked me. :o The printed Nikon Singapore Pte Ltd got smudge... occurred to me that this shldn't happen.

I just left the shop quickly.

Am i right to say its a grey set or fake set??? Box everything was so alike. :dunno:

And aren't the warranty slip yellow in colour???

Just wanna share my experience. :D

No offense to those who had purchased things from this shop before.

is the saleman the one middle age one? if so agree that face quite black like people owe him money, 9 out of 10 times i walk in he black face...so never buy from him usually...but 1 out of 10 times i saw him serving people of his age gp, like elderly uncle aunty he more talkative and more salemanship...hmm

just bought a 50mm 1.8D, my warranty card is white (nikon worldwide) with nikon singapore Pte Ltd printed as distro.

Hey guys,

wanna share with you my experiece with a shop in AMK this evening. Was looking high and low for a 35mm this week, so i called and this shop has the lens in stock. When i was there,
i check the lens etc... Everything was good. There was even the warranty slip which is white in colour. Nikon Singapore was printed on it too. Lastly, i check the serial number against the slip. End up, it didn't MATCH. Even the starting number also different. I was shocked and ask the salesman. He insisted it was original set. And reduced to price to $348.
Somehow the serial number didn't match, so i didn't buy. The salesman started showing black papaya face. As it was raining, i had my umbrella on the display case. As there was some water, the warranty slip came into contact with some water. This really shocked me. :o The printed Nikon Singapore Pte Ltd got smudge... occurred to me that this shldn't happen.

I just left the shop quickly.

Am i right to say its a grey set or fake set??? Box everything was so alike. :dunno:

And aren't the warranty slip yellow in colour???

Just wanna share my experience. :D

No offense to those who had purchased things from this shop before.

I usually buy from the shop and would most likely go back there again for its services and price.

But I feel you need not apologise to the so called "loyal customers", on the contrary, its great you flag up inconsistencies in their practices, so the shop can act on it, and the returning customers are aware of it.

Also, what happened was a fact, so I feel its ok to explicitly name the shop.

I almost wet my pants when I saw this because I bought my D700 from MS in AMK few weeks back! :D On the bright side, this made me do the e-warranty registration that I have been postponing and managed to get the serial number verified without any issues. Also noticed that the Warranty registration slip was white in colour and had Nikon SG has the authorised distributor.

On the other hand, made me quite disappointed to see MS trying to do something like this. Apart from my friend Tommy in Harvey Norman, MS is the only other place that I feel comfortable to buy stuff from, whenever I'm purchasing new. When I was in MS for the D700, the staff were quite courteous and the Lady even advised me to try out the bag that comes for free before thinking of purchasing another, when I showed a momentary interest in changing to a different Lowepro model. In fact I chose MS because of the reputation that they among members here. Such a small incident like this could tarnish the image that took years to build. Wonder if a mere sale of couple of hundred bucks worth it considering the whole fiasco... :(

well, too bad for MS color, their reputation is not too good now, buyers beware!