Tang Shooters XLII: TCSS Thread...

Its not NightIxx bro.... its highfive... bet OC gonna be sad if he see this... haha...

anyway, nice observation and feedback. We are not here to slam each other. Instead i learn a lot from TS when i came in. It was like "Wat the hell have i been shooting for 2 years be4 that..."

Understand some may have diff views on standards. Outsiders do not noe this shoot is organised by a first timer. pckee put in effort to source for location and models. Highfive planned and coordinate the shoot. Give credit to them for the effort, internally we noe. Alot of shooters are also first time attempting TFCDs (well who dun? I remember my first TFCD was organised by gerald and phoa), and they expect superb standards. Outsiders also dunno this pt. Therefore for all they see, they slam and whack. But i remember something camel said, critics should give constructive feedback. By saying does not match the theme, PP wrong blah blah wont help in the improvement. Instead if critic mentioned, theme shld have these and tat settings, pose can be tis and tat etc, then these pointers can serve as a source for improvement. Instead of doing these mostly are followers of blah and blah and simply repeat after wat he say. This is gonna hurt newbies in model/portrait shoots.

So, for newbies out there (I also newbie... coz i dun think i am PRO), please take all these comments as a reference. Dun let them be a hinder to ur confidence. One day u will excel over them definitely coz by sticking to fixed rules and not daring to challenge the limits, none will improve. So its not wrong to try, fail try again until u succeed.

TS all the way! (fwah i so emo today... coz moanday brues finishing) :sweat:

:thumbsup:MASTER KT...........u no longer newbie......haha.....

Hi guys, you can also post the pics on Tangshooters flickr group pool...we can discuss and comment on the pics there...

http://www.flickr.com/groups/tangshooters/

yesh, post there... i haven post in sometime there liao..

:thumbsup:MASTER KT...........u no longer newbie......haha.....

*faint* i think i still long way to go... its a long long learning journey in photography... juz like life, the older u grow, the more u see, the more u learn...

ok enuff of tok... gg to white sands for tcss session soon... wahaha :devil:

yesh, post there... i haven post in sometime there liao..

*faint* i think i still long way to go... its a long long learning journey in photography... juz like life, the older u grow, the more u see, the more u learn...

ok enuff of tok... gg to white sands for tcss session soon... wahaha :devil:

Eh....when got TCSS can buy Maha Powerdrex tell me hor........ i want to join.

Also, i want to date Rover on that TCSS........:embrass:

Ya lor.........0 post there leh.........haha.........some more its for our internal only :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

you can start first post mah...;p

im going to spinelli.. will reach arnd 7.30... go do some work n PP thr...

Hi bros,
I feel very very bad and guilty for tarnishing the name of TS by posting my ugly pictures in the thread.

I strongly APPOLOGISE for the mistake.

I did not expect others to critisize TS based on only my pics. I am sorry.

From Now on I have decided not to be a TangShooter and cause more trouble for the group.

Thanks for all your support, critics and advices.

Goodbye. Please forgive this brother. Thanks.

Hi bros,
I feel very very bad and guilty for tarnishing the name of TS by posting my ugly pictures in the thread.

From Now on I have decided not to be a TangShooter and cause more trouble for the group.

Bro, you don't need to leave the group, everyone learn thru experiences, I don't think there is much trouble caused.

TS reputation won't be tarnished just because of this, Portraits & Poses gallery has certain standard different from other galleries you just need to post 3 to 5 of your best shots will do.

So as long you learn from experience, this is the TS spirit. Don't let such small matter make you withdraw from the group. We learn & share with each other and don't forget about the fun you had during the outings this is what we look forward to every weekend.

Hi bros,

Since you say bro, why need to make this kind of decision?
This group is mean to learn together :D
We should accept comments from other people, but need not to be over reaction.
And last, the problem is post too many pictures where moderator complaint TS over load their server.
Bro, take it easy. We will improve together :D

Hi bros,

com'on...i am the famous BLUR FAIRY...and i am still happily shooting away.
it's my camera, my time, my $$$...

who to say cannot blur !! :devil:

Hi bros,

dun u know once you join you cant leave?:bsmilie:
We all learn together
No need to leave the group over something like this
Like what aunty fairy say,she always shoot blur pics yet still happily shooting away
This group is for having fun together and im sure u had loads of fun with us too right?

dun u know once you join you cant leave?:bsmilie:
We all learn together
No need to leave the group over something like this
Like what aunty fairy say,she always shoot blur pics yet still happily shooting away
This group is for having fun together and im sure u had loads of fun with us too right?

HR Manager has spoken.

So as long as you join 1 outing, that means you are a Tang Shooter.

