Total distortion of beauty! This is SICK!!!

This photo was forwarded to me from a friend.
So... no i do not know who the photographer is.
The source i have no idea too...
So i shall say thank you to mikko to sending me this picture. :)

If you do not know the source then you should not even post it.

Looks ugly, really ugly.

I dun think model agency would hire her in the first place. This picture is fake.

If you do not know the source then you should not even post it.

To be fair mod. He posted it not saying that he took the photo. He posted it as a discussion and this is the kopitiam thread. Errr is it not for discussion? At least now we have cleared up it is a DI's pic. Finally to add, it was forwarded in a chain mail, so does it mean that from now on, all photos from chain mail cannot be posted here?

To bge fair to the mod, that's right. Even with crediting the source, reproduction and broadcasting something that is copyrighted is not legal. But at least it's polite.

So does it mean whenever I want to post broadcast any copyrighted material I'll just use the excuse that I got it from chain mail?

I think it's a good step taken by the mods on highlighting the awareness the need for respect for intellectual property.:thumbsup:

To bge fair to the mod, that's right. Even with crediting the source, reproduction and broadcasting something that is copyrighted is not legal. But at least it's polite.

So does it mean whenever I want to post broadcast any copyrighted material I'll just use the excuse that I got it from chain mail?

I think it's a good step taken by the mods on highlighting the awareness the need for respect for intellectual property.:thumbsup:

My point is if it is really from a chain mail and it is put up here for discussion. My question which is a real question is that is that illegal?

realmodel03.jpg

2wohank.jpg

Ok... DIed or no DIed she is too skinny, and for the record, the pics were taken from snopes.com :bsmilie:

Are these the people we want our daughters to look up to as being beautiful?

My point is if it is really from a chain mail and it is put up here for discussion. My question which is a real question is that is that illegal?

Technically yet. If there isn't expressed approval from the original author, any reproduction, modification or even transmission is an infringement of copyright. The safe and correct way to do things would have simply just to provide a link to the picture instead.

Hey I'm not surprised if the gal in the pic is real. These are people who suffer from eating disorders. People who are so very thin but still incredibly think they are fat!

Anyway, ha...this reminds me of a funny incident. In the day and age of digital photography, people become over suspicious of images they see. I showed my colleague once of some pics I took on my travels. I'm into digital editing but for many of my images, they are REAL and untouched! The places were really that beautiful. Unfortunately, he "accused" me of manipulating the images when I didn't! :bsmilie: Humph!

As for infringement of copyright, I don't know if some of us are being uptight about it. Maybe those who are knowlegeable about the law can clarify here? Does it mean as long as the pic is not ours we can't even post here to comment without linking to the source?

Images are circulated and mass mailed everywhere. Everyday I receive mail attachments. So b4 I forward them to my friends, I must always quote the source too? To me, as long as the the person who posts the pics does not openly claim they are his or hers, isn't it all right? Though I may be wrong here. Perhaps unless you want to do some formal writing, such as publish a book, then acknowledgement from the source is important?

Technically yet. If there isn't expressed approval from the original author, any reproduction, modification or even transmission is an infringement of copyright. The safe and correct way to do things would have simply just to provide a link to the picture instead.

Thanks so much! :) That was exactly what I was asking about and not trying to argue about it being right or wrong to put the pic up. Putting a link is good idea.

Most of what you need to know about copyrights can be found here.
http://www.ipos.gov.sg/main/index.html

Just because that mass-circulating is common, doesn't make it right. In many situations, naming the source of a picture after using it can be part of fair use, however in pictures such as this one, it is clear that it is of a defaming nature (implying something about somebody which is not true). It's not even a parody, where the identity of the person is implied. For example, after looking at the first picture, you have already made 2 assumptions that's impossible to prove just by looking at the picture.

1) She has an eating disorder. (Afterall, it could be voluntary in order to keep her job)
2) She thinks that she is fat.

It's not about being uptight, it's more about protecting yourself. Though honestly the chances of being sued is remote, this is the Internet, you never know what could happen. Clubsnap is a photography forum, copyright is a tightly guarded property here. As much as we want people to respect our copyright, we should first respect other people's copyright.

