Utterly Disgusted by Alan Photo

Called a shop to check price on D80 and MB80 for someone, told me that currently out of stock, all taken up before GST increase. Their price after 7% GST are $1458.6 and $198.9 (unit price).

D80 kit (18~135mm) + 2GB CF + Big Nikon Bag now @ $1866.6 after GST. Shop that break the kit can sell cheaper and make more. Also told that in SLSq somewhere up in 5th or 6th floor, there is a shop selling parallel import unit from HK and is cheaper.

However, was advice NOT to get now as price likely to go down soon. Also told, you still have the old DSLR to use, so don't rush now. I'd brought from them in the past, but didn't buy anything from them for more than a year.

In term of testing before purchase, I had tried more than 20 of their cameras and only brought a DSLR and a PnS. They even let me bring the cameras out of their shop so that I can test on moving vehicles by the road (about 50m from their shop).

Guys do you think this is a good service? Can't post there name here otherwise the distributor will kill them for letting me know the price is going to drop. If you are interested to know, PM me and I will let you know who they are.

I know the quoted prices above are higher than many shops, but with the freebies added, the price may not differ by a lot. Oh, they ever told me that they can give better on certain brands but loss out to other shops on other brands. So, every shops has their pluses and minuses. Like many mentioned shop around for the best price.

There was once a friend of mine wanted to get a reflector , I know AP is not the place to get but we were at funan and CP at peninsula was closed so he decided to just try his luck. We went to AP , asked the person standing just at the entrance..

my friend : "sorry do you sell any reflectors?"
guy at entrance : "huh? what's that? what brand one? Canon?"

Me and my friend was rather surprised that camera sales man dunno what's a reflector.

he then ask his colleague behind the counter..the lady behind the counter just gave a blank look... whom later looked at the other person behind the counter.. who then also gave a blur look and ask my friend what is a reflector for?

wow.. we just said "thank you" and walk out laughing.

I dunno..maybe it's us.. but a shop that sells cameras + equipment dunno what reflector is , is pretty ....................................... :thumbsd:

There was once a friend of mine wanted to get a reflector , I know AP is not the place to get but we were at funan and CP at peninsula was closed so he decided to just try his luck. We went to AP , asked the person standing just at the entrance..

my friend : "sorry do you sell any reflectors?"
guy at entrance : "huh? what's that? what brand one? Canon?"

Me and my friend was rather surprised that camera sales man dunno what's a reflector.

I think some of their staffs are just part-timers and are not really photographers themselves.

So maybe they are clear with the camera specs but got no idea what a reflector is. :sweat:

I think some of their staffs are just part-timers and are not really photographers themselves.

So maybe they are clear with the camera specs but got no idea what a reflector is. :sweat:

Still? I mean u go into Macdonalds ask for pepsi i'm sure they know what it is even tho they dont have. :bsmilie: ok ok this is a bad example i know ;p

anyway even tho you might be right but the first experience when u enter the shop is very important because it will decide if one would ever patronise the shop again..

Me : How muchie?

Dumbo : $55, last one, noe more!

Me: You sure? Last time, your shop quote me $35 only, after GST some more.

Dumbo : So low meh? Cannot be lah, so low you got there to buy lor.

Me : I offer you $35.

Dumbo : Cannot lah! Prices all went up oredi.

Me : You ask your boss lah, I want to buy at $35, you go ask your boss.

At AP SLS, they will always come back with an improved price that is now close or equal to the better prices. Why? Because you have shown your sincerity to buy and that you have demonstrated that you know the prices. They never argue with you if you demonstrate to them you want to buy from them, they are more likely to accomodate to you because they know now that you have the money to spend, and it is better to spend at their shop than someone else's shop. Just don't piss the boss off.

Dumbo : Okay lah, today boss good mood, $35, I only make $1 from you.

So if you are spending money in a shop , you have to make sure you talk nice to the boss......?:confused:

I have same experience in AP SLS.

when I have some idea to buy a camera, and i start to do bargaining, so i mentioned other place like bargaincity.com, the salesman seems upset very much and ask me to buy from bargaincity not from them.

I said i will complain it to they boss, the salesman very pleased show his name to me! faint.

so better not buy things there! why i should send money to these dead men?

At one side I agree that shops should provide good service for all customers, but I also agree that as a customer, good communication and bargaining skills are necessary.

You are dealing with people, not machine, so good talkings showing your sincerity, willingness to purchase from them and resprect to the salesperson help a deal to be carried out effectively and efficiently.