Yesh it's all about fun! BBB sessions are the happiest moments :lovegrin:

Hi bros,

Take this from me, I am the oldest member (in terms of age) of the TS yet at the same time the "youngest" in terms of photography (just started off in March 2008). I have learnt so much from this group, unless they kick me out, otherwise I will stick like glue to them. I am very "selfish" you know, I want to learn from people who are willing to help, not those who just criticise for the sake of having their name being known without anything to show for it.

I am a public speaker, and I take "criticism" easily, because that's the way to learn, so learn from all those who are able to help you improve on your photography skill.

TS has shown to this photography community that we have different photographers who are "good" with skills, some are known for their protraits, landscades, macros, action and even IR. Each of them brings to TS some knowledge that all of us learn from.

Awards winner within TS, yet he has fun with us and I definitely enjoy being with him learning, laughing away.

So keep your chin up, meet us at the next outing, and we will all have fun together.

Take this from me, I am the oldest member (in terms of age) of the TS yet at the same time the "youngest" in terms of photography (just started off in March 2008). I have learnt so much from this group, unless they kick me out, otherwise I will stick like glue to them. I am very "selfish" you know, I want to learn from people who are willing to help, not those who just criticise for the sake of having their name being known without anything to show for it.

I am a public speaker, and I take "criticism" easily, because that's the way to learn, so learn from all those who are able to help you improve on your photography skill.

TS has shown to this photography community that we have different photographers who are "good" with skills, some are known for their protraits, landscades, macros, action and even IR. Each of them brings to TS some knowledge that all of us learn from.

Awards winner within TS, yet he has fun with us and I definitely enjoy being with him learning, laughing away.

So keep your chin up, meet us at the next outing, and we will all have fun together.

Uncle Edward, your learning spirit is truly commendable. In term of life, you definitely have more experience than many of us in TS but you are willing to lower yourself to learn photography from TSers whom many aunties & uncles will label us as kids. :thumbsup:

Hi bros,

Like what others mentioned, as long as u r willing to learn and share, no need to leave...I am not good at all but I learn from others here and strive to improve each time I shoot...

Stay cool and chill...See u at next outing...:)

Originally Posted by pckee View Post

Sigh........now then read through TCSS about other ppl comments.......its really sad.......my first time organizing shoot and turn out like that.

I totally agree with filtering before post, but do remember we always have 1st timer. As a first timer, we will just base on our knowledge to post. That is why C&C is important from Senior member to help the young one to improve.

I hope we do not get impacted by the comments and i really do not agree on keeping standard. What "standard" are we talking about? we are not a company, photography is not our job but our hobby. If a hobby that will require such responsible and stress.....is still a hobby?

If really want to keep standard, then why not we have audit before become a TS. If not up to standard then can not join. This is what i mean by standard - its a criteria
If we recuite member without such criteria means we do not have the set standard. But we need to improve and help each other especially the new member.

Why i join TS?
- My first outing was call off due to rain. Even as a first timer and new to photography, all the members were very friendly and we went TCSS
- The next day, i attanded Pierce talk. In my mind "hmm....this group of ppl really care and share. They are not selfish at all. Good, i will keep join them."

As time goes by I improve due to some comments made to my picture post. And i am very happy because ppl take their time look at my pictures and tell me what is wrong and how to correct it. Rather than ppl see my photo and think "this is sh*t." that's all.

This time, i hope that those senior member can help the new member by giving them some suggestion instead of asking them to remove the pictures. They will never know what is wrong with that.

Well, I guess now I get the picture as to why not so many of us posted our shots for the TFCD. IF I may voice out my views in these, this is a forum, we are all photography enthusiasts and geeks and yes there are so many photography pros here (be it recognised or self-proclaimed), but all in all, we're all here in this forum for one reason only IMHO, to learn from each other.

Well, it is true that we steered off course during the TFCD outing (I hope no one is offended), the theme was TFCD - Girls NIght Out, but the poses and with the limited props there, we end up taking shots that does not really portrays the models having fun during a Girls' Night Out. But still, TFCD is the first thing that come first then Girls NIght Out come second. I think we as photography enthusiasts, who persuaded the models to take the whole afternoon doing the TFCD for us and spent 5 hours taking photos of them, the least we can do now is to let people see of what we did during the outing. Standard or not standard, swee or not swee, got stick to the theme or not, that should come second. Yes, we may get criticism and sneers from others, but take it as it is, filter those comments if you need to (discard those that are all out to humiliate you), and afterall learn from those comments and experience.

Just to share, if you guys see my flickr site, some of the pics I posted are not flattering at all to the models, with burnt highlight on the face , but one thing i learnt from this is: Photographers will point out to you that the particular picture is burnt and you should dodge @ direct your strobe at a different angle @ use diffuser etc etc....the model herself will know that : "Oh! I dont like this angle!" then next time she pose she will avoid that angle, ...non -photographer will be mostly like, :"Wah!! Swee!! :thumbsup::thumbsup: When can take for me??"

