To drill or not to drill?

from TS point-of-view, if i were u & pissed off. i try plan to do drilling in the shortest time possible. last time i move house oso got young lady complain noise from hacking of floors, etc, she live 5 storeys below! :bigeyes:... then how cannot renovate arh? :confused:

from affected party's point-of-view, either complain & complain, or try do something like adding extra mattress or cushions to minimize the noise. but wad can b done if got a neighbour dog bark all day round or got cry baby wan? :dunno:

i hope u r not drilling for hrs on end almost everyday... :sweat:

from TS point-of-view, if i were u & pissed off. i try plan to do drilling in the shortest time possible. last time i move house oso got young lady complain noise from hacking of floors, etc, she live 5 storeys below! :bigeyes:... then how cannot renovate arh? :confused:

from affected party's point-of-view, either complain & complain, or try do something like adding extra mattress or cushions to minimize the noise. but wad can b done if got a neighbour dog bark all day round or got cry baby wan? :dunno:

i hope u r not drilling for hrs on end almost everyday...

Professional drillers take 1 min to drill a hole, amateur take 5 mins to drill 1, and i think bbtm will take a day to drill a hole... he is screwed... :bsmilie:

bbtm : [test drill] vrroooom vrroooommmmm
auntie : I HEAR U.... :devil:

Yeah if you're drilling into the hard beams, you need a more forceful drill. If not it will take you hours. Just can't use those underpowered ones. Don't stinge if you need to drill, just buy the ones that can do hard concrete and be done with it.

Alt. ikea also offers drilling service. They are damn fast.

Usually weekend sunday there's a no noise policy right? Sat up to 12 and weekdays 10-2000.

I ever got one fool come up to my place at 11pm asking me to stop drilling when i'm just watching tv. Told the guy to go talk to the nearby construction site.

One suggestion... Maybe can go downstairs before you start drilling the next time. Give her sometime to prepare before you start drilling... Hopefully this helps.

Quoted from the following link
http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10297p.nsf/ImageView/RENO_GUIDEBOOKS/$file/WhatYouNeedToDo.pdf

Note the general renovation works can only be carried out between
8.00am to 6.00pm daily. However, noisy renovation works, such as
demolition of walls, removing wall/ floor finishes, cutting of tiles, etc.
are restricted from 9.00am to 5.00pm daily during weekdays. Noisy
renovation works are not allowed to be carried out on Saturdays,
Sundays and Public Holidays

Usually weekend sunday there's a no noise policy right? Sat up to 12 and weekdays 10-2000.

I ever got one fool come up to my place at 11pm asking me to stop drilling when i'm just watching tv. Told the guy to go talk to the nearby construction site.

U watching SAW? :bsmilie:

Quoted from the following link
http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10297p.nsf/ImageView/RENO_GUIDEBOOKS/$file/WhatYouNeedToDo.pdf

Note the general renovation works can only be carried out between
8.00am to 6.00pm daily. However, noisy renovation works, such as
demolition of walls, removing wall/ floor finishes, cutting of tiles, etc.
are restricted from 9.00am to 5.00pm daily during weekdays. Noisy
renovation works are not allowed to be carried out on Saturdays,
Sundays and Public Holidays

Not applicable here..that is for renovation works, where there is piling of floor tiles or removal of wall..
If all works are inclusive under this, then whenever we purchase items (i.e. furnitures, TV, etc.), we have to take leave on a weekday for the delivery man to come ah?

Responsibilities of Residents

As part of the HDB community, you can contribute to its well-being and harmony just by observing these simple guidelines:

(i) Show consideration for your neighbours and do not cause nuisance or disturbance to them:
  • When you are carrying out any activity that produces sound or noise, such as listening to the radio, watching TV, playing a musical instrument, carrying out noisy DIY jobs, please avoid doing them late at night or in the early hours of the morning.
  • Please ensure that your children do not make too much noise when playing, or jump or run in the flat excessively.
  • Advise your visitors to refrain from any act or behaviour that may disturb your neighbours.
  • Do not drag furniture or large objects across the floor. Do consider rubber stoppers on furniture legs to absorb noise.
  • Do not hang out wet laundry; wring off excess water first.
  • Do not throw items out of your flat as these can injure passers-by or damage property below.
  • Check your air-conditioners regularly and maintain them in good condition. This will help prevent water from dripping into your neighbour's flat below.
  • Keep your flat clean and tidy and do not store flammable materials.
  • If you keep a dog, do train it well and take good care of it. Do not allow it to disturb your neighbours with incessant barking. Do not chain it to your front door but keep it inside your flat, where you can take care of it. When out in public, keep it on a leash and pick up its droppings and dispose of it in the bin.

(ii) Exercise a reasonable level of tolerance towards your neighbours - some noise is inevitable in high-rise, high-density living.
Source:http://www.hdb.gov.sg/fi10/fi10209p...ourResponsibilities of Residents?OpenDocument

So got drill or not! haha... i'm waitign for the answer!

I finished up with the rest of the 2 1/2 holes before stopping. Started ard 11am n done within an hour but still got 5 more holes to go. Not that I am slow in drilling, need time to get the right alignment before continue.

If other can't stand the noise which I generated, let them drill for me is the BEST! I am the closest to the drilling n my ears hurt most. My left hand also feel pain after some drilling as I hardly do tough work like this. And I still got ppl thinking that I drilling on purpose n don't have the right to do so.

I really fedup with what she told me " I don't care whether other are drilling or not" Seem like she don't like her neighbour beside her to be noisy, but for those far away, she don't bother. Anyway, I saw police down stair after I stop the work n if she is the one who is calling, police might find her playing prank, haha! :bsmilie:

I typing this out n still before 10pm but I didn't drill as I know it is late. I am those who are considerate but other just wouldn't give way. That's why accident can happened even you are a considerate driver but other just don't bother. I will continue to drill another day at another better timing (day time). If she complain n police arrives, I just told them that I checked n its ok to drill. Don't expect me to take leave n stay at home to drill, right? :dunno:

To all, have a nice day. :)

Can't help noticing, did you have the correct type drill? it is very slow from what I've read you posted. When I need to drill into the wall, need to set it to hammer setting else it will take forever.

../azul123

Can't help noticing, did you have the correct type drill? it is very slow from what I've read you posted. When I need to drill into the wall, need to set it to hammer setting else it will take forever.

../azul123

he is doing grinding lah...

Yup, you need to both have a hammer drill as well as to use the correct type of drill bit. There are different bits for metal, wood, plastic, tiles and lastly concrete. Make sure you are using the concrete bit with the hammer setting. It shouldn't take more than 5 min per hole.

Of course if you are drilling into structural pillars, it may take longer as those are very tough - however you should'nt be drilling into pillars in the first place.

../azul123

i suspect my neighbour upstairs runs a carpentry business.

every day, he/she/them/it is drilling, knocking, and sawing something. at 8am it starts, and i wake up after only grabbing 3 hours of sleep. so i carry on editing photos etc, and try to go to sleep at 1pm again. the hammering starts at 1.15...i try to sleep again at 4pm, and the sawing starts at 4.30...

should i complain too? there's always work going on every day! and its been happening for the past 5 years i've been living here.

Wa how you can tahan for 5 years !!! Since you are so "free" now ask them for a part time job upstairs lah :bsmilie:

Professional drillers take 1 min to drill a hole, amateur take 5 mins to drill 1, and i think bbtm will take a day to drill a hole... he is screwed... :bsmilie:

bbtm : [test drill] vrroooom vrroooommmmm
auntie : I HEAR U.... :devil:

drill hole at home or tunneling for train? :bsmilie: