Sony service standard has slacken

i was thinking with the aging electronic part..sony won't be able to provide servicing in the coming future
Now with Konica Minolta only deal in copier machines, there will be no more replacment parts made ever again...
ya... and for a few years old digital camera stuffs, i dun see myself willing to spend about 80 for labour excluding parts for just my grip. unless its the body, i might consider

I agree, i just sent my a100 for repairs and the service was horrible. But they did get my camera repaired though.

very sad... the grip cannot read the np400 battries correctly. when i inserted them into my grip, and switch my 7d body on, it starts to AF eventhough i nv press on anything. the left side menu buttons and the rest, most buttons cannot press. nothing will happen. except for shutter button, ael, 4 way buttons and the dials and scrolls.

i tried inserting my other batteries also the same. inserting 1 battery on left, then tried on right, still the same.

what fustrates me is that when i use the AA battery tray with the 6 AAs, it works fine! :confused:

At least yours work with the 6AAs... mine just keeps reporting empty batteries... and it's always been underreporting the voltage since I got it...
i guess not worth to send for repair imo.
even AA batteries also the same for urs?

i guess not worth to send for repair imo.
even AA batteries also the same for urs?

Yes, I sent for repair once already... but there was no indication if there was a fault... I wonder if the techie even checked it... I did speak to him on the phone when he called me to check what I wanted done... a bit sianz... cos the grip really balances the camera. I just have to wait for the right time to buy the A900 I guess... that means a wait til PMA09...

I'll have to call the tech side on Wed...

Yes, I sent for repair once already... but there was no indication if there was a fault... I wonder if the techie even checked it... I did speak to him on the phone when he called me to check what I wanted done... a bit sianz... cos the grip really balances the camera. I just have to wait for the right time to buy the A900 I guess... that means a wait til PMA09...

I'll have to call the tech side on Wed...
can it be some contacts on the body instead? i was thinking if there is anything to do with my 7d. but doubt so

Doesn't seem to be contacts, I have inspected them under magnifying glass using a very powerful white LED torch before... the contacts on the connector and inside the body look ok, so are the contacts in the grip for the batteries... in fact as I have only taken apart the grip less than 15 times (estimate) in the 3-4 years of ownership, the contacts between the grip and body should not deteriorate... it's the contacts inside the grip that might have gone but they seem ok... pretty perplexed...

Actually I have always noticed that even when the camera reports that the batteries are dead, there is still quite some juice in the batteries if I were to insert them in the body... I was able to take about 30 more shots per battery after the camera said that they were exhausted in the grip... I understand that there is some error in the reporting of the battery voltage due to the extended circuitry in the grip... but it should not shorten the lifespan by so much leh...

Anyway, A700 & A900 owners who use the grip, do you face the same problem of voltage under-reporting?

Doesn't seem to be contacts, I have inspected them under magnifying glass using a very powerful white LED torch before... the contacts on the connector and inside the body look ok, so are the contacts in the grip for the batteries... in fact as I have only taken apart the grip less than 15 times (estimate) in the 3-4 years of ownership, the contacts between the grip and body should not deteriorate... it's the contacts inside the grip that might have gone but they seem ok... pretty perplexed...

Actually I have always noticed that even when the camera reports that the batteries are dead, there is still quite some juice in the batteries if I were to insert them in the body... I was able to take about 30 more shots per battery after the camera said that they were exhausted in the grip... I understand that there is some error in the reporting of the battery voltage due to the extended circuitry in the grip... but it should not shorten the lifespan by so much leh...

Anyway, A700 & A900 owners who use the grip, do you face the same problem of voltage under-reporting?
like that hor maybe is the circuit board got error. haiz.. just now when i on my camera, the grip works fine, but later on it starts to play on me again.

I sent in my A700 for focus adjustment on Saturday night, and got a call from the engineer today morning :)

Seems to be quite good for me...