Tokina 11-16 f2.8

Wow!!! US$570 is definitely worth it.....some more, I just heard news this morning that the SG$ has a record high against US$ at US$1.35 = SG$1! So it just about SG$770. Chiong Ah!:bsmilie:

US selling for US$570. Think its worth it getting it when I am there?

I think it should be on the shelf now....do a search in www.yahoo.co.jp and you will find many shops selling, but no sure about the stock level.:)

Please update with some sample shots if you ever buy it. Thanks!:)

Just bought Tokina 12-24 f4, I'll be going Japan only on end of May. Still, 11-16 f2.8 is amazing, but i prefer wider focal range.

Wow!!! US$570 is definitely worth it.....some more, I just heard news this morning that the SG$ has a record high against US$ at US$1.35 = SG$1! So it just about SG$770. Chiong Ah!:bsmilie:

should be US$1 = SG$1.35 right?

anyway getting it at $700++ is definitely a good price :thumbsup:

Who want to buy my tokina 12-24 when i buy the 11-16 f2.8 at $700++?;p
:bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

Bro, $700-------- (-as in negative) may be.....ha! Just kidding.:)

The re-sale value of the 12-24 depends on the price of the 11-16 when it reaches our shore, I think.

Who want to buy my tokina 12-24 when i buy the 11-16 f2.8 at $700++?;p
:bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

Bro, $700-------- (-as in negative) may be.....ha! Just kidding.:)

The re-sale value of the 12-24 depends on the price of the 11-16 when it reaches our shore, I think.

Precisely why i kinda worried now. :sweat:
Skali re-sale price drop to 500 or less. Maybe a new thread like "Will you buy the Tokina 11-16 f2.8 at 700 ++/-- or a resale Tokina 12-24 f4 at 500?".:bsmilie:

Adorama's pre-order price looks good. Abt SGD860++ after conversion based on USD1 = SGD1.4 rate (approx) with shipping included. However, the stocks will only arrive in June.

Because stocks are only available in Japan, I'm not too sure if the prices will drop once supply for this lens is readily available around the world. Don't want to go thru same experience with my previous Tokina 12-24mm. Bought it at $1200 but price drop 1 week later to $799 with free gifts some more. :sweat:

I may consider if USD drops further around June and once I feel certain that the price stabilises once stocks are in the shops.

Adorama's pre-order price looks good. Abt SGD860++ after conversion based on USD1 = SGD1.4 rate (approx) with shipping included. However, the stocks will only arrive in June.

Because stocks are only available in Japan, I'm not too sure if the prices will drop once supply for this lens is readily available around the world. Don't want to go thru same experience with my previous Tokina 12-24mm. Bought it at $1200 but price drop 1 week later to $799 with free gifts some more. :sweat:

I may consider if USD drops further around June and once I feel certain that the price stabilises once stocks are in the shops.

I agree. Better wait and see. Unless the price is around 700 and i can sell off my 12-24 at around 500, then, i may consider changing. After all, tokina 12-24 is a good lens to use.
And ya, bro lastboltnut's Sigma 10-20 too~

But guess it really depends on how much local dealers wanna sell it right? :)

true.... so i'll wait for stocks to arrive before deciding. but i think its unlikely that a wide angle constant 2.8 lens be sold at less than SGD1K.

True also. Seriously, given constant f2.8, i feel it will cost at least 1.2-1.4K SGD.

I agree. Better wait and see. Unless the price is around 700 and i can sell off my 12-24 at around 500, then, i may consider changing. After all, tokina 12-24 is a good lens to use.
And ya, bro lastboltnut's Sigma 10-20 too~

yup i've used the 12-24mm and if not for the hotspots when taking IR and the f4, i would have kept it.

If SG is selling at 1.2-1.4, I will use my Krisflyer points to fly to Japan, grab the lens at around SG$800 +/- and fly back to SG....:bsmilie::bsmilie:

True also. Seriously, given constant f2.8, i feel it will cost at least 1.2-1.4K SGD.

If SG is selling at 1.2-1.4, I will use my Krisflyer points to fly to Japan, grab the lens at around SG$800 +/- and fly back to SG....:bsmilie::bsmilie:

But haha, your expenses there will be a killer.

My colleagues are in Japan now. If only they know how to check lens... Haiz.

Fly there in the morning and fly back by nite loh......krisflyer points free mah.:bsmilie: Next time you physco all your colleagues to be photography lover, then settle liao!:)

But haha, your expenses there will be a killer.

My colleagues are in Japan now. If only they know how to check lens... Haiz.

What is wrong with this lens?

The Tokina 16-50 f/2.8 is not as sharp as its competitors. Edge performance at f/2.8 is poor below 24 mm and at 50 mm. CA is poorly controlled.

Fly there in the morning and fly back by nite loh......krisflyer points free mah.:bsmilie: Next time you physco all your colleagues to be photography lover, then settle liao!:)

Total flight is 14 over hours to and fro leh. But guess it is worth it for that lens. ;p

Haha, people who are not into photography will say i am "siao" one. Same as what i told them when they spend most of their time window shopping, watch movie and sleep. :nono:

Maybe i should conduct a "How to check lens" lesson in office so i can get cheaper lens even when i don't travel myself. :bsmilie:

Won't be it be around the same price to order it at Adorama and have it sent here? Saves the flying. I hate flying.