Tang Shooters CI - TCSS Thread...

1. faster HDD is something call SSD (Solid State Drive), but still damn expensive
2. ASUS is well known of motherboard (if I'm not wrong)
3. display card is nvidea (never buy the intel build in one).

suggestion.
1.get a 8GB RAM lar
2.buy macbook pro (they just release a new macbook pro)
3.window XP expired. now is Window 7

thanks bro... :thumbsup:

8GB it is...

err... I don't want to waste time learn mac...:embrass:

I like XP, there are many engineering emulators and simulation software that are still not windows 7 complaint. I also have purchased some expensive CAD software that are only able to run at XP... so, win7 is out.

thanks for the info.:)

8gb ram too much le imho. I use cad, 3d rendering software and photoshop will still won't hit 4gb often.
4gb seems to be the ok range and coupled with a good graphics card is more than enough for most users.

As for laptop motherboards I think the individual manufacturers will use their own :think:
As for HDD, unless on desktops, laptop SSD is still expensive. So stick to what the laptop has (I guess 500gb is standard nowadays.)
Best is if you can get laptops with Nvidia Quadro cards (But it will cost quite a sum :p)
but the usual 1gb gaming cards can more than perform as well (nividia or ati).

thanks bro... :thumbsup:

8GB it is...

err... I don't want to waste time learn mac...:embrass:

I like XP, there are many engineering emulators and simulation software that are still not windows 7 complaint. I also have purchased some expensive CAD software that are only able to run at XP... so, win7 is out.

thanks for the info.:)

Bro... the specs u get are high end... i think there is something called virtualization which u mean want to read and explore on this. It is possible to run win7 and ur win xp together. even Mac also support this.

BTW, HELLO EVERYBODY EVERYBUTTIES EVERY TANG CITIZENS STILL AROUND AFTER 4-5 YEARS

Bro... the specs u get are high end... i think there is something called virtualization which u mean want to read and explore on this. It is possible to run win7 and ur win xp together. even Mac also support this.

BTW, HELLO EVERYBODY EVERYBUTTIES EVERY TANG CITIZENS STILL AROUND AFTER 4-5 YEARS

Allo tauni buttie!

8gb ram too much le imho. I use cad, 3d rendering software and photoshop will still won't hit 4gb often.
4gb seems to be the ok range and coupled with a good graphics card is more than enough for most users.

As for laptop motherboards I think the individual manufacturers will use their own :think:
As for HDD, unless on desktops, laptop SSD is still expensive. So stick to what the laptop has (I guess 500gb is standard nowadays.)
Best is if you can get laptops with Nvidia Quadro cards (But it will cost quite a sum :p)
but the usual 1gb gaming cards can more than perform as well (nividia or ati).

thanks bro.

noted...

Ya... told him that he can run VMs. VMWare and Citrix XenServer and other virtualisation software allow you to run multiple OSes to support ur different needs. Backup and restore is also much faster with snapshots. Nowadays trend is moving into software intensive rather than hardware intensive, utilizing hypervisors etc to virtualise more systems.

like to check with all the computer gurus....

I would like to purchase a laptop during the coming computer fair..

intending to get i5 processor.
RAM should be about 4GB,
LCD should be about 15".
will be installing XP myself.

question 1) what is the fastest HDD available in the market ?
question 2) which mother board ( or brand ) is able to perform to the most stable ? is ASUS good? or ACER ?
question 3) which display card is good for photoshop usage ?

many thanks in advance ...
Billy

Q1) Fastest HDD is SATAII or SATAIII 10,000 RPM
Solid State Drive still very expensive and smaller capacity

Q2) If you are getting a laptop, u can't really choose the mother board
ASUS and Acer has some good decent models, but I like Toshiba for its durability

Q3) Getting a laptop with good LCD is more important as graphics card is more for rendering 3D graphics..but the norm are ATi and NIVIDIA graphics chipset..

1. faster HDD is something call SSD (Solid State Drive), but still damn expensive
2. ASUS is well known of motherboard (if I'm not wrong)
3. display card is nvidea (never buy the intel build in one).

suggestion.
1.get a 8GB RAM lar
2.buy macbook pro (they just release a new macbook pro)
3.window XP expired. now is Window 7

Agree with Ah Hee..should get the latest MacBook Pro..now its come with i5 and and i7 core for the 13" and 15" models..can use boot camp for dual boot MAC and Windows..

After using the MacBook Pro for 2 months, i got to say MBP is good to have..:bsmilie:

Q1) Fastest HDD is SATAII or SATAIII 10,000 RPM
Solid State Drive still very expensive and smaller capacity

Q2) If you are getting a laptop, u can't really choose the mother board
ASUS and Acer has some good decent models, but I like Toshiba for its durability

Q3) Getting a laptop with good LCD is more important as graphics card is more for rendering 3D graphics..but the norm are ATi and NIVIDIA graphics chipset..

Agree with Ah Hee..should get the latest MacBook Pro..now its come with i5 and and i7 core for the 13" and 15" models..can use boot camp for dual boot MAC and Windows..

After using the MacBook Pro for 2 months, i got to say MBP is good to have..:bsmilie:

OK, SATA it is...
Graphic card wise, yes.. should be good, and should have its own memory ( say about 1G ).
LCD wise, I do not think I want to invest in it.. because , 90% of the time, I will plug the VGA out to a 19" external LCD monitor.

no Mac for me... not now..

I still cannot be convinced by KT. I cannot see the justification to spend more money in buying faster laptop, but not getting faster speed. You see, I spent more money to get a more powerful machine, then, install more powerful or comprehensive applications to run more complex programs ,,, and resulted in slower operating speed.

I rather use the same machine to run simple application at TOP SPEED ! use liao then shiok mah... haha...

Billy when u going?

I going to hoot Laptop also leh. i eyeing on HP laptop DV3 or DV6 depending on the price. Its a I7 processor. Currently the selling price for DV6 is abt 2K. If IT show 1.7K will hoot. If not hoot the older model DV3. Should be less than 1.3K

I planning to go on Sunday.

Any advice on the HP laptop? I also dun want MBP. too expensive liao also no HDMI. My usage is for movie (will connect to LCD TV) and PP.

Billy when u going?

I going to hoot Laptop also leh. i eyeing on HP laptop DV3 or DV6 depending on the price. Its a I7 processor. Currently the selling price for DV6 is abt 2K. If IT show 1.7K will hoot. If not hoot the older model DV3. Should be less than 1.3K

Any advice on the HP laptop? I also dun want MBP. too expensive liao also no HDMI. My usage is for movie (will connect to LCD TV) and PP.

swee :thumbsup:
lets go together and hoot 2 laptops together.

chiong ah.
Billy.

Just don't get Asus laptops, very hot :sweat:

dun get toshiba also... boot up time damm long!

Billy when u going?

swee :thumbsup:
lets go together and hoot 2 laptops together.

chiong ah.
Billy.

Lets go tgt....going to get father a new laptop also.....pckee can fetch me in new car....keke

what !!! ?
exchange vows ?

after married for 10years, don't exchange punches ... very happy liao...
still want to exchange vows :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

maybe he meant exchange blows! lol!