user12343 said:in a way yes, as radio spectrum management and licensing is part of their job, they have to ensure that the allocated radio spectrum is only for the organization who paid $$$ in annual fees and not used freely by others.
they have specialized equipments like directional finders to pinpoint the source of illegal radio transmissions.
MDZ2 said:I think these were selling at Isetan some time ago. A lady I met at a shopping center told she bought for her kids a pair of watch walkie talkies that have a 3km range. This might be it.
firestone said:Strange how many guys have this unexplainable attraction to walkie talkies...:bsmilie:
I always pick one up when I see them being sold, feel like owning one but when wifey ask buy for what, I also don't know...lol..
Me: wah, very cool, 20km leh...
Wifey: Got use meh..?
Me: wah, got 5 channels...
Me: wah, look very rugged, can tahan knocks type...
Me: Er...no use lah...maybe next time when I go camping..
Wifey:When is the last time u went camping...
Me: Er...
*Walk on,...until my next encounter with these temptress...and the same conversation will repeat..lol
firestone said:Strange how many guys have this unexplainable attraction to walkie talkies...:bsmilie:
I always pick one up when I see them being sold, feel like owning one but when wifey ask buy for what, I also don't know...lol..
*Walk on,...until my next encounter with these temptress...and the same conversation will repeat..lol
:bsmilie: Very true! :thumbsup: I would tell her that must buy! So that every time we go shopping, we can split up so that I can radio you when I find a shop that has a better bargain for your clothes and you can radio me when you have finished shopping. Then I have an excuse to stay away from her during her shopping spree and watch XMMs.;pzcwnfx said:wah, attack her like this, then she will come after u and ask u about ur BBB spree with lens....
then die liao.....
i also want walkie talkie....
if jus across, i think carrefour and challenger got sell....
oh yes they can. you'll be surprised.davsmiths said:I get the idea. Each "spectrum" is registered with the handset no. and some ID. If an "illegal" one is spotted on the spectrum... it can be seen but they cannot pinpoint our geographical location unless it is revealed.
Those are HF radios, do a google on ham radio. OR amateur radio, not unlike our amateur photography hobby.davsmiths said:haha! howah! that's quite cool man.
What about those kind of big big private radios that people use to just communicate with other people on the other side of the globe. I remember watching a documentary on it. It's like you can just tune into any radio frequency and chat with people.
what are those called?
Hey, you a ham? You know quite a bit.yanyewkay said:oh yes they can. you'll be surprised.
Slight OT, there used to be a game called 'Fox Hunt' where amatuer radio hobbyists hunt for this 'fox' which is just a simple transmitter. Something like hide and seek, except they hunt for a transmitter. Not played in Singapore though.
2100 said:Hey, you a ham? You know quite a bit.![]()
Last time i yearned to be a ham, but then..... SG everything also knn.
In Indonesia rules are much more lax, though there are many registered hams over there. Damn it, they even use their 156 MHz marine radios on land to chit chat as if its a mobile phone.
eesteck said:My bro bought these from HK before, very lousy. Fun for kids only.