Tammy/sigma 70-200

It is sad that there is no shop that offers this lens for rental :(

I am thinking of getting this but will prefer some serious testing before buying, to see if it suits me

It is sad that there is no shop that offers this lens for rental :(

I am thinking of getting this but will prefer some serious testing before buying, to see if it suits me

well if you want I can let you try mine? not the os version though =D

luckyorange said:

Ehhh I oso wan. Maybe we can go shooting sometime tgt haha

luckyorange said:

I canon user leh....:(

zurichdo said:
I canon user leh....:(

Wah then u Sian already. Haha. I think some shops allow you to try out de lenses de

There are many reviews out there on this already. Sigma OS's performance is quite impressive. Some say the performance is very similar to that of the Nikon 70-200VR version 1. I was contemplating whether to get the Sigma OS (back then it was priced at 1.4k) but in the end went for the Nikon VR2.

One thing to note though, is that the rings on the Sigma OS is reversed. The zoom ring is nearer to the lens hood, and the focus ring is closer to the camera mount. So when your hood is in the reversed position, it is very difficult (almost impossible) to turn the zoom ring. Another is resale value is lower, and is harder to sell compared to the Nikon VR1, or the VR2.

Good Luck and have fun.

What made you go for the one that cost twice as much?

Nikon lens is a class of its own. Rent a copy and try and you will know the differences :)

I'm this lens on every shoot, esp events. LOVE it!

- My main worry was low light performance as compared to Nikon as I often shoot in hotels room during conferences.etc
However this proved to be unfounded. It never has any problems locking focus and focuses fast. The OS works very well, and I most often has it set to setting1 as it allows me to shoot at lower ISO.

- No front/back focus issue on my D700. Sharp even at long end which I v often use.

- With regards to the reversing of focusing ring. Firstly, not many is gonna use it with it huge lens hood reversed. Google online for its pics..its a monster and almost looks like you can stab someone..lol I do not use it on my shoots. Also I remove tripod collar.

- Secondly I've found that it works great with the zoom closer to the hood as I'm able to adjust zoom using my index finger tips, pointing frontwards.
Other fingers still firmly on lens, minimal movement.

Hope it helps. Glad I did not purchase the Nikon as I can cannot fault this lens. I believe its also lighter than Nikon, which of course is v helpful.
Cons: Of course, I do agree it'll have lower resale value, not sure abt servicing, etc.

*Has not posted any photos online using this lens yet. Well Nikon mount here too.:)
With tripod collar easily removed, I slide into the thinktank pouch when not in use.

Can someone post some pictures in this thread? :) Love to see some from our own local people. Tired of seeing POTN ones already ;p

What made you go for the one that cost twice as much?

The picture quality (sharpness, a lot less vignette), the 4 stop VR (tested to be 3.7 stops, sigma tested to 3 stops), the speed in focusing...

plus I got it at a really good deal.

Very hard to beat the 70-200VR. only thing is, yes, you are right that it is a lot more expensive. But in the time since I owned it, it has already paid for itself.

daredevil123 said:
The picture quality (sharpness, a lot less vignette), the 4 stop VR (tested to be 3.7 stops, sigma tested to 3 stops), the speed in focusing...

plus I got it at a really good deal.

Very hard to beat the 70-200VR. only thing is, yes, you are right that it is a lot more expensive. But in the time since I owned it, it has already paid for itself.

Cool cool. I bought mine already. Non OS version though. I'm using crop body so vingette shuld not be a problem. Focusing is fastest of all my lenses. And I'm not earning from it so probably my purchase is more justifiable for me. Haha

austinheight said:
Can someone post some pictures in this thread? :) Love to see some from our own local people. Tired of seeing POTN ones already ;p

Sure. After I've shot abit more with it :P

Fudgecakes said:
Cool cool. I bought mine already. Non OS version though. I'm using crop body so vingette shuld not be a problem. Focusing is fastest of all my lenses. And I'm not earning from it so probably my purchase is more justifiable for me. Haha

Grats on your purchase, btw how much you pay for it? Mind saying? If not pm also can

luckyorange said:
Grats on your purchase, btw how much you pay for it? Mind saying? If not pm also can

Erm 850. Mint condition

Fudgecakes said:
Erm 850. Mint condition

Bro have u tried the lens in low light? How was the hand-hold ability at 200mm?

austinheight said:
Thanks bro, hope to see your pictures soon :)

Eh bro how about you look out for my gallery in streets and candids. Since I bought my lens already I think I should close this thread. My gallery is called "with a d5k in my hand and a backpack on my back, I walk on" it's in streets and candids