There are 2 issues at stake here. Both issues are very important, and both are true to my heart. However, like all things, some more important, more pressing and needs our attention more than others. These 2 issues are no different.

What are they. On one hand, it's copy right. This is fundamental to us photographers. Without copyrights and IP, we as artistic creator will be sitting duck, dead in the water. On the other hand, it is something even more pressing, even to photographers, especially those who are portraits and fashion photographer.
It's not sitting duck, not dead in the water, it's DEATH

What? What am I talking about, you will ask. I am talking about the disturbing trends of models, especially fashion models, here in Singapore and all over the world, who starve themselves to make the cut. It's starving or out. It's disgusting. I was privy to what goes on in one model house. Every other day or so, the agency will weigh and measure the models. An extra gram of weight, a centimeter more around the waist, the model will be chasitized, and told to loose them. What can a young girl do in such circumstnces, DON'T eat, and starve.

They do literally starve to death. What Barelona did was a brave step. They banned models from working the runway in the city if they are too skinny. I don't like government intervention in anything, but if we don't do something, we cannot complain if the big brother steps in.

Octane, I applaud you for what you did here. Yes, you may have violated some copyrights here or there, but were able to see the bigger picture, it's a life at stake. Thank you for raising the conciousness of how the fashion industry works, how sick it is, how utterly inhuman we as consumer and photographers demand of the models.

I hope people/photographers/models/organisers here in CS take a good look at the picture (the DI or not DI version, same problem) and ask some soul searching questions.

When those model can afford to have a good meal, they don't want and want to keep their body nice for the show.

But I hope they will donate a lot of their hard earning money to those africa ppl as they need to eat but don't have enough to eat.

What an unbalance world. Really sick of it! :angry:

That's why for me, if can, finish up the makan as some ppl out there having problem even with a meal. (Although I hardly donate la. :embrass: )

Looks very manipulated.

Incorrect proportions.

I would actually like to hear from student on this one.

I would assume that being a doctor his knowledge of anatomy may give us a better judgement.

Just a thought from me :)

This has been discussed too many times.

Most of these girls eat normal, if not much more than regular people, like there's no tomorrow when there's a meal. Some people are just born with thin frames, admit it. Even if i lose 20kg my models will still look thinner than me if they're heavier because their bones are just way smaller.

There're definitely a few unhealthy ones in the pack but that's not a reason to just slam every high fashion model out there. Many girls are going to lose/losing their jobs in Spain and people fail to remember these girls are humans too, they leave home and stop schooling since 14, 15, for some their whole family depends on this money.

There are 2 issues at stake here. Both issues are very important, and both are true to my heart. However, like all things, some more important, more pressing and needs our attention more than others. These 2 issues are no different.

What are they. On one hand, it's copy right. This is fundamental to us photographers. Without copyrights and IP, we as artistic creator will be sitting duck, dead in the water. On the other hand, it is something even more pressing, even to photographers, especially those who are portraits and fashion photographer.It's not sitting duck, not dead in the water, it's DEATH

What? What am I talking about, you will ask. I am talking about the disturbing trends of models, especially fashion models, here in Singapore and all over the world, who starve themselves to make the cut. It's starving or out. It's disgusting. I was privy to what goes on in one model house. Every other day or so, the agency will weigh and measure the models. An extra gram of weight, a centimeter more around the waist, the model will be chasitized, and told to loose them. What can a young girl do in such circumstnces, DON'T eat, and starve.

They do literally starve to death. What Barelona did was a brave step. They banned models from working the runway in the city if they are too skinny. I don't like government intervention in anything, but if we don't do something, we cannot complain if the big brother steps in.

Octane, I applaud you for what you did here. Yes, you may have violated some copyrights here or there, but were able to see the bigger picture, it's a life at stake. Thank you for raising the conciousness of how the fashion industry works, how sick it is, how utterly inhuman we as consumer and photographers demand of the models.

I hope people/photographers/models/organisers here in CS take a good look at the picture (the DI or not DI version, same problem) and ask some soul searching questions.
But TS could have also provided the link instead of the image directly and still be able to bring the needed attention...

Next time if I see Copyright squabble here, I'll not even bother to read or defend, if it is that important either make a consistent stand or not make it at all.

../azul123

But TS could have also provided the link instead of the image directly and still be able to bring the needed attention...

