Tsunami - anyone affected?

sulhan said:
Hiee....

Watched a Documentary on flight last week on Earth stuff....natural disasters.....of the past....

Well.....they featured a predicted chaotic period after a 600 yrs cycle and the next period of count for the "chain of natural disasters is......" is Now!!!.....

in the show....it said that ....the Prediction was based on the studies of famous geyser predictable frequency of firing at 45-90mins intervals.....showing that some of nature is somwhat predictable...
:sweat:

rgds,
sulhan
And u'll hear all the doomsday soothslayers start sprouting doomsday prophercies...

I already heard more den enuff frm my sister already with all those rubbish 'prophercy seminar' kinda things she digested.

maldives highest land is like... 5m above the shoreline.. so a 10m wave will like cover the island and the receeding waters will kill off all the corals. there goes the neighbourhood.

heard it was an earthquake of scale 7+.

my guess it's caused by interaction of the indian plate and the australian plate, which has a fault line right in the middle of the indian ocean west of phuket.

according to Encarta, the Indo-Australian plate is subducting under Eurasia plate. The fault line tracks the west coast of Sumatra and up towards India. I guess this is a "shallow quake" with a large vertical movement in the plates thus causing the tidal waves. Had it been deeper in the crust it may not have caused such a big wave.

reno77 said:
How come there was no advance warning ? What happened to all those weather satellites and stuff.

check out Chaos Theory. There are some things that can never be predicted to any meaningful degree of reliability.

my prayers are with those who are still missing and families who have lost loved ones.. :(

StreetShooter said:
Wonder why and how we were spared. I can't imagine the havoc a 10 meter wall of water would cause in Singapore. We are truly blessed.

Indeed... Amen.

Must pray for those who were affected.. it's really a precarious situation to be in.

my fren sms me to ask all of us to pray for her fren who are stuck in Thailand, affected by the earthquake, lost her passport and hp but didn't get hurt.

after her sms, we saw the channel U news , then realised this is a major earthquake!

I was really sadden by the news, and when I was glued to the tv screen last night, I was really disgusted by what some singaporeans have to say.

There is this man, who was scheduled to leave for phuket that day, and was clearly irritated that SQ refused to refund him his ticket, citing that under official guidelines, this should have been done, and how his holiday is destroyed, and yada yada. They interviewed 2 other singaporeans, and they too expressed their dissapointment at how they have to now find another beach resort like bintan.

I mean, COME ON! you should count your lucky stars that you didn't arrive there a day earlier, or you would have been stranded or even died!

Instead of recounting the close shave they had, they just bitched all over for a spoilt holiday. Ugly....just ugly man.... :angry:

Stefen said:
I was really sadden by the news, and when I was glued to the tv screen last night, I was really disgusted by what some singaporeans have to say.

There is this man, who was scheduled to leave for phuket that day, and was clearly irritated that SQ refused to refund him his ticket, citing that under official guidelines, this should have been done, and how his holiday is destroyed, and yada yada. They interviewed 2 other singaporeans, and they too expressed their dissapointment at how they have to now find another beach resort like bintan.

I mean, COME ON! you should count your lucky stars that you didn't arrive there a day earlier, or you would have been stranded or even died!

Instead of recounting the close shave they had, they just bitched all over for a spoilt holiday. Ugly....just ugly man.... :angry:

may be they didn't know how serious is the thing...

perhaps, or it could just be a case of indifference to the whole issue.

I am sure the reporters would have known the scale of damage by the time they found it worthwhile to go down to changi to interview these people.

Stefen said:
perhaps, or it could just be a case of indifference to the whole issue.

I am sure the reporters would have known the scale of damage by the time they found it worthwhile to go down to changi to interview these people.
Let's be fair to this guy...if you are in his posn, would you want a full refund from SQ? As for the media going down to Changi airport to do interview....they will do anything and everything for coverage. Not everyone knows the magnitude of the damage..

Stefen said:

Well said. I want to punch that guy too. I tell my mum that this kind of person better send there and die over there rather than making this world more jialat. ;(

Jer said:
Let's be fair to this guy...if you are in his posn, would you want a full refund from SQ? As for the media going down to Changi airport to do interview....they will do anything and everything for coverage. Not everyone knows the magnitude of the damage..

I guess that it was probably unfair to him, but being a natural disaster that happened on such an massive scale, I find it hard for airlines to refund him on the spot.

I just find it appalling that not 1, but 3 singaporeans expressed the same view on national television. I am sure the reporters would have told them about the potential damage the tsunamis could have caused by then.

I certainly hope that the man will return home, see the true extent of the damage, and perhaps reflect on his inappropriate remarks earlier on.

If I were him, I might demand an explanation from the airline, but I wouldn't bitch about it on national television.

Stefen said:

Well, there are some ppl like this.

When no trouble, ok they'll be happy and all that, be nice and civilised.
When trouble comes knocking, they will ask "Why this? Why that?" and start blaming everything and everyone around them and lament abt their own situation and not caring abt others.

There are juz too many such ppl in the world. Juz have to live with them. Somehow its kind of wasting breath trying to knock sense into such ppl... ;)

i thought, perhaps that hawaii-shirted chap had his own reasons, but most likely an ignoramus to insist on going elsewhere when disaster relief has to come in, which means going for stuff that he wouldn't be too happy about anyway.

airlines have to call this, an act of nature, but this guy actually wants to be part of the death-toll? by all means. money spent, even if forfeited, take it as a blessing in disguise. spending money, going over may end up as death sooner instead, should there be further waves hitting in. i'd rather forfeit the money, and stay alive first.

gee guys, i am leaving on the 4th to phuket for a dive trip. my buddy is there now in Pattani. I wonder if its safe to go at all, now that i have seen the damages and read that there may be after-shocks.

any good advice?

bigfatfish said:
gee guys, i am leaving on the 4th to phuket for a dive trip. my buddy is there now in Pattani. I wonder if its safe to go at all, now that i have seen the damages and read that there may be after-shocks.

any good advice?

delay the trip.

one thing, the locals need time to clear up the mess and besides, the waters should have REALLY stirred up the waters. dont know how the reefs would be like now too.

suprise people complaining about their holidays schedule being srewed on the TV. Siao!!!

Stefen said:
I guess that it was probably unfair to him, but being a natural disaster that happened on such an massive scale, I find it hard for airlines to refund him on the spot.

I just find it appalling that not 1, but 3 singaporeans expressed the same view on national television. I am sure the reporters would have told them about the potential damage the tsunamis could have caused by then.

I certainly hope that the man will return home, see the true extent of the damage, and perhaps reflect on his inappropriate remarks earlier on.

If I were him, I might demand an explanation from the airline, but I wouldn't bitch about it on national television.

he probably work thou this whole year to get a break to have this happen to him but i believed he do not know the extent of the damages.

my mother-in-law (from penang) phone us abt 8pm, then we also do not know the extent of the damage until the 10pm news.

but i will not bi*ch over it on national TV, makes one look like a loser.

Hey I think you should cancel your trip... it would be in bad taste to go around vacationing in Phuket after it has gone through such carnage. Also, I don't think the island will be in any shape to accomodate visitors.

I hope the death toll stops rising... as of 1540 now its 14,000.... :(

bigfatfish said:

any good advice?