Underwater Casing for Canon G9

spacezmonkey

Hi, I have seen the following

# Waterproof to depths of 130 feet (40 meters)

under the description for Canon Waterproof Case WP-DC21.

I am planning to go Advance Diving course (PADI) and planning to birng my canon G9 for the 1st time. I understand that there is a deep dive which will go around 40m in advance course. Will my casing leak? I am worried my g9 will be gone if there is a leakage.

Has anybody tried theirs using the casing at 40m?

Hi, I have seen the following

# Waterproof to depths of 130 feet (40 meters)

under the description for Canon Waterproof Case WP-DC21.

I am planning to go Advance Diving course (PADI) and planning to birng my canon G9 for the 1st time. I understand that there is a deep dive which will go around 40m in advance course. Will my casing leak? I am worried my g9 will be gone if there is a leakage.

Has anybody tried theirs using the casing at 40m?

http://www.ikelite.com/web_pages/5can_g7.html

I doubt if you would be brought down to 40m for the Deep Dive module in AOW.
However in future if you intend to dive at 40m & afraid that the Canon housing cannot make it, you can consider Ikelite; depth rated to 60m, & I still would'nt know who had tested it at that depth too.

I agree with foxwagon, with regards to the choice of casings.

For your deep dive training under PADI, you would be only going down to 20m++. Suggestion is to keep your camera dry for that dive or ask your instructor to bring it down for you first, then take it from him after you're done with the skills.

Thanks for the advice. Guess I would just stick to canon casing. My budget doesnt allow me to get a ikelite :embrass:

I've brought my Canon PnS (S50) in a Canon casing rated to 40m to 40m before, without any problems.

I heard the u/w casing for the G9 is in short supply, is that true?

Cheers, Jeff

G9 casing short of supply? I m not sure..yet to check from the store. :embrass:

If that is true..i must quickly buy a casing before my diving in Oct.

Suggest if u really wish to buy, then buy it & try in the pool to familiarize with the buttons/functions etc b4 going actual dive...

I've brought my Canon PnS (S50) in a Canon casing rated to 40m to 40m before, without any problems.

I heard the u/w casing for the G9 is in short supply, is that true?

Cheers, Jeff

last weekend i just saw the 3rd G9 housing leaked..

small compact housing is ok, once the camera get abit bigger, the canon housing is a big no no

3rd G9 leak? That doesnt sound too good to me leh... :confused:

Just to understand when you say leak..are their casing new? I guess should be hor..G9 launch not long ago..

3rd G9 leak? That doesnt sound too good to me leh... :confused:

Just to understand when you say leak..are their casing new? I guess should be hor..G9 launch not long ago..

yes they are new, but badly constructed

the housing feels pretty filmsy, and the groves are abit too fat for the Orings

Canon G9 casing aka WP-DC21 has been discontinued in Japan 2 mths back. You will be very lucky if you can find one here.

true.. i tried searching but in vain, best bet is thu ebay.. =) i got my g9 accessories thru ebay.. SG is outta stock for nearly every thing.. sometimes..SOMETIMES canonlink @ vivo has stock surprisingly.. try ur luck,ur search might be long..

At 40m, there's not gonna be much to take, and your instructor will probably want to go through some drills and q&a with you. Furthermore, you'll want to get back to shallower water quickly.

I've been toying about getting a G9 for my dives, with the Canon u/w housing. I was considereing ikelite, but the housing alone costs something like $900. Throw in the macros, wide angle, the whole thingy is gonna come close to $2K.

After reading about the Canon housing issues, I may have to reconsider my choice. Pity, since G9 is one of the best compacts around. Maybe a 720is? Any suggestion?

At 40m, there's not gonna be much to take, and your instructor will probably want to go through some drills and q&a with you. Furthermore, you'll want to get back to shallower water quickly.

I've been toying about getting a G9 for my dives, with the Canon u/w housing. I was considereing ikelite, but the housing alone costs something like $900. Throw in the macros, wide angle, the whole thingy is gonna come close to $2K.

