= Stefan's Weekly Singapore City/Landscapes II =

SomeFormOFhuman said:
Speaking of dogs, just the other Saturday I was jogging when 2 strays chased after me. :o Can you imagine you're already tired as hell jogging nearly 8km when suddenly you had force yourself to sprint all the way? Lol.

That's why I say. STOP RUNNING! & don't try to challenge them like that idiot on TNP.

Haha, I guess they're just there temporarily. Hopefully they'll be gone by then. :) But 6.15am... That's very early - I usually reach there around 6.45am LOL.

Yep i usually reach a location at least 15-20mins early, just some alone time I guess between me and my God...;). Then I start scouting an angle and setting up!

I think its safe to say you won't be able to outrun them even without your gear! anyways its always a bad idea to run away from barking dogs... they take that as a challenge & chase even harder. The best thing to do is just walk away deliberately & calmly WITHOUT :bigeyes: - that's another thing that drives them nuts! come to think abt it just treat them like belligerent ah bengs :bsmilie:

glad it worked out well for you in the end though! ;)

Yes I know it was a lousy idea running from them. I somehow panicked cos I was alone, it was dark, and these 3 huge looming mangly creatures charging at me really got the adrenaline pumping! haha. but yes, thank God they left me alone when i stopped running. still managed to shoot a bit before I left. but couldn't concentrate liao....

Yeah that's the thing cos' I've never been good with animals especially dogs. Lol. :D

@ SilverPine, thanks for the kind comments. I'm still scouting around (Google Eath haha) Singapore for good ideas and hope for the best the picture turns out well. :D Your shots of Changi shows how much I dearly miss that place.

Don't mean to sound like an whine but how come my thread suddenly rated 3/5 stars?? :dunno: Honestly I care less about that but it's starting to bug me that.... well, many people actually don't like my work? :dunno: Honestly. Just tell me if there's anything -really- wrong with them than just hit-and-run. :(

Anyway.... :)

7170048466_854b7d92b0_b.jpg

Into The Fire

5 image HDR/DRI using GND 0.9 soft + GND 0.6 hard for higher tonality of the skies and intentional lens flare effects + Lee Big Stopper for smoothed cloud effects. Ang Mo Kio, Singapore.

If my geographical calculations are correct, I should see the sun setting down the horizon where the HDBs point towards... Finally, been observing this view and waiting for this time of the year for this to happen.

Don't mean to sound like an whine but how come my thread suddenly rated 3/5 stars?? :dunno: Honestly I care less about that but it's starting to bug me that.... well, many people actually don't like my work? :dunno: Honestly. Just tell me if there's anything -really- wrong with them than just hit-and-run. :(

I don't think your work deserves 3 stars, so I pushed up the rating with my vote. Hope this helps. :)

Haha, no la it's OK Scintt! :) I was just wondering what can be improved about my work if they do not like them. I thought I did too much HDR or something. :) Anyway not that it bothers me at all but thanks anyway...:D

PS, I like the shot over the CTE and all the light trails!! I should probably try to head there too! Great work!

Haha, no la it's OK Scintt! :) I was just wondering what can be improved about my work if they do not like them. :) Not that it bothers me at all but haha, thanks anyway...:D

Ah, good to hear. :) Anyway, I really do love your HDB scapes, and I make it a point to visit your thread whenever you update it. Keep up the nice work yeah!

Same here too man... :) Anyway you still hang out with Jonathan Danker? :)

Yeap, we meet up once a while, whenever he's free. He's pretty busy nowadays, haha! That means his business is good! In fact, the CTE shot was taken together with him. ;)

Lol bro , look at the bright side . A lot of our thread wasn't even rated at all :)

Haha, don't worry Simon it's all good. I was just wondering what could be done to improve my work since it's only rated 3 stars. But as I said, honestly I wouldn't bother too much about it. It's probably just something that I noticed lately. :)

For #35, heavy vignetting top and bottom? Sometimes I do have the same problem with the big stopper but would you say that under that light condition, a 0.9ND with the 0.9S and 0.6H would work better? Just a thought through your shot taken... I'm still learning to improve on those things... Thanks Stefan....

I have to agree that the Lee Big Stopper has alot of vignetting for this filter but one thing's for sure is the quality and optics is one of the best I have kinda used so far. :) I think in this case the vignetting gives good advantage here - it hides certain things that I feel distracts the audience and don't contribute to the overall wellness of the scene especially the corners. One reason why I also added a GND 0.9 soft over the 0.6 hard for the top as the clouds were bright and I wanted the very dark, gritty and graduated look. Thanks Manita. :)

(BTW, is that your real name? haha sorry if I asked too much. :bsmilie:)

Hi Stefan, thanks for your reply, for the vignetting, yes and no for me.... I would prefer vignetting for seascape..
Aiya., of course thats my name...:)
Hope to shoot some sunrise with you one day.....
Thanks again....

One more for the evening before I disappear again for the weekend. :) See ya!

7176957428_d125c93e47_b.jpg

After The Fire

5 Image HDR/DRI 2 image stitched vertorama to increase foreground emphasis using GND 0.9 soft + ND 0.9 for smoothed cloud effects. Ang Mo Kio, Singapore.

A sequel shot from the previous one.

Here comes the after glow!!

These 2 piece are great and its a pleasure to view your work. U work has been inspiring to many and capturing HDB's from high rise is your niche. Thus, do not get so worry about getting rate on the thread and etc. The matter most you are enjoying what you are doing and share your vision + treatment to us in CS. No comment are a good sign as cant find flaw on your work. I am not surprise to see others will mimic your view on the HDB (including myself..:D)...
Keep up the good job and share more with us....good weekend.

nice shots!
enjoyed your "behind the scenes" shots very much..
gives me an insight on how the shot was captured..
thanks for sharing :D

Thanks for sharing, Stefan. Your work is inspiring. I like the rich colours of #36.
I will be camping here. Keep them coming. :)