[sweeper] - [Tibet 2010 (early winter)]

- You doing Mount E summit ? cool ... :thumbsup:
- If I understand correctly, you would be having acclimatisation along the trip e.g.
Tibet/ Nepal , base camp plus further acclimatisation at the various camps (camp 1, 2, 3, etc) and with oxygen tanks as backup / emergency , etc, etc

- How I survived ? - endure the headache lor ... I was lucky , it lasted only 1 day for me ...

To prevent / reduce the chance of AMS, normally, we take some medicine before the trip
I took "hong jing tian" which is suppose to improve the blood circulation, and hence reduce the chances of AMS But I took too late, only 1 day in advance ... ;p

how many days in advance should one take in order to have effect ?

I remember taking hongjingtian 2 days in advance before I went horsetrekking in the mountains of Sichuan last nov and did not have any AMS.

Went Tibet before in 2007. Didnt take anything beforehand so had 2 days of horrible headache which cleared off only when I was at everest base camp...

how many days in advance should one take in order to have effect ?

Depends on your body, 5days in advance should be ok
I did that for my Shangri La trip last year and was OK (3500m -4800m)

Chat with some Chinese local visitors, some of them took 10days to 1 month in advance
( they are mainly around 50+ or older )
Another brand is "Gao Yuan An"

Also keep yourself well rested, warm and take filled (food and esp water)

I remember taking hongjingtian 2 days in advance before I went horsetrekking in the mountains of Sichuan last nov and did not have any AMS.

Went Tibet before in 2007. Didnt take anything beforehand so had 2 days of horrible headache which cleared off only when I was at everest base camp...

I was lucky, only had AMS in Lhasa, after that I was OK all the was
I saw one local Chinese having AMS AFTER visiting EMC ...
then we realized , she skipped breakfast ...

I like #10! Nice shot!

I also went to Tibet in 2007 summer. I took Hong jian tian 2 weeks before the trip (forced by my mum), still suffered from AMS for the first day.

Usually, if you take a plane into Lhasa (i.e. sudden change in altitude), AMS will be more severe coz you need to adjust almost immediately once you step off the plane. Our tour guide then also suggested that people can take the train in (much longer journey, 12 hrs to reach the next province QingHai), but you are also less likely to suffer from AMS coz the body has time to slowly adjust to the lowered oxygen concentration as the train climbs in altitude.

I think my AMS was also aggravated by the fact that we climbed 13 storeys to visit Potala Palace on the second day in Tibet. Really tah boleh tahan. No photography inside the temples by the way, so I suggest CSers to travel as light as possible (no need to bring very outstanding equipment) when visiting Potala. Photographs of the magnificant exterior can always be done on other days and you can bring all your barangs along.

I like #10! Nice shot!

I also went to Tibet in 2007 summer. I took Hong jian tian 2 weeks before the trip (forced by my mum), still suffered from AMS for the first day.

Usually, if you take a plane into Lhasa (i.e. sudden change in altitude), AMS will be more severe coz you need to adjust almost immediately once you step off the plane. Our tour guide then also suggested that people can take the train in (much longer journey, 12 hrs to reach the next province QingHai), but you are also less likely to suffer from AMS coz the body has time to slowly adjust to the lowered oxygen concentration as the train climbs in altitude.

I think my AMS was also aggravated by the fact that we climbed 13 storeys to visit Potala Palace on the second day in Tibet. Really tah boleh tahan. No photography inside the temples by the way, so I suggest CSers to travel as light as possible (no need to bring very outstanding equipment) when visiting Potala. Photographs of the magnificant exterior can always be done on other days and you can bring all your barangs along.

Thanks,
ya but I was trying to save time (48hrs x 2) , so took a flight in
My preference is actually taking a 4WD in from QingHai, but the season seems not right ...
The ideal ideal case is of course to do the "dian-zhang" route
-- from Yunana -> Shangri la -> Eastern Tibet in Spring season :)

Depends on your body, 5days in advance should be ok
I did that for my Shangri La trip last year and was OK (3500m -4800m)

Chat with some Chinese local visitors, some of them took 10days to 1 month in advance
( they are mainly around 50+ or older )
Another brand is "Gao Yuan An"

Also keep yourself well rested, warm and take filled (food and esp water)

I was lucky, only had AMS in Lhasa, after that I was OK all the was
I saw one local Chinese having AMS AFTER visiting EMC ...
then we realized , she skipped breakfast ...

hmm, i think i may have to take it at least 10 days in advance then :) tks.

Yarlung Tsangpo River - the biggest river in Tibet and also holds the position as being the river found at the highest altitude across the world.

Basically you will see this river with Tanggula mountain range along the QingZhang highway

p47506966-5.jpg

p89897922-5.jpg

During the wet season, visitors can opt to travel by boat along this river

p337289378-5.jpg

p840532562-5.jpg

#14 and #21 are really nice moments captured. Can feel the intense in the prayers in #14 and the joy in #21.

#24 has real nice tones and textures in the mountains. Nice idea to frame the scene with the foreground in #26 :)

Hi lovely photo you have here. Do you mind sharing the contact of your tibet travel agent.
Me planning a 25 days Tibet/Ali trip next year June. Many Thanks!!!!

#14 and #21 are really nice moments captured. Can feel the intense in the prayers in #14 and the joy in #21.

#24 has real nice tones and textures in the mountains. Nice idea to frame the scene with the foreground in #26 :)

Thanks for the kind comments
#14, #21
The power of hyper zoom travel lens ... ;p

#24, #26
I really hope to go there again Spring / Autumn, the colors would be much better :)

Hi lovely photo you have here. Do you mind sharing the contact of your tibet travel agent.
Me planning a 25 days Tibet/Ali trip next year June. Many Thanks!!!!

Already PM you :)
Ali - for photography or ? cool ...
All I know it's that people mainly got there for the Mountains, both pilgrims and photographer alike. Used to be very harsh out there , but think its much better now

Sera Monastery

This is not Sera, but another temple beside the monastery
p62192423-5.jpg

Taking a break from the debate session
p258282167-6.jpg

Local pilgrims resting outside the monastery
p281479917-5.jpg

p401674828-6.jpg

p196236251-5.jpg

Wonderful moments captured in #14 and #28. My fave so far is #10. :)

:thumbsup::thumbsup:Wonderful series.

very nice series you have sir :thumbsup:
keep it coming :)