After reading about the Canon housing issues, I may have to reconsider my choice. Pity, since G9 is one of the best compacts around. Maybe a 720is? Any suggestion?

You wont go wrong with the Ikelite housings on G9. The external wet lens like Macro & Wide Angle will be able to use on future Ikelite housings as they are modular. The Ike housing itself is much sturdier than the Canon housing, which never holds the lensport fixed as round or oval, & you cannot use the external wetlens anymore on new Canon housing.

The eternal question for underwater photographers - which camera and housing models to choose from?

I think it really depends on your needs ... I typically use a 60mm macro, so I carry a (small) Lumix in my BC pocket for wide angle (28mm) shots. Something like the G9 would not be able to fit into my BC pocket. Neither would the 720s - but the G9 has 28mm capability. Other camera brands might have wide angle capability, but performance may not be as reliable as Canon, or there might be no housing, or megapixel might not be "mega" enough, etc etc.

If the camera you buy (and, hopefully, use) is your main camera, I'd go for the best you can afford. Any secondary camera you buy after that, should compliment the main.

Or, we can pool our resources and form a company that will produce the "ultimate" camera - customized to user specs and upgradable (in terms of "internal organs") and small enough to fit into your pocket, without burning a hole in it :D

My choice will be my 60mm, and my fuji f100fd 28mm for wide, lovely colors and great ISO control, at ISO3200, the noise control is as good as my D200 at ISO 1000

i would choose canon, but the lousy housing construction is really putting me off.

for Deep dive training your maximum depth is 30m, only after you have completed the deep dive training then you can venture off to 40m :)

Cat64fish and Lovells19,

I agree with both of u totally. The problem really lies with me, and my willingness to splurge on a twice-a-year sin. Maybe you can help me with it.

I would like the following, the most important at the top:

Above average images - f100
Good macro - G9, F100
Full manual control - G9
Wide angle - G9, f100, panasonic
Decent housing - olympus
custom presets - olympus
Price - Any of the above, but not willing to spend on ikelite, which doesn't make enconomical sense, no matter how hard I tried to convinve myself. :(

As you can see, I'm in a fix. I know, i know, cheap and good and everything pao-ka-liao. Everything points to a DSLR. Perhaps I should convert my D80 and sets of macros and wide angles instead. Then again, I haven't mentioned bulk is the last thing I need, have I? Haha....:D

Million thanks for the advice.

I just bought a Canon Casing from ebay. Hope I dont make the wrong choice.:what:

....- but the G9 has 28mm capability

Dude, the G9 is 35mm at the widest, would br great if they had a 28mm version, save me a load of money getting the WA lens :bsmilie:

Anyway for TS, PADI Deep Dive module for Advance Open Water doesn't take you beyong 30m, but in the long run, you may wanna consider a sturdier housing such as the Ikelite. I was in Bali doing the Mola Mola search last week, and went down the 42m, with the Canon housing -tak boleh lah :nono:

Cat64fish and Lovells19,

I agree with both of u totally. The problem really lies with me, and my willingness to splurge on a twice-a-year sin. Maybe you can help me with it.

I would like the following, the most important at the top:

Above average images - f100
Good macro - G9, F100
Full manual control - G9
Wide angle - G9, f100, panasonic
Decent housing - olympus
custom presets - olympus
Price - Any of the above, but not willing to spend on ikelite, which doesn't make enconomical sense, no matter how hard I tried to convinve myself. :(

As you can see, I'm in a fix. I know, i know, cheap and good and everything pao-ka-liao. Everything points to a DSLR. Perhaps I should convert my D80 and sets of macros and wide angles instead. Then again, I haven't mentioned bulk is the last thing I need, have I? Haha....:D

Million thanks for the advice.
One last piece of "advice" .. the best camera is the one you have in your hand, coz without it, you have no picture to talk about :)

Good luck in your quest.

PS. Last, last advice (maybe) ... buy 4d :P