Tampines MRT accident

no lah. to avoid copycats, media/s here will not report them. they may report on the disrupted service or delay.

Clubsnap news faster than Mediacorp and channelnewsasia man!!

Just a Personal view and opinion. I might not be right. - The SMRT can prevent all this accidents by building doors. Would they be bother over it? Raise funds to built glass panel doors ??? I dont think is necessary because Singapore got 4 million of population. After deducting 1 million of elderly, 1 million of children and 1 million of car owners, we still balance 1 million of population taking MRT. If we talk abt a $1.20 fare X 2 ways = 2.4 million per day or 72 million per month. Government were concerns over the raise of GST would affect price raising of goods, they even ask PTE LTD not to look into profiteering but sadly to see that government controlled business is all revising their price very soon. "Hopefully" we can see some control situation here.

By installing glass panels, they may need to air-con the stations as well, then expenses on electricity will go up and pass on to commuters. :sweat:

I got an sms yest from my fren. it was his fren who called him saying while gg up the escalator, he saw a person walked quickly and then jump to an oncoming train. since his fren is the eyewitness. its kinda scary isnt it? nowaydays suicide like that,haiz.

scary, is your fren feeling alright now ? better see a doctor if shock is too great.

Last time jump infront of mrt train , got a lot of money from well wisher. Now fallen onto the tracks no money. Then if never die , have penalty for train disruption.

I think the best way is don't let these people interfere with the MRT operations, if somebody jumped off, then let the MRT train move then afterwards remove his/her body :D

If there is not enough time to get all the body parts because another train is coming, then let the train pass then afterwards continue picking up his/her body parts :D

It may be rude, but it's no use to disrupt the MRT operations just to get the pieces of the man who in the first place did it to himself.

It's better for them to jump off HDB flats since no one will be disrupted to whatever they try to do to themselves.

but but if the person jump from high rising building and lands onto another innocent passerby, then it is super chiam lor..:sweat:

I think the worst hit group of ppl are the police and "body parts" collector. Imagine the mess created from such an accident...worse than car accident lor :o

Another group of ppl are those on the train...imagine feeling a bump and you physically "went over" the body...

Last group is the drivers... Cause they can see the bugger jumping in front of them and then splat...:sweat::sweat::sweat:

I think the worst hit group of ppl are the police and "body parts" collector. Imagine the mess created from such an accident...worse than car accident lor :o

Another group of ppl are those on the train...imagine feeling a bump and you physically "went over" the body...

Last group is the drivers... Cause they can see the bugger jumping in front of them and then splat...:sweat::sweat::sweat:

you've got quite an imagination.. but yah... i agree... esp the driver... nothing he can do also...

so what really happen?

3 pages and I can get any useful information from this thread. :angel:

so what really happen?

write to ST, SMRT and SPH to ask for answer

so what really happen?

Someone "fallen" onto the track and the train ran over the body lor.

By installing glass panels, they may need to air-con the stations as well, then expenses on electricity will go up and pass on to commuters. :sweat:

I guess depend, maybe they can install half height glass panel, so no need to install any aircond :think:

dun tink theres any coverage from the news yeah...

My opinion is that we need to comment more responsibly.

It is NOT about how much disruptions or inconveniences a person can cause from jumping (or "falling") off a building or onto MRT tracks or by any other methods of suicide (genuine cases or not).

It is about how we can reach out to these people in need of help and how we, as a society, provide assistance and education with compassion and care.

And here you guys talk about raising fares to build glass panels (and *gasp* building tracks especially for jumping) and the timing of when these people should jump.

:nono:

Wake up guys. Please comment sensibly and responsibly.

To minimize inconvenient to other commuter, I think SMRT should consider building a track just for committing suicide.

LOL. Nice one there:sweatsm:

ooh i didnt know someone jumped. i was there when the train stopped, and the SMRT in-charge was rattling incoherently into the mic for instructions. now i know why he panicked- a life was lost.

rather than to be reactive, why not be proactive? why is there an increasing number of suicidal cases? it is evident that life has become too stressful and uncopeable, isn't it? life has become so fast-paced, no one may be willing to stop to smell the roses. it becomes so fast-paced that every individual may be too busy with himself, that he has no time for others. the lack of concern from others led to a suicide.

the inexpensive way to handle this is to show love.

Accident again??

The moral of the story to this MRT accident is,...
"Nothing is free in Singapore"
Suicide also must pay MRT fare!
:cry::cry::cry:

just got info from my friend who was at the scene as a scdf personel. the victim had the body stuck under the train at slightly below waist area.. and they had problems retrieving the body. Thus having to "cut/shread" the body to remove it in part from under the train...

:sweat: <- thats how i looked when i heard it too.... YIKES...

I always thought the cheapest way to stop all these 'accidents' is for the train to approach the station at a snail's pace. If really someone jumps, the train operator can brake on time.