Just my thoughts and I must repeat, I really appreciate PCKee and NIghtxx who put things together for the shoot, thanks to Iris and Serene (and boyfren), thanks to Airforce 1 for letting me use his brand new SB 900, kuantoh, strifeyun, louis and others for each and every pointers that you guys gave me. After all is over and through, I learnt a lot and I am now a happy man and proud to be a TS.

Cheers,
ahtiow

pckee and ahtiow you two really have the mind set right. I wanted to post something like that too but i think it is inappropriate for me to do so but i cant stop til i see someone is leaving. In regards, about standard different ppl have different standards unless you enter a competition then a panel of judges rate it and the photographer/others cant said anything abt the photo. I saw some of the pics that you guys posted and it is nice (IMO). I cant said it has the standard or not because this is not a competition. If want to debut about standards then it will be never end until the doom day arrive then it will stop itself.

As mention by ahtiow, the top thing to do is TFCD for the gals. And with limited props we cant just dun do about it and let the gals just come for nothing. Furthermore, did the comments really said our pics have no standard?? or it is been said that our pics never match the theme properly. I might be wrong abt it.

On top of that, shd gv ppl some credits on sharing pics in here and not just because of some negative comments and the whole bunch of us burning like hot pancakes on the pan. In respect to the negative comments, I personally will just ignore those rude/insult remarks and only look for constructive and put it in a nicely way to address to the picture, with that I will thank the person for his/her comments and not being rude ( I believe a good photographer giving comments shd be tactfully and not hurt feeling ).

In this group of ppl, my opinions from the 1st outing i join is that you guys are friendly and approachable and willing to share. And of course not showing AIRS like being a big boss. I know some grps will like to play parliamentary political system which i said it is dumb system.

In my opinion of limiting ppl to post how many pictures is really a dumb thing imagine that person have 300 shots and he have at least 20 shots that are worth viewing please leave the standards out (as i mention different ppl have different standards) and this is a place to share it out and perhaps some of them this is the only place that to be shared. But I am ok to it if it is really necessary to limit the number of pic posting. In oneself willing to post it up then obviously he can tk up the comment and i am said-ing a tactful comment and ignore those rude ones.

Lastly, all shd knw that we share, we learn, we enthu in photography, am i right ??? or does TS have a slogn ?

Finally, above all thanks for reading my long SA as i cant help it since i saw 1 of the member apologize and leaving. As he does not need to do it too.

Acknowledgement, thanks to pckee and highfive for organizing this event and those who help out and making it a success event.

my 2 cents.

Sigh........now then read through TCSS about other ppl comments.......its really sad.......my first time organizing shoot and turn out like that.

I totally agree with filtering before post, but do remember we always have 1st timer. As a first timer, we will just base on our knowledge to post. That is why C&C is important from Senior member to help the young one to improve.

I hope we do not get impacted by the comments and i really do not agree on keeping standard. What "standard" are we talking about? we are not a company, photography is not our job but our hobby. If a hobby that will require such responsible and stress.....is still a hobby?

If really want to keep standard, then why not we have audit before become a TS. If not up to standard then can not join. This is what i mean by standard - its a criteria
If we recuite member without such criteria means we do not have the set standard. But we need to improve and help each other especially the new member.

Why i join TS?
- My first outing was call off due to rain. Even as a first timer and new to photography, all the members were very friendly and we went TCSS
- The next day, i attanded Pierce talk. In my mind "hmm....this group of ppl really care and share. They are not selfish at all. Good, i will keep join them."

As time goes by I improve due to some comments made to my picture post. And i am very happy because ppl take their time look at my pictures and tell me what is wrong and how to correct it. Rather than ppl see my photo and think "this is sh*t." that's all.

This time, i hope that those senior member can help the new member by giving them some suggestion instead of asking them to remove the pictures. They will never know what is wrong with that.

hi bro,

I am so glad to read this....

well, non of us here is so good that we can qualify to teach. And non here is so bad that he cannot qualify. We just go out for shoot and then share and review each others picture.:bsmilie:

comment from everyone is always there. This is a public forum. Anyone can say anything they like, some people feels very "SONG" after pointing out this and that... well, we have to ask ourselves ... does the comment makes sense ? We do not simply listen or accept just because the comment comes from some senior or well-known people?

Hi bros,

Why u need to leave ?? u need not do so my friend... if like that me too will join u...

Who does not start from a noob in photography to a better 1. Well u definitely not a newbie so dont run away... I need you to guide me to find the right path to the location. And I saw ur pics in ( TFCD - brother and sister) was really nice and a gd series of humor shots. I lv them...

So dun leave me and the rest.... :)