I am not trying to defend any shops. I'm simply trying to state my point that as we expect shops to service us nicely, we as customers should do our part too.

Was at Alan Photo at simlim just now to buy lambency flash diffuser. Sales person (Jasmond or Desmond) took the wrong size for my flash and after trying, tried to convince me that the flash was SUPPOSED to extend ALL THE WAY into the diffuser (it hit the dome).

My flash couldn't swivel with the diffuser on, the fit was loose and it felt unnatural. But as I didn't know any better, I trusted the sales person's advice, paid for the item and left.

Right after, I went up to Orient Photo to check if they had another item I wanted to buy. They had the lambency diffuser as well, so I thought I'd just ask how much they're selling it for. Turns out they're selling it for >$10 less than Alan Photo (not a big issue, I was agreeable with the quoted price in the first place), but the best part was, looking at the compatibility chart they had on the wall, I realised that the salesperson at Alan Photo SOLD ME THE WRONG SIZE. I went back and eventually managed to get it exchanged for the right size, without a word of apology from the salesperson.

I found the utter lack of professionalism and product knowledge at Alan Photo disgusting and was appalled by the attitude of the sales person who served me. To think that I bought my first camera from Alan Photo and it had always held a special place in my heart for me; I will NEVER BUY ANYTHING FROM ALAN PHOTO AGAIN. If they think they can pull off such stunts right in front of the customer, who knows what they are trying to do behind the store?

Pay abit more nevermind, get better service and after-sales more important. I'll be bringing my business more to places like Orient Photo and John 3:16 next. No more Alan Photo or any other Ah Beng shop for me.

Sigh...

Seeing this thread makes me feel like sharing my experience too.

Am a beginner in photography and everything, but like everyone else we do some research online for things we're taking note. I was looking for a decent tripod, and went into Alan Photo, and this guy wearing yellow tshirt was serving me. At first he was friendly enough, but when I probed about more things like what to look out for in a tripod, he went like "this is good, this is stable" to "this is cheap"...all mundane replies...I was looking for something more to convince myself that he wasn't being patronizing.

And then he brought out a Nikon Tripod cost at $70.

I was flabbergasted naturally and told him it's okay I'm leaving and he showed me this damn dark face which I'd nvr forget, yucks.

Went up to Orient Photo, 360 degrees change. The salesperson, a young chinese, was very friendly and serve me like an ang moh (professionalism), teaching me things like which make, which brand, and things to look out for. It was really mind blowing that such a branded shop like Alan Photo has to patronize me like this, as if I'm not willing to pay anything. Damn disgusted and still is ;(

To add on, I told him my budget is 100+ 200+ and don't mind spending a little more, if the tripod is good.
:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Sometimes its really worth spending a little more when you know that they appreciate your patronage. Business is about long term rapport, gotta look far.

I really don't mind spending a bit more if the salesperson didn't patronize me like the one I had. All I'm looking is for the right feeling about genuine sincerity in serving the customer's need, which in my case, is to learn more about how to choose a good tripod and the budget of it.

Not when someone brings out a cheap one and tell you this is good, when you know you're being short-changed.

;(

I was scouting prices for nikon speedlights by calling the various shops (CP, OP, AP,MS...etc) and I noticed the service level is evident by how they reply you.

Some shops, I haven't even say finish they keep saying..."dun have...we dun sell". The rudest thing is that they put the phone immediately after dat. No "you're welcome" or "bye". Basic courtesy lor. Of all the shops dat answered my call...guess wat, only one shop said "you're welcome" and "goodbye"... TCW, The Camera Workshop.

I understand that some of them are busy and need to go off soon. AP wasn't like dat, they like not happy when i talk to them. The SLS AP is jialat man... walk inside machiam walk inside a beng coffeeshop. Ang mohs walk inside and they smarten up and their english proficieny changed...

I only buy from CP. I like their service although some of them like to introduce me special items...lol. First time I walk in ask them sb600 price...$370. 2nd time i walk in becomes $360...funny man!

wow, i'm a newbie at photography.. reading all these posts i really dun dare to walk into AP already. haha.. I'm thinking of trying out MS Color though, heard some good reviews about them. Thinking of buying 400D.. any other recommendations or places to buy? would appreciate it lots. :)

Sigh...

Seeing this thread makes me feel like sharing my experience too.

Am a beginner in photography and everything, but like everyone else we do some research online for things we're taking note. I was looking for a decent tripod, and went into Alan Photo, and this guy wearing yellow tshirt was serving me. At first he was friendly enough, but when I probed about more things like what to look out for in a tripod, he went like "this is good, this is stable" to "this is cheap"...all mundane replies...I was looking for something more to convince myself that he wasn't being patronizing.

And then he brought out a Nikon Tripod cost at $70.

I was flabbergasted naturally and told him it's okay I'm leaving and he showed me this damn dark face which I'd nvr forget, yucks.

Went up to Orient Photo, 360 degrees change. The salesperson, a young chinese, was very friendly and serve me like an ang moh (professionalism), teaching me things like which make, which brand, and things to look out for. It was really mind blowing that such a branded shop like Alan Photo has to patronize me like this, as if I'm not willing to pay anything. Damn disgusted and still is ;(

I never had this kind of experience in Alan Photo Funan before. Orient and John 3:16 :thumbsup:

N.B. I tend to avoid Sim Lim becasue I lazy to walk from Bugis MRT :angel:

Sometimes the salesman really does not know the equipment.
He is not a photo hobbyist, like us.
He is probably not too highly educated and not keen to read up.
He is too glad the work day is over and he made plenty of sales commissions. Where got time to read up for product knowledge.

When a customer walks in and he serves, it is in an open shop.
Everyone can see and hear him.

The boss. The other salesmen.

The salesman cannot afford to say too often - I don't know this equipment... I am not familiar....I know nothing....cannot help you....dunno leh...

He will get retrenched soon.
Or lose part of his bonus.

So most just grit their teeth and bluff as though they know what they are talking about.

They don't care.

One unhappy customer who will not come again is nothing to them.
They won't lose any sleep.
This is the tyranny of Statistics.

You, the customer is just one out of tens / hundreds of thousands of customers who will go to their shop over the years.

And they know it.

I buy from CP and TCW and sometimes Ruby, within Funan only J3:16 has good service but their price ain't the best. MS Color and TK is so-so sometimes like, sometimes dun like, I won't rate them very high also. Can forget about the rest of the shops within Funan (AP, Bally....) they all are jokers and rubbish. And for those of you who buy filters from those jokers, make sure you check the filter case to see the seals are not broken and then check the version of the filer you are getting. My ratings for cams shops according to my exp (best to worst)

Good - CP, TCW, Ruby
Average (still can buy) - MS Colour, OP & J3:16
Waste time - AP, Bally, SLS shops

I have to disagree with you on this..

Good: John 3:16, Orient Photo (though Orent photo has once quoted me a very high price for low priced item. I believe it was a genuine inventory mistake)
Average: Alan Photo (FUNAN)
Waste Time: SLS Shops
You nothing better to do: Bally Photo (Cannot tahan this shop)

I cannot comment on CP, TCW, RUBY and MS Colour as I don't have the time to travel there)

wow, i'm a newbie at photography.. reading all these posts i really dun dare to walk into AP already. haha.. I'm thinking of trying out MS Color though, heard some good reviews about them. Thinking of buying 400D.. any other recommendations or places to buy? would appreciate it lots. :)

Dear sunshinegal, you can refer here for a list of reputable shops. I got mine at Parisilk Holland Village branch - you can't really bargain and you don't need to because their price is very good.

He is too glad the work day is over and he made plenty of sales commissions. Where got time to read up for product knowledge.

The salesman cannot afford to say too often - I don't know this equipment... I am not familiar....I know nothing....cannot help you....dunno leh...

So most just grit their teeth and bluff as though they know what they are talking about.

They don't care.

You, the customer is just one out of tens / hundreds of thousands of customers who will go to their shop over the years.

And they know it.

Seems like that belief is that coming from the days without the Internet. Nowadays it's all about the emancipated consumer. We know how to voice our thoughts, and make them heard. People are put off when they read this forum, so it's more than just 1 customer they're losing.

It's also easy to write to the ST Forums/ Straits Times and any other press, talking about customer service and citing Alan Photo, and since this is a true thing that happened, not even the best lawyer can sue one for slander.

It's better for them to wake up their idea and not treat consumers as prehistoric ;p

They don't care.

And they know it.

Who cares if it means anything to them? The purpose of this thread is to warn people like you and me, to promote the good retailers and diss the ****ed up ones. Song Brothers long time the reputation gone leow what, but still in business; who cares? Not happy bring my business elsewhere lor. I happy -> you take my advice to avoid the shops and go somewhere else = you happy -> ****ed up shop stops getting customers who expect them to know their stuff = they happy. Everyone wins!