Next time if I see Copyright squabble here, I'll not even bother to read or defend, if it is that important either make a consistent stand or not make it at all.

../azul123
Really. You think a link will have similar imapct. This is life sand death. This is morality.

I disagree with Octane regarding copyrights. But at the end of the day, something needs to be done, and Octane did it. I applaud him.

Squabble??? How can you equate life and death as squabble. Maybe, one or two death is aceptable loss for you, but not for me.

We are dealing with someone's life here. Do youunderstand the seriousness of the situation?

Agree with some above hate this fashion industry for too demanding on the models'weights. Especially DP..I think I saw a picture of a Brasil model before who died because of malnutrion...Medicines and acute treatments didnot save her life...If you ever look at her last photo, I believe you would stand by our side..Actually I am scared to view this thread because of the scary photo..It is REAL,everybody..it is very very real..if you ever heard about these model case then you will understand the pic..Milan ,Barcelona bravely band all underweight ones (BMI <18)...

Er..hope you all here help to save people's life..Vote for NOTHING BEAUTIFUL at this model..

Forget about the source, if IIRC, it was on a online news..let me do a search and then feedback soon..

I was privy to what goes on in one model house. Every other day or so, the agency will weigh and measure the models. An extra gram of weight, a centimeter more around the waist, the model will be chasitized, and told to loose them. What can a young girl do in such circumstnces, DON'T eat, and starve.

We are dealing with someone's life here. Do youunderstand the seriousness of the situation?

so what did you do personally to help the poor girl's soul?

I think Octane69 has brought up a very interesting topic of discussion. One of those that can be used for 'A' level GP discussion, or sociology and Psychology discussion at uni level. Unfortunately, dunno how come it has turned into what i feel to be irrelevantly (my opinion and I stand by it) some copyright warning thingy. It's just unfortunate this is a photography forum and people are firmly defensive where photos are concerned. But if you go to thosands of other discussion forums, pictures are splattered everywhere with no sources quoted.

I think maybe cos we are all photographers and we get extremely cautious over posting of images on the Net. Some have been victims of leeching and it's a bad feeling you get when that happens. But leeching is passing off another's work as yours when clearly it isn't so. However, in this case, using a picture to generate a topic of discussion, why not? No one wrongly claims the picture was his or hers. Even if there is a link given, what if that link also doesn't have any acknowledgement of the photographer who shot it? Would it then still be the poster's fault, or the owner of the link's fault? Or in that case, should we then be restricted citizens and not post anything at all?

I've thought of several other controversial egs:

1. In my tertiary education, lecturers are fond of putting up lots of images in their Powerpoint slides to teach and make their points. With the Internet, it's so easy to search on practically any image that you want. But I don't remember them quoting the sources. They can be charged?

2. I know many people who download wallpapers from the Net with unknown photographers. They are openly displayed on their computer monitors in the offices. Are they infringing the copyright law too?

3. When you play music on your car stereo and you wind down the windows or you drive a convertible, and as you pass, people can listen to the music you are playing. Is it against the law too? Cos if you want to be paranoid and strict about it, that's some kinda illegal broadcasting. What about those MP3 music we use when we play slide shows to display our images? Must we acknowledge in the slide show where the music is taken from? Or do we have to write to the record company for permission?

4. I've also attended countless seminars, formal and informal ones, where pictures are used by the speakers/organizers to decorate the slides or as part of their talks. No acknowledgements were made. I haven't heard or seen the police stepping in so far. What about the music they play over the PA system before the start of the event? Illegal too? Or have they gotten permission already? Also, those who get married and they broadcast the wedding songs from the CD album in the hotel ballroom. Copyright infringement unless they get permission from the singer/record company?

5. Kids and students who paste posters on their school files of their favourite pop idols. No credit was given to the photographers who shot them. Illegal?

The list goes on...

I think it's illegal and unethical to claim something is yours when it isn't. Yes, that's stealing. Also, if you write a book or academic essays/research papers, you have to always make acknowledgements for ideas or findings that are not yours. Fair point.

I think we are walking on a thin grey line on this copyright issue but my gut feeling is that there are exceptional clauses to the law. Would like to know.... any lawyers here to comment?