Travel photography

Status
Not open for further replies.

photonoob

Aug 3, 2004
Punggol
hihi i'm a noob in photography and currently owns a nikon D70 with a 18-70mm lens. As i will be planning on a trip to new zealand this coming Sep/Oct, i need infos on the various aspect with regards to photography. As i understand, temperature will be around 10 - 18 degrees, will it affect my lens and battery ? What other kinds of filter i'll need ? circular polarizing , ND filters ? and also , will i need a remote in order to shoot some waterfall shot? ( to get the slow and flowy effect ) . By saving the photos in a small size format (which will give me 1K exposure) , will it affect a R8 size print ? Expert advise needed urgently pls ........ :sweat: :eek:

Wonderful it is a beautiful place. Bring much Mem Card. If you have much mem take the photos in the max size possible.

My suggestion/opinion/recommendation :
- use your max resolution. If CF too little, get a portable
storage; personally feel its worth it
- bring a tripod; lots of landscape, flowing water etc
opportunities
- C-PL and ND can be quite useful; remote optional
- temperature should not affect camera/lens but battery
better bring a spare
- bring ziplock bag/raincoat if going south island; some
areas have high rainfall
- do a self-drive F&E trip if possible for max flexibility
- enjoy yourself :)

renegade said:
For 8R prints, you will need at least 1600x2400 pixels. Polarizer & ND filters will be good to have. A tripod does help too.

for 1600x1200 pixels, what is the max size of the print.

I agree with nuts on the points, esp:

a) Tripod - definitely need one. I didn't bring a tripod with me (only a table tripod) and missed some opportunities. Even my table tripod served me well though pple think I'm weird setting it up in front of effiel